ICC Champions Trophy

India ease past Pakistan

2013-06-15 21:13
MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli (Getty Images)

Birmingham - World Cup holders India continued their formidable Champions Trophy form with a rain-marred eight-wicket demolition of arch-rivals Pakistan on Saturday.

The highly-anticipated encounter in front of 22 000 boisterous flag-waving supporters from both sides who packed the Edgbaston stands, was interrupted several times by bad weather over Birmingham.

In a match that was initially reduced to 40-overs-a-side, Pakistan were shot out for 165 in 39.4 overs after Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni elected to field in overcast conditions.

India were set a Duckworth-Lewis target of 168 in 40 overs, which was later revised to 157 off 36 overs, before another rain delay reduced it further to 102 in 22 overs.

India, who were 63-1 in 11.3 overs at that stage, easily scored the remaining runs with 17 balls to spare to end their group B engagements with an all-win record.

Shikhar Dhawan, century-maker against both the West Indies and South Africa, hit a fluent 48 after sharing an opening stand of 58 with Rohit Sharma.

After both openers were dismissed, Virat Kohli and Dinesh Karthik saw India home in a match that held only academic interest for the tournament.

Pakistan, who had already been knocked out of the semi-final race after losing their previous two games, will return home with three successive defeats.

Dhoni's men await the second-placed team from group A -- to be determined after the last round of league matches on Sunday and Monday -- in the semi-final in Cardiff on Thursday.

South Africa, runners-up to India in group B, will play the champion side from group A in the first semi-final at Oval, London, on Wednesday.

India put on a dazzling display in the field as Pakistan were shot out for less than 200 for the third successive time in the tournament. Four bowlers claimed two wickets each and the last two batsmen were run out.

Asad Shafiq top-scored with 41 and Umar Amin made 27 not out, but there was no respite for Pakistan's batting woes.

Opener Nasir Jamshed, whose previous five innings against India included three centuries and a half-century, managed only two when he was snapped up in the slips off Bhuvaneshwar Kumar.

Pakistan plodded to 7-1 in the first five overs, before a cover driven boundary by Mohammad Hafeez off Umesh Yadav, produced a flurry of fours from either end.

Pakistan moved to 50-1 in 12 overs when a 15-minute interruption due to light rain caused them further trouble.

Hafeez, who hit five boundaries in his 27, fell on the first ball after resumption, edging Kumar to a diving Mahendra Singh Dhoni behind the stumps.

Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq helped Shafiq put on 54 runs for the fourth wicket on either side of a second rain stoppage, before he was bowled by Ravindra Jadeja for 22.

Shafiq was dismissed with the help of a television review after umpire Richard Kettleborough initially rejected a catch down the leg-side by Dhoni off Ishant Sharma.


India: S Dhawan, RG Sharma, V Kohli, KD Karthik, SK Raina, MS Dhoni (capt & wk), RA Jadeja, R Ashwin, I Sharma, B Kumar, UT Yadav
Pakistan: Nasir Jamshed, Kamran Akmal (wk), Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Umar Amin, Misbah-ul-Haq (capt) Shoaib Malik, Saeed Ajmal, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan


Virat Kohli ties the knot

2017-12-11 18:17

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you see winning the eight-team 2017 ICC Champions Trophy tournament in England and Wales?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.