London - West Indies' wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin was on Monday suspended for two one-day matches and fined 100 percent of his match fees for wrongly claiming a catch in the Champions Trophy.
Match referee Chris Broad charged Ramdin with violating the spirit of the game following a hearing in London after the wicket-keeper had pleaded not guilty to the offence.
"This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game," Broad said in a statement released by the International Cricket Council.
VIDEO: Denesh Ramdin claims false catch
"I hope Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future."
The suspension means Ramdin will miss Tuesday's match against India at the Oval and the last group game against South Africa in Cardiff on Friday.
It remained unclear if the West Indies will appeal the suspension.
The incident took place at The Oval, London, last Friday when Ramdin appeared to catch Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq off Kemar Roach before the batsman had opened his account.
Australian umpire Steve Davis gave Misbah out but the decision was referred to third umpire Tony Hill following the intervention of English official Nigel Llong at square leg.
Replays showed that while Ramdin had, initially, caught the ball, he had subsequently allowed it to spill out of his grasp. It was eventually decided that Ramdin did not have full control over the ball.