ICC Champions Trophy

India invite Windies to bat

2013-06-11 11:32
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (AFP)

Birmingham - Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss in overcast conditions and sent the West Indies in to bat in a key Champions Trophy match at the Oval on Tuesday.

With both teams having won their opening matches, the winner is almost certain to book one of the two semi-final spots from group B.

India retained the same side that defeated South Africa in Cardiff last Thursday.

The West Indies were without wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin, who was handed a two-match ban for claiming a dropped catch during his team's victory over Pakistan at the Oval on Friday.

Former captain Darren Sammy replaced Ramdin in the side, with opener Johnson Charles picked to keep wickets.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

West Indies: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan.

Umpires: Tony Hill (NZL) and Aleem Dar (PAK)

TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more on:    india  |  icc champions trophy  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you see winning the eight-team 2017 ICC Champions Trophy tournament in England and Wales?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.