Champions League T20

Wayamba opt to bat

2010-09-11 14:08
Warriors (File)

Port Elizabeth - Wayamba Elevens captain Jehan Mubarak won the toss and opted to bat first Saturday in the Champions League match against the Warriors of South Africa.


The Sri Lankan Twenty20 champions will field three spinners in the Group A opener at St. George's Park in Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath and Kaushal Lokuarachchi.

Former Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene will lead the Wayamba batting and Sri Lanka allrounder Farveez Maharoof is also in the team.

David Jacobs skippers a Warriors team containing experienced South African internationals Ashwell Prince, Mark Boucher and national T20 captain Johan Botha.

Former Proteas fast bowler Makhaya Ntini and spinner Nicky Boje are also in the Warriors lineup, as is specialist Twenty20 bowler Juan Theron.

Warriors: David Jacobs (captain), Ashwell Prince, Colin Ingram, Justin Kreusch, Mark Boucher, Johan Botha, Craig Thyssen, Nicky Boje, Juan Theron, Makhaya Ntini, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Wayamba Elevens: Jehan Mubarak (captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Jeewantha Kulatunga, Mahela Udawatte, Kushal Perera, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Farveez Maharoof, Thisara Perera, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis, Chanaka Welegedara.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which of the two SA sides in the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 will progress furthest in the tournament?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.