Champions T20 takes shape

2010-05-24 17:57

Johannesburg - The 10 teams that will compete in the premier domestic Twenty20 competition in the world were confirmed on Monday.

The Warriors and the Highveld Lions have qualified for SA for the 2010 Champions League Twenty20 by virtue of being the top two finalists in the 2009/10 Standard Bank Pro20 series.

They will join teams from India, Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and West Indies, who will compete for domestic Twenty20 cricket's ultimate prize from September 10-26 in South Africa.

CLT20 will once again bring a host of world cricket's biggest and most exciting names - Tendulkar, Dhoni, Jayawardene, Steyn, Dravid, Tait, Kumble, Hayden, Taylor, Muralidaran, Pollard, Bravo, Afridi, and Mike and David Hussey - to the living rooms of fans around the world.

More than 75% of the participating players are expected to be the international stars of the game, once again making it the tournament a contest between the best of the best.

Of the nine teams already qualified, just three will be returning from the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2009 - Royal Challengers Bangalore (India), Victorian Bushrangers (Australia) and Wayamba Elevens (Sri Lanka).

Only one place remains to be filled, with the West Indies' representative to be confirmed in late July. Trinidad & Tobago represented the Caribbean in 2009 and set the tournament alight with its brilliant run through to the final.

The 2010 Champions League Twenty20 will feature 23 matches (the same number as 2009), with the tournament format, match schedule and venues to be decided in the coming weeks.


Chennai Super Kings (Indian Premier League - India)
Mumbai Indians (Indian Premier League - India)
Royal Challengers Bangalore (Indian Premier League - India)
Victorian Bushrangers (KFC Twenty20 Big Bash - Australia)
South Australia Redbacks (KFC Twenty20 Big Bash - Australia)
Warriors (Standard Bank Pro20 Series - South Africa)
Highveld Lions (Standard Bank Pro20 Series - South Africa)
Central Stags (HRV Cup Twenty20 - New Zealand)
Wayamba Elevens (Inter-Provincial Twenty20 Cup - Sri Lanka)
TBC (West Indies Domestic Twenty20 Champions)