Duminy's Delhi too good for Kings

2015-04-16 00:12
JP Duminy (AFP)

Cape Town - Mayank Agarwal and Yuvraj Singh shared in a 106-run partnership to lead the Delhi Daredevils to narrow five-wicket win over the Kings XI Punjab in their Indian Premier League match at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on Wednesday.

The website reports that Agarwal struck 68 off 48 deliveries with seven fours and two sixes while Yuvraj weighed in with 55 off 38 balls with five fours and three sixes as Delhi reached 169-5 with just one ball of their innings left to snap an 11-match losing streak, the equal longest in IPL history.

Punjab, after winning the toss and electing to bat, had posted 165-7 after Imran Tahir had captured 3-43.

Agarwal played the anchor role as he brought up his fifty off 37 balls with five fours and two sixes, the second a massive blow over deep square leg off the bowling of left-arm quick Mitchell Johnson that brought up the opening batsman’s half-century.

Yuvraj showed all his experience as he also reached his half-century with a six, with his fifty coming up off just 33 deliveries with five fours and three sixes and he provided Delhi’s innings with the impetus needed to get the team to their first win of the season.

Yuvraj was finally out, with just seven needed for victory, when he was caught at deep midwicket off the bowling of seamer Anureet with the 106-run third-wicket stand coming up off 11 overs.

Agarwal was out off the next delivery when he was bowled off his pads by Anureet to leave Delhi with a nervy finish.

Kedar Jadhav (3) was out with just one run needed before Angelo Mathews (6 not out) struck the penultimate ball of the match for four.

Delhi lost opening batsman Shreyas Iyer (6) early on in their run chase before Duminy (21) and Agarwal combined for a second-wicket stand of 30.

But Duminy was run out after some sharp work from bowler left-arm spinner Patel, who fielded his own delivery before flicking the ball back to run Duminy out at the bowler’s end with Duminy out of his ground after backing up with the batsman colliding with the bowler in turning to make his ground.

Duminy and Imran Tahir had earlier shared five wickets as Delhi did well to claw back Punjab’s innings.

Offspinner Duminy claimed 2-16 off two overs while Tahir, who had figures of 3-0-40-1 at one stage, conceded just three runs off the last over of the innings while claiming two wickets.

Punjab had looked well set for a huge total as they reached 104 for one in the 14th over but they lost four wickets for the addition of just 33 runs as their innings lost momentum.

Murali Vijay (19) and Virender Sehwag gave the hosts a solid start with a first-wicket stand of 33 before Vijay was caught by Duminy at mid-off off the bowling of medium-pacer Angelo Mathews.

Sehwag and Wriddhiman Saha then combined for a second-wicket partnership of 71 off 8.5 overs.

The right-handed Saha looked in good touch as he scored and entertaining 39 off 28 balls with three sixes before he was bowled after playing across the line to a quicker delivery from legspinner Amit Mishra to leave Punjab on 104-2 in the 14th over.

Sehwag looked well set for his half-century but, after scoring 47 off 41 balls with four fours and two sixes, he sliced a delivery from Duminy and was caught by a running Nathan Coulter-Nile at deep extra cover as Punjab slipped to 115-3 after 15 overs.

Glenn Maxwell threatened to break lose as he bashed 15 off five balls before he was caught in the covers after slicing a Tahir delivery before Punjab’s late-order wobbled continued when Duminy bowled David Miller (15) after a swipe across the line from the left-handed batsman.

Miller’s departure left Punjab on 137-5 after 17 overs before George Bailey (19) and Axar Patel (13) smashed 19 runs off the 19th over of the innings, bowled by Mishra.

But Tahir ended their resistance when he dismissed both men, off consecutive deliveries, with Bailey caught at long-off and Patel at long-on.


Kings XI Punjab: M Vijay, V Sehwag, GJ Maxwell, DA Miller, GJ Bailey (captain), R Dhawan, MG Johnson, WP Saha (wicketkeeper), AR Patel, Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma

Delhi Daredevils: MA Agarwal, SS Iyer, JP Duminy (captain), Yuvraj Singh, AD Mathews, MK Tiwary, KM Jadhav (wicketkeeper), NM Coulter-Nile, A Mishra, Imran Tahir, DJ Muthuswami


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.