Champions League T20

TT take heat out of Brisbane

2013-09-22 19:40
Ravi Rampaul (Getty Images)
New Delhi - An excellent bowling performance by Trinidad & Tobago took them to a 25-run win over the Brisbane Heat at Ranchi on Sunday.

The website reports that Trinidad's total of 135 for nine did not seem adequate at first, but Brisbane fell well short in the opening Group B match of the Champions League T20 as they were dismissed for just 110.

Wickets at either end of the innings saw Ravi Rampaul emerge with the best figures of 4-14, but some canny bowling from Sunil Narine put the brakes on the middle order.

Narine, who only took the ball in the 11th over, dismissed Chris Lynn with a carrom ball on his way to figures of 2-25 while Rayad Emrit also played his part with 2-26.

Much of their success could be attributed to an excellent spell from leg-spinner Samuel Badree, who bowled his full spell as an opening bowler. He was rewarded with a single wicket with perhaps his worst ball as Peter Forrest slapped a long hop to deep mid-wicket, but Badree went for just 16 as the Australians were never able to build momentum.

Their cause was not helped by a floodlight failure as Forrest trudged off in the eighth over, but fortunately no overs were lost when play resumed. Joe Burns top scored with 45 off 43 balls, but the innings lacked oomph in the face of tight bowling throughout.

Earlier, Trinidad skipper Denesh Ramdin had to hold things together after a clatter of early wickets. The veteran wicketkeeper made 48 off 38 balls before being dismissed in the penultimate over.

Badree played a significant cameo role with the bat, twice clearing the ropes in the final over to give his fellow bowlers just that little bit more to bowl to.

Alister McDermott, son of former Australian fast bowler Craig, took a career best 4-37 and offspinner Nathan Hauritz 2-22 after James Hopes had opted to bowl first.

Ramdin was named Man of the Match.


Brisbane Heat:
JR Hopes (captain), JA Burns, PJ Forrest, DT Christian, CA Lynn, CD Hartley (wicketkeeper), BCJ Cutting, CJM Sabburg, NM Hauritz, KAJ Roach, AC McDermott

Trinidad and Tobago: LMP Simmons, E Lewis, DM Bravo, JN Mohammed, D Ramdin (captain & wicketkeeper), N Pooran, S Ganga, SP Narine, RR Emrit, R Rampaul, S Badree

Read more on:    trinidad and tobago  |  clt20  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


Which of the two SA sides in the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 will progress furthest in the tournament?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.