England field against Kiwis

2015-05-29 14:28
Alastair Cook (AFP)

Leeds - England captain Alastair Cook won the toss and elected to field against New Zealand in the second Test at Headingley on Friday.

After rain washed out the whole of the morning session, England announced an unchanged side following their 124-run win in the first Test at Lord's on Monday that put them 1-0 up in this two-match series.

By opting to field under increasingly bright skies, Cook gave spearhead seamer James Anderson an early chance to take the one wicket he needed to become the first England bowler, and 12th overall, to reach 400 Test wickets.

Cook himself needs just 32 more runs to break batting mentor Graham Gooch's England Test runs record of 8,900.

New Zealand gave a Test debut to one-day wicket-keeper Luke Ronchi, who took over the gloves from BJ Watling, suffering with a knee injury sustained at Lord's.

Watling retained his place in the side as a batsman only, with all-rounder Corey Anderson ruled out because of back trouble.

England: Adam Lyth, Alastair Cook (captain), Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wkt), Moeen Ali, Stuart Broad, Mark Wood, James Anderson

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (captain), BJ Watling, Luke Ronchi (wkt), Mark Craig, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Trent Boult

Umpires: S Ravi (IND), Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    england  |  alastair cook  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.