Champions League T20

Three from SA in All-Stars XI

2009-10-15 14:55
JP Duminy (Gallo Images)
Bangalore – The initial Airtel Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) All-Stars XI has been named, with players from Royal Challengers Bangalore, Cape Cobras, Victorian Bushrangers and Trinidad & Tobago dominating the list.

The CLT20 All Stars XI is a team chosen by ESPN Star Sports commentators containing six batsmen, four bowlers and one wicket-keeper based on the opening rounds of the tournament.

To be considered for selection in the All Stars XI, a player must be ranked in the top 20 for batting (runs scored), top 15 for bowling (wickets taken) or among the top four wicket-keepers (dismissals).

If a player is listed in more than one category, selectors have the flexibility to name them in either group.

All the statistics for the tournament can be found on the Airtel CLT20 website,

Today’s selection is the first of three that will occur before the final All-Stars XI is named after the Airtel Champions League Twenty20 Final on 23 October. The XI will also be updated after the League Stage and Semi Finals.

Among those gaining selection in the initial All-Stars XI are Cape Cobras pair Andrew Puttick and JP Duminy. On the opening night of the tournament, Duminy carried his team to victory against RC Bangalore with a sublime unbeaten 99 from 52 balls, while Cobras captain Puttick surpassed that effort two days later with 104 not out from 62 balls against the Otago Volts.

In Group A, a pair of man of the match performances by Trinidad & Tobago’s Dwayne Bravo has not only propelled his team into the League Phase, but also earned the 26-year-old all-rounder a place in the team. Bravo is joined in the All-Stars XI by teammate and wicket-keeper Dinesh Ramdin.

RC Bangalore’s Ross Taylor is another who has caught the eye in the opening week of the competition. The New Zealand international has a strike rate of 242.86 (85 runs from 35 balls) and smashed 32 from 11 against Volts to secure his team’s passage into the next round.

Taylor will be in action again tonight against the Victorian Bushrangers in a must-win match for the Royal Challengers, a clash that features five of the 11 All-Stars named today.

The full CLT20 All-Stars XI is as follows:

Champions League Twenty20 All-Stars XI

JP Duminy (Cape Cobras)
Andrew Puttick (Cape Cobras)
Robin Uthappa (RC Bangalore)
Virender Sehwag (Delhi Daredevils)
Ross Taylor (RC Bangalore)
Jacques Kallis (RC Bangalore)
Denesh Ramdin (Trinidad & Tobago) wk
Dwayne Bravo (Trinidad & Tobago)
Clint McKay (Victorian Bushrangers)
Shane Harwood (Victorian Bushrangers)
Moises Henriques (NSW Blues)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which of the two SA sides in the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 will progress furthest in the tournament?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.