England send NZ into bat

2013-06-25 19:49
Brendon McCullum (AFP)
London - England captain Eoin Morgan has won the toss and elected to field against New Zealand in the first Twenty20 international at The Oval on Tuesday.

England gave a debut to former Ireland seamer Boyd Rankin in a side featuring only four survivors from the side that lost the Champions Trophy final to India at Edgbaston on Sunday, a match reduced from 50 overs per side to 20 because of rain in Birmingham.

The four survivors were Morgan, captaining the side in the place of the rested Stuart Broad, all-rounder Ravi Bopara, wicket-keeper Jos Buttler and off-spinner James Tredwell.

Former Ireland internationals Morgan and Rankin were among five overseas-born players in England's XI including Michael Lumb and Jade Dernbach (South Africa) and Ben Stokes (New Zealand).

This match and Thursday's second and final T20 at The Oval, constituted a 'hangover' from a New Zealand tour, featuring a Test series won by England and a one-day series won by the Black Caps, both completed before the Champions Trophy got underway.

New Zealand brought in batsman Tom Latham, seamer Ian Butler and spinner Roneel Hira for their first matches of the tour.

Martin Guptill, who scored back-to-back hundreds against England in the one-day series, was not considered due to a hamstring injury he suffered in a warm-up match against Kent while pacemen Kyle Mills and Doug Bracewell were the other members of the squad omitted from New Zealand's final XI.


England: Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Luke Wright, Eoin Morgan (capt), Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler (wkt), Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, James Tredwell, Jade Dernbach, Boyd Rankin

New Zealand: Hamish Rutherford, James Franklin, Brendon McCullum (capt/wkt), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Nathan McCullum, Corey Anderson, Ian Butler, Roneel Hira, Mitchell McClenaghan

Umpires: Rob Bailey (ENG) and Richard Illingworth (ENG)

TV umpire: Tim Robinson (ENG)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Read more on:    eoin morgan  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.