Cricket World Cup 2011

Ireland win toss, field

2011-03-18 06:09
Ireland's cricketers warm up. (AFP)

Kolkata - Ireland captain William Porterfield has won the toss and elected to field against Netherlands in a World Cup Group B match on Friday.

Ireland are fielding the same team that were beaten by South Africa earlier this week, while the Dutch brought in all rounder Bernard Loots in place of batsman Tom de Grooth.

Both teams are playing their last match at the event as they have no chances of reaching the quarter-finals.


Ireland - William Porterfield (captain), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O'Brien, Gary Wilson, Kevin O'Brien, Alex Cusack, John Mooney, Trent Johnston, George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin.

Netherlands: Eric Szwarczynski, Wesley Barresi, Tom Cooper, Ryan ten Doeschate, Alexei Kervezee, Atse Buurman, Peter Borren (captain), Mudassar Bukhari, Pieter Seelaar, Adeel Raja, Bernard Loots .


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Cricket World Cup 2011

The day Aussies went 'soft'?

2011-04-01 07:37

Newly appointed Michael Clarke seems to represent a seismic change to Australian cricket captaincy characteristics. Read More


Who would you like to see named as the next Proteas' coach?


Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.