England win toss, bowl

2011-10-25 11:00

Kolkata - England captain Alastair Cook won the toss on Tuesday and elected to bowl first against India in the final one-day international of a five-game series at Eden Gardens.

India, which is looking to complete a whitewash after winning the first four games, brought in batsman Manoj Tiwary for Parthiv Patel.

England had to bring in Ian Bell for batsman Kevin Pietersen, who was ruled out due to a thumb injury.

India has used its homes conditions well to return to winning ways despite the absence of key players like Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan, all of whom were injured during a recent tour of England where it failed to win a single game.

India was blanked 4-0 in the test series, lost a five-game one-day series 3-0 and also lost the solitary Twenty20 game on the tour of England.

After the one-day series, the teams play a one-off Twenty20 game in Kolkata on Saturday.


India: Ajinkya Rahane, Gautam Gambhir, Manoj Tiwary, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Varun Aaron.

England: Alastair Cook (captain), Craig Kieswetter, Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Jonny Bairstow, Samit Patel, Scott Borthwick, Stuart Meaker, Tim Bresnan, Steven Finn.