England bat first in ODI decider

2015-09-13 11:41
Mitchell Starc (File)

Manchester - England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to bat in the fifth and final one-day international at Old Trafford on Sunday.

Morgan's side beat Australia by 93 runs at the same ground on 8 September having won the toss on that occasion and scored 300 before they bowled Australia out for 207.

England made one change as Essex fast bowler Reece Topley came in for Yorkshire paceman Liam Plunkett to make his ODI debut.

Australia, the 50-over World Cup champions, made two changes to their bowling attack as spinner Ashton Agar and left-arm fast bowler Mitchell Starc returned in place of Marcus Stoinis and James Pattinson.

The series is currently tied at 2-2.



Jason Roy, Alex Hales, James Taylor, Eoin Morgan (capt), Ben Stokes, Jonn Bairstow (wkt), Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Mark Wood, Reece Topley.


Joe Burns, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith (capt), George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (wkt), John Hastings, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Patrick Cummins.

Umpires - Rob Bailey (ENG) Joel Wilson (WIS)

TV umpire - Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

Match referee - Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    england  |  australia  |  eoin morgan  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following the Proteas' dire tour of India, how will their 4-Test series against England pan out?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.