Champions League T20

Sixers crush Lions in final

2012-10-28 20:23
Michael Lumb (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - The Sydney Sixers made light work of the Highveld Lions as the Australian side cantered to a 10-wicket win in the Champions League Twenty20 final at the Wanderers on Sunday.

Full scorecard

Chasing the Lions' 121 all out, Sydney raced to 124 without loss with Michael Lumb smashing his way to a thrilling 82 not out off just 42 balls with eight fours and five sixes.

Sydney, who went through the tournament unbeaten, received $2.5m for winning the world club event while the Lions claimed $1.3m as runners-up.

Earlier, the Johannesburg-based Lions were sent in to bat in front of a sell-out crowd and lost their last wicket off the last ball of their allotted 20 overs, with Jean Symes's 51 off 46 balls top scoring.

New Zealand off-spinner Nathan McCullum, who opened the bowling for the Sixers, claimed 3-24 while paceman Josh Hazlewood nabbed 3-22.

Englishman Lumb, who was born in South Africa, and fellow opener Brad Haddin (38 not out) made light work of chasing down the Lions' total as they scored the winning runs with 45 balls remaining.

The pair were let off during their respective knocks with both dropped.

The Lions' fate was cast in the first innings after they crashed to 9 for four with left-arm spinner Steve O'Keefe effective with the new ball claiming one for 11 off four overs.

Only a career-best knock from Symes saved the Lions from complete humiliation and he received some support from Thami Tsolekile (20) and Dwaine Pretorius (21).

Brief scores:

Highveld Lions (RSA) 121 (J. Symes 51, D. Pretorius 21, T. Tsolekile 20, S. Tanvir 11; N. McCullum 3-24, J. Hazlewood 3-22) v Sydney Sixers (AUS) 124-0 (M. Lumb 82 no, B. Haddin 38 no)

Sixers win by 10 wickets

Previous champions:

2009 - New South Wales Blues (AUS)

2010 - Chennai Super Kings (IND)

2011 - Mumbai Indians (IND)


Highveld Lions: Alviro Petersen (captain), Gulam Bodi, Quinton de Kock, Neil McKenzie, Dwaine Pretorius, Jean Symes, Thami Tsolekile (wicketkeeper), Chris Morris, Sohail Tanvir, Dirk Nannes, Aaron Phangiso.

Sydney Sixers: Michael Lumb, Ben Rohrer, Nic Maddinson, Brad Haddin (captain & wicketkeeper), Steven Smith, Moises Henriques, Steve O’Keefe, Nathan McCullum, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News


Which of the two SA sides in the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 will progress furthest in the tournament?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.