Cricket World Cup 2011

England win toss, bat first

2011-03-26 11:07
Andrew Strauss (file)

Colombo - England captain Andrew Strauss won the toss and elected to bat first in their World Cup quarter-final against Sri Lanka at R Premadasa Stadium on Saturday.


Sri Lanka decided to play three spinners and drafted in Rangana Herath in place of seamer Nuwan Kulasekara.

England were unchanged from their last group match against West Indies. Ian Bell will open the innings alongside Strauss.

The winner of the match will play New Zealand in the semi-final on Tuesday at the same venue.


England - Andrew Strauss (captain), Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Matt Prior, Luke Wright, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Chris Tremlett.

Sri Lanka - Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Angelo Mathews, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis, Muttiah Muralitharan.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Cricket World Cup 2011

The day Aussies went 'soft'?

2011-04-01 07:37

Newly appointed Michael Clarke seems to represent a seismic change to Australian cricket captaincy characteristics. Read More


Who would you like to see named as the next Proteas' coach?


Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.