Finch named Oz T20 captain

2014-09-08 07:38
Aaron Finch (AFP Photo)

Sydney - Top-ranked batsman Aaron Finch was named as Australia's new Twenty20 captain on Monday after George Bailey stood down to focus on next year's World Cup.

The explosive opener, number one on the Twenty20 international batting rankings, will first take charge of the side during the upcoming the series against Pakistan in UAE.

The 27-year-old has racked up an average of 41.25 in 18 Twenty20 internationals, including a stunning 156 off 63 balls against England last year.

Finch has captained Twenty20 sides the Melbourne Renegades and Pune Warriors but he said it was a "big surprise" to receive the phone call from national selector Rod Marsh.

"Having the honour to captain your country in any form of the game is something that all young cricketers dream about," he said. "It came as a big surprise but it was a very nice phone call to receive from Rod Marsh.

"It goes without saying that I will do my utmost in this role as we lead into the ICC World T20 in about 18 months' time. It's going to be very exciting."

Young fast bowler Pat Cummins was also included in the T20 squad, having last played for Australia in October 2012 before suffering a back injury.

Bailey, 32, announced on Sunday that he wanted to prepare for the one-day World Cup in Australia and New Zealand early next year and to play more cricket for his state, Tasmania.

Australia squads for Pakistan series:

ODI squad:

Michael Clarke (captain), Sean Abbott, George Bailey, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson

T20 squad:

Aaron Finch (captain), Sean Abbott, Cameron Boyce, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson

Test squad:

Michael Clarke (captain), Alex Doolan, Phil Hughes, Brad Haddin, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve O'Keefe, Mitchell Johnson, Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson

Read more on:    cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.