Dust storm halts Pakistan-Zim match

2015-05-31 19:13
(Aamir Qureshi, AFP)

Lahore - A heavy dust storm and a power failure stopped play in the third and final day-night international match between Pakistan and Zimbabwe at the Gaddafi Stadium on Sunday.

Zimbabwe were 62-0 after eight overs and chasing a target of 297 set by Pakistan, who won the toss and decided to bat.

Pakistan lead the three-match series 2-0 after winning the first two matches by 41 runs and six wickets.

Pakistan made 296-9 with 80 from Mohammad Hafeez and 54 from debutant Babar Azam.

The scoreboard after Pakistan's innings:

Mohammad Hafeez lbw b Raza 80

Azhar Ali run out 46

Asad Shafiq c Williams b Raza 16

Babar Azam b Mpofu 54

Shoaib Malik run out 3

Sarfraz Ahmed c Williams b Raza 25

Hammad Azam b Cremer 4

Anwer Ali not out 38

Wahab Riaz c Mutumbami b Mpofu 13

Yasir Shah run out 0

Junaid Khan not out 5

Extras: (lb4, nb 1, w7) 12

Total: (for nine wkts; 50 overs) 296

Fall of wickets: 1-115 (Ali), 2-134 (Hafeez), 3-151 (Shafiq), 4-158 (Malik), 5-196 (Ahmed), 6-211 (Azam), 7-256 (Babar), 8-284 (Riaz), 9-288 (Shah)

Bowling: Mpofu 6-0-50-2 (1w), Panyangara 8-0-47-0 (1nb), Chibhabha 4-0-23-0 (1w), Cremer 10-0-56-1, Masakadza 2-0-15-0, Williams 10-0-42-0 (1w), Raza 10-0-59-3 (4w)

Zimbabwe: V. Sibanda, C. Chibhabha, H. Masakadza, Sikander Raza, S. Williams, C. Coventry, R. Mutumbami, R. Kaia, G. Cremer, T. Panyangara, C. Mpofu

Toss: Pakistan

Umpires: Ahsan Raza (PAK) and Russell Tiffin (ZIM)

Tv umpire: Ahmed Shahab (PAK)

Match referee: Azhar Khan (PAK).


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.