Despite a rain interruption Mustafizur dazzles with a second 5-50 to give Bangladesh a clear lead

2015-06-23 12:25

LEFT-ARM pacer Mustafizur Rahman yesterday again led Bangladesh to a resounding One-Day International victory over India, pushing the hosts to an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

Set a target of 200 runs in 47 overs according to the Duckworth/Lewis Method as play was interrupted by rain at the end of India’s innings, Bangladesh reached the total in just 38 overs for only four wickets, securing a six-wicket win.

Mustafizur, who claimed 5-50 on his debut in the opening match, picked up from where he left off to join Zimbabwe’s Brian Vitori as only the second man in history to take five or more wickets in the first two matches of their career.

Shikhar Dhawan made 53 runs while skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni chipped in with 47 as India seek to stay alive in the three-match series after a 79-run loss in the opening match.

Electing to bat first after Dhoni won the toss, India suffered the first blow in the second ball when Rohit Sharma was caught at cover by Sabbir Rahman off Mustafizur.

Dhawan and Virat Kohli steadied the innings with a 74-run second wicket stand before Bangladesh struck again through occasional off-break bowler Nasir Hossain.

Nasir, who claimed 2-33, trapped Kohli leg before for 23 and then had Dhawan caught behind soon after the opener completed his fifty.

Ambati Rayudu, one of the three changes India made for the game, followed Dhawan without scoring to leave the visitors struggling at 4-110.

Dhoni, who promoted himself at No. 4, put on 53 runs in the fifth wicket with Suresh Raina, but Mustafizur ­returned in his second spell to dismiss Raina for 34 and break the partnership.

Dhoni, dropped by wicketkeeper Das on 21, succumbed to the pressure spooning a catch to Nasir at short cover.

Mustafizur created a chance of a hat-trick trapping Axar Patel leg before off the next ball.

Ravichandran Ashwin survived the hat-trick ball, but soon became Mustafizur’s fifth victim edging a catch behind the stumps for four.

Mustafizur bowled Jadeja off his final delivery after the rain break and Rubel folded India’s innings two balls later to finish with 2-26.

The third and final ODI will be held at same venue on June 24.


India innings

RG Sharma c Sabbir Rahman b Mustafizur Rahman 0

S Dhawan c Litton Das b Nasir Hossain 53

V Kohlilbw b Nasir Hossain 23

MS Dhoni c Soumya Sarkar b Mustafizur Rahman 47

AT Rayudu c Nasir Hossain b Rubel Hossain 0

SK Raina c Litton Das b Mustafizur Rahman 34

RA Jadeja b Mustafizur Rahman 19

AR Patel lbw b Mustafizur Rahman 0

R Ashwin c Litton Das b Mustafizur Rahman 4

B Kumar c Litton Das b Rubel Hossain 3

DS Kulkarni not out 2

Extras (lb 6, w 8, nb 1)15

Total (10 wickets; 45 overs)



Mustafizur Rahman 10 0 43 6, Taskin Ahmed 4 0 24 0, Mashrafe Mortaza 7 0 35 0, Nasir Hossain 10 0 33 2, Rubel Hossain 7 0 26 2, Shakib Al Hasan 7 0 33 0

Fall of wickets

1-0 (Sharma, 0.2 ov); 2-74 (Kohli, 12.3 ov); 3-109 (Dhawan, 20.5 ov); 4-110 (Rayudu, 21.4 ov); 5-163 (Raina, 35.3 ov); 6-174 (Dhoni, 39.3 ov); 7-174 (Patel, 39.4 ov); 8-184 (Ashwin, 41 ov); 9-196 (Jadeja, 43 ov); 10-200 (Kumar, 44 ov)

Bangladesh innings

Tamim Iqbal c Dhawan b Kulkarni 13

Soumya Sarkar lbw b Ashwin 34

Litton Das c Dhoni b Patel 36

Mushfiqur Rahim run out (Sharma) 31

Shakib Al Hasan not out 51

Sabbir Rahman not out 22

Did not bat: Nasir Hossain

Mashrafe Mortaza

Rubel Hossain

Taskin Ahmed

Mustafizur Rahman

Extras(lb 4, w 9)13

Total(4 wickets; 38 overs)


Fall of wickets

1-34 (Tamim Iqbal, 6.2 ov); 2-86 (Soumya Sarkar, 16.4 ov); 3-98 (Litton Das, 19.2 ov); 4-152 (Mushfiqur Rahim, 29.1 ov)

Kumar 5 0 32 0, Kulkarni 7 0 42 1, Ashwin 10 2 32 1, Jadeja 7 0 28 0, Patel 7 0 48 1, Raina 2 0 14 0

Bangladesh won by 6 wickets


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.