ICC Champions Trophy

Pakistan bowl against India in Champions Trophy

2017-06-04 12:28
Virat Kohli (AP)

Birmingham - Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and elected to field against title-holders India in the sub-continental giants' Champions Trophy Group B opener at Edgbaston on Sunday.

India left out star off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and experienced seamer Mohammad Shami from the side that launched their title defence in a 50-over tournament featuring the world's top eight one-day international teams.

Left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja was the lone specialist slow bowler in an India attack also featuring pacemen Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Hardik Pandya.

Pakistan left out all-rounder Faheem Ashraf but included 18-year-old leg-spinner Shadab Khan for just his fourth one-day international.

"It is a good pitch and won't change much," said Sarfraz at the toss.

"India-Pakistan is a pressure game, hopefully we play a free game," the wicket-keeper added.

India captain Virat Kohli, who on Saturday denied reports of a rift with coach Anil Kumble, was not too concerned at having to bat first.

"It is a pretty good wicket, it will stay even," he said.

"We need a complete performance to win a game of cricket, today is going to be no different," the star batsman added.

Political interference has restricted India and Pakistan, cricket's biggest rivals, to meeting in a mere nine ODIs this decade, with India winning six to Pakistan's three.

Pakistan, however, have won two of their three Champions Trophy showdowns.

But India were triumphant at Edgbaston on the way to winning the last edition in 2013, beating Pakistan by eight wickets in a rain-affected match.

Before play started, a minute's silence in memory of the victims of Saturday's London terror attacks was impeccably observed by a near capacity crowd.


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (capt), Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wkt), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah

Pakistan: Azhar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt/wkt), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali

Umpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA), Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

TV umpire: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    india  |  pakistan  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you see winning the eight-team 2017 ICC Champions Trophy tournament in England and Wales?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.