England opt to bat 3rd Test

2014-07-27 12:36
Alastair Cook (AFP)

Southampton - England captain Alastair Cook won the toss and elected to bat in the third Test against India at Southampton on Sunday.

England made three changes from the side beaten by 95 runs in the second Test at Lord's on Monday, a result that put India 1-0 up in the five-match series after the drawn opener at Trent Bridge.

As expected, Lancashire wicketkeeper Jos Buttler was given his Test debut, having already made 69 international limited overs appearances for England.

Buttler's debut was all but assured after experienced gloveman Matt Prior withdrew from international duty for the rest of the season, citing the need to regain full fitness from various injuries following the Lord's Test.

Meanwhile England dropped all-rounder Ben Stokes, who had made six ducks in his last 10 international innings, and fast bowler Liam Plunkett.

Their places were taken by Chris Jordan, who played in both Tests during England's recent 1-0 series defeat at home to Sri Lanka and Chris Woakes, another seam-bowling all-rounder, who made his Test debut in last year's Ashes finale at The Oval.

India made two changes with Ishant Sharma - who took a Test-best seven for 74 in England's second innings at Lord's - ruled out with an ankle injury.

Sharma's absence saw India give a Test debut to giant right-arm seamer Pankaj Singh, in what was only the paceman's second international match of any kind after a one-day appearance against Sri Lanka in Harare four years ago.

Meanwhile batsman Rohit Sharma was recalled in place of all-rounder Stuart Binny.

England were looking to end a run of 10 Tests without a win - their worst for more than 20 years - while Cook was trying to overcome a run drought that had seen him go 27 innings without scoring a Test hundred.

This match was only the second Test ever staged at the Rose Bowl after England and Sri Lanka drew a rain-affected match in 2011.


England: Alastair Cook (capt), Sam Robson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler (wkt), Chris Jordan, Stuart Broad, Chris Woakes, James Anderson

India: Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt/wkt), Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pankaj Singh, Mohammed Shami

Umpires: Rod Tucker (AUS) and Marais Erasmus (RSA)

TV umpire: Rob Bailey (ENG)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    alastair cook  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.