ICC Champions Trophy

Black Caps bat against Bangladesh in Cardiff

2017-06-09 12:36
Kane Williamson (Getty)

Cardiff - New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat against Bangladesh in a must-win Champions Trophy match for both teams at Cardiff on Friday. 

Rain delayed the scheduled 11:30 start by an hour but no overs had as yet been lost. 

New Zealand were unchanged from the side that lost to England by 87 runs at Cardiff on Tuesday.

Bangladesh, however, made two changes from the team that was on the brink of defeat by Australia before rain intervened at the Oval on Monday. 

They opted to play an extra bowler by bringing in Taskin Ahmed in place of batsman Imrul Kayes, with all-rounder Mossadek Hossain preferred to off-spinner Mehedi Hasan. 

"It looks like a good surface so hopefully we can get a good score on the board," said Williamson at the toss. 

"The pitch deteriorated a little the other day and it is very dry today despite the weather which has been around. 

"It's been an amazing tournament - we've virtually got four quarter-finals now." 

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza added: "We'd like to have bowled anyway. We've brought Taskin in and hopefully he will do something with the ball for us today." 

Both Bangladesh and New Zealand needed a victory in the Welsh capital to have any chance of going through to the semi-finals after they each lost to England and suffered no-result washouts against Australia in their previous Group A matches. 

Williamson has been in fine form with scores of 100 and 87 in the first two group matches, but Bangladesh's Tamim Iqbal made 128 and 95 against England and Australia respectively. 

Victory in Cardiff may not be enough for either Bangladesh or New Zealand to reach the knockout stage of a tournament featuring the world's top eight one-day international sides. 

Regardless of whichever team wins this match, Australia will advance with already-qualified England if they beat the tournament hosts at Birmingham's Edgbaston ground on Saturday. 

And if both the last two Group A matches are washed out, Australia would still go through as they would then have three points to Bangladesh and New Zealand's two apiece.



Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim (wkt), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman

New Zealand

Luke Ronchi (wkt), Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, Jimmy Neesham, Corey Anderson, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Trent Boult


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you see winning the eight-team 2017 ICC Champions Trophy tournament in England and Wales?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.