ICC Champions Trophy

Windies ask Pakistan to bat

2013-06-07 11:36
Dwayne Bravo (File)

London - West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo won the toss and elected to field against Pakistan in the teams' Champions Trophy Group B opener at The Oval on Friday.

West Indies left out Test skipper Darren Sammy, with fellow all-rounder Kieron Pollard preferred instead.

Kemar Roach, Ravi Rampaul and Sunil Narine, the world's top-ranked ODI bowler, were the only specialist bowlers chosen.

Pakistan's seamers were all left-armers: Irfan, Junaid and Wahab Riaz. Saeed Ajmal and Shoab Malik and Mohammad Hafeez were the spinners.

These two teams are in the same group as India and South Africa. India beat South Africa by 26 runs in Cardiff on Thursday.

Only the top two teams will go through to the semi-finals.

Group A features hosts England, defending champions Australia, New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

It was at the The Oval where West Indies beat England to win the last Champions Trophy staged in the UK, in 2004.


Pakistan: Imran Farhat, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal (wkt), Saeed Ajmal, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Johnson Charles, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Dwayne Bravo (captain), Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin (wkt), Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS) and Nigel Llong (ENG)

TV umpire: Tony Hill (NZL)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you see winning the eight-team 2017 ICC Champions Trophy tournament in England and Wales?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.