Clarke gets ICC top honours

2013-12-13 10:24
Michael Clarke (Getty)

New Delhi - Australian captain Michael Clarke stole the honours in the International Cricket Council awards announced Friday, winning both player of the year and the Test cricketer of the year.

Clarke, whose Australia team have taken a firm grip of the ongoing Ashes series, beat five other nominees including England skipper Alastair Cook to bag the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the player of the year.

"I was very surprised, to be honest, probably because there are so many guys who are playing so well around the world at the moment," Clarke told the website.

"I definitely didn't expect to have won this award but it is a prestigious award and an honour, and something I'm certainly proud of."

Hashim Amla, James Anderson, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Kumar Sangakkara were the others on the shortlist to miss out.

The awards are based solely on performances over a 12-month period that ended on August 25, 2013 and included the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka, the Champions Trophy in England and the women's World Cup in India.

Clarke won despite a lean time for Australia in that period when they were thrashed 4-0 in India, before losing the Ashes series against England 3-0.

During the voting period, Clarke was the world's leading run-scorer with 1,559 runs at an average of 70.86, including two double centuries and three other hundreds.

The Australian captain has been in top form in the ongoing return Ashes series at home, lifting his team to a 2-0 lead with centuries in each of the first two Tests in Brisbane and Adelaide.

"I'd swap it for the team to have success, that's for sure," Clarke said of the double honour.

"The most special feeling in any team sport is winning, but especially in cricket, alongwith that comes individual performance."

In the Test player of the year category, Clarke scored over five other nominees -- Amla, Anderson, Ravichandran Ashwin, Cheteshwar Pujara and Dale Steyn.

Sri Lanka's Sangakkara was named the one-day player of the year, while Indian batsman Pujara was voted the emerging player of the year.

Nominees were drawn up by an independent 32-person panel comprising former players and representatives from the media, match referees and umpires. Those who received the highest number of votes were declared the winners.

For the first time since the awards were introduced in 2004, they were not presented at a function but announced through a media release by the ICC.

A television show on the awards, hosted by former Australian captain Ricky Ponting, will be telecast on Saturday, the ICC said.

New Zealand captain Suzie Bates was named the women's one-day cricketer of the year and Pakistani seamer Umar Gul won the Twenty20 performance of the year award for claiming five wickets for six runs in 2.2 overs against South Africa in March this year.

Ireland's Kevin O'Brien was voted the best player from non-Test nations, while Richard Kettleborough of England was named the umpire of the year.

Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene won the spririt of cricket award for not waiting for the umpire's decision after edging a catch when he was on 91 against New Zealand in a Test match in Galle in November 2012.

List of winners of the International Cricket Council awards announced by the world governing body on Friday:

Cricketer of the year: Michael Clarke (AUS)

Other nominees: Hashim Amla (RSA), James Anderson (ENG), Alastair Cook (ENG), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI).

Test cricketer of the year: Michael Clarke (AUS)

Other nominees: Hashim Amla (RSA), James Anderson (ENG), Ravichandran Ashwin (IND), Cheteshwar Pujara (IND), Dale Steyn (RSA).

One-day cricketer of the year: Kumar Sangakkara (SRI)

Other nominees: Saeed Ajmal (PAK), Shikhar Dhawan (IND), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND), Misbah ul-Haq (PAK), Ravindra Jadeja (IND).

Women's one-day cricketer of the year: Suzie Bates (NZL)

Other nominees: Charlotte Edwards (ENG), Meg Lanning (AUS), Dane van Niekerk (RSA), Anya Shrubsole (ENG), Stafanie Taylor (WIS).

Emerging cricketer of the year: Cheteshwar Pujara (IND)

Other nominees: Trent Boult (NZL), Joe Root (ENG), Mitchell Starc (AUS).

Associate and Affiliate cricketer of the year: Kevin O'Brien (IRL)

Other nominees: Kyle Coetzer (SCO), Ed Joyce (IRL), Nawroz Mangal (AFG).

Twenty20 international performance of the year: Umar Gul (PAK) - for bowling figures of 2.2-0-6-5 v South Africa, March 3, 2013.

Other nominees: Martin Guptill (NZL ) - 101 not out off 69 balls v South Africa, December 23, 2012; Brendon McCullum (NZL) - 123 off 53 balls v Bangladesh, October 1, 2012; Ajanth Mendis (SRI) - Bowling figures of 4-2-8-6 v Zimbabwe, September 18, 2012.

Women's Twenty20 cricketer of the year: Sarah Taylor (ENG)

Other nominees: Suzie Bates (NZL), Shanel Daley (WIS), Deandra Dottin (WIS), Meg Lanning (AUS), Stafanie Taylor (WIS).

Umpire of the year: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Other nominees: Aleem Dar (PAK), Steve Davis (AUS), Kumar Dharmasena (SRI), Marais Erasmus (RSA), Ian Gould (ENG), Tony Hill (NZL), Richard Illingworth (ENG), Nigel Llong (ENG), Bruce Oxenford (AUS), Paul Reiffel (AUS), Rodney Tucker (AUS).

Spirit of cricket award: Mahela Jayawardena (SRI) - for not waiting for umpire's decision after edging a catch to the wicket-keeper when he was batting on 91 against New Zealand in a Test match in Galle in November 2012.

Other nominee: Farhad Reza (BAN) - for confirming he had touched the boundary ropes and signalled a six after catching Pakistan opener Nasir Jamshed during the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka in 2012.

People's choice award (announced earlier): Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND)

Other nominees: Alastair Cook (ENG), Michael Clarke (AUS), Virat Kohli (IND), AB de Villiers (RSA).

ICC's Test team of the year (in batting order - announced earlier):

Alastair Cook (ENG, capt), Cheteshwar Pujara (IND), Hashim Amla (RSA), Michael Clarke (AUS), Michael Hussey (AUS), AB de Villiers (RSA), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND, wicket-keeper), Graeme Swann (ENG), Dale Steyn (RSA), James Anderson (ENG), Vernon Philander (RSA). 12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin (IND).

ICC's one-day team of the year (in batting order - announced earlier):

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SRI), Shikhar Dhawan (IND), Hashim Amla (RSA), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI), AB de Villiers (RSA), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND, capt and wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja (IND), Saeed Ajmal (PAK), Mitchell Starc (AUS), James Anderson (ENG), Lasith Malinga (SRI). 12th Man: Mitchell McClenaghan (NZL)

Read more on:    icc  |  michael clarke  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.