ICC names umpires for CWC 2015

2014-12-02 13:35
ICC logo (Gallo)

Dubai - The International Cricket Council on Tuesday named four World Cup winners in a 25-member match officials' team for next year's World Cup, setting the ball rolling with 73 days to go for the mega event.

Australia and New Zealand co-host the event from February 14 which ends with the final in Melbourne on March 29.

A total of 49 matches will be played across 14 venues, seven in New Zealand (Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Napier, Nelson and Wellington) and seven in Australia (Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney).

The five match referees - David Boon (Australia), Chris Broad (England), Jeff Crowe (New Zealand), Ranjan Madugalle and Roshan Mahanama (both from Sri Lanka) - are from the elite panel.

The elite panel umpires are: Aleem Dar (Pakistan), Billy Bowden (New Zealand), Bruce Oxenford (Australia), Ian Gould (England), Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka), Marais Erasmus (South Africa), Nigel Llong (England), Paul Reiffel (Australia), Richard Illingworth (England), Richard Kettleborough (England), Rod Tucker and Steve Davis (both Australia).

Eight umpires from the international panel will also officiate matches - Johan Cloete (South Africa), Simon Fry (Australia), Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand), Michael Gough (England), Ranmore Martinesz, Ruchira Palliyaguru (both Sri Lanka), Ravi Sundaram (India) and Joel Wilson (West Indies).

The World Cup winners in the line-up are Boon (1987), Dharmasena, Mahanama (1996) and Reiffel (1999).

The umpires were chosen by the selection panel of Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager - Cricket), Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Chief Match Referee), David Lloyd (former player, coach, umpire and now television commentator) and Srinivas Venkataraghavan (former elite panel umpire).

The specific match appointments will be announced in February after the warm-up matches, the ICC said.

Read more on:    icc  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.