ICC Champions Trophy

England win toss, bowl against Australia

2017-06-10 11:33
Eoin Morgan (Getty)

Birmingham - England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to field against Australia in their Champions Trophy Group A match at Edgbaston on Saturday.

England, already through to the semi-finals of a tournament featuring the world's top eight one-day international sides, were unchanged from the team that beat New Zealand by 87 runs in Cardiff on Tuesday.

Australia who had to win this match to go through to the last four after no result washouts in their first two Group A games against New Zealand and Bangladesh, were also unchanged from the side that suffered a frustrating washout when on the verge of victory against Bangladesh at the Oval on Monday.

Grey skies above Edgbaston suggested that this match too could be interrupted by bad weather, with rain forecast later in the day.

Australia resisted the temptation to bring in the big-hitting Chris Lynn or recall seamer John Hastings.

Only a win will do for World Cup champions Australia in Saturday's match as another no result would see Bangladesh, who defeated New Zealand by five wickets in Cardiff on Friday, into the knockout phase.

Australia have not won at Edgbaston for 12 matches in all formats at Edgbaston since an Ashes Test success in 2001, with that run including a group defeat by England in the last Champions Trophy four years ago.



Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wkt), Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett, Mark Wood, Jake Ball


Aaron Finch, David Warner, Steve Smith (captain), Moises Henriques, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade (wkt), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (NZL), Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

TV umpire: S Ravi (IND)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you see winning the eight-team 2017 ICC Champions Trophy tournament in England and Wales?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.