Champions League T20

Cobras implode against Kings XI

2014-09-28 19:03
(File, Hashim Amla, GalloImages)

Mohali - The Cape Cobras imploded against the Kings XI Punjab in a Champions League T20 Group B match at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium on Sunday.

The Cobras, after being sent into bat first, lost their last eight wickets in 34 balls for 32 runs as Anureet Singh and Akshar Patel ran riot, reports the website.

Richard Levi and Hashim Amla gave the men from Cape Town the perfect start with a brisk 60-run partnership for the first wicket off just 40 deliveries but then Amla was caught by his fellow South African, David Miller, at long-off from the leg-break bowling of Karanveer Singh (4-0-23-1). Amla looked in good form, striking seven boundaries and one six from just 22 balls.

Once Levi departed for 42 from 37 balls with two boundaries and three maximums, the Cobras vehicle seemed to hit a landmine and where blown away. Levi was astounded to lose his wicket when he flat-batted a ball from Glenn Maxwell (2-0-17-1) straight back to the bowler.

Bails off

Akshar Patel (4-0-16-3) was the one who created the slide with two wickets on one over when he had Justin Kemp (two) stumped off a leg-side wide. Two balls later it was Vernon Philander’s turn to be stumped down the leg side, although the ball flicked his thigh pad, Wriddhiman Saha had the bails off in a flash as the allrounder departed for five.

Anureet Singh (2.3-0-12-3) then claimed two wickets in two balls to finish the innings off when he first had Rory Kleinveldt (one) caught on the square-leg boundary by Manan Vohra and thee had Robin Peterson (two) brilliantly caught behind by Saha.

It was a disappointing display by the Cape side and it will need an enormous bowling display without Charl Langeveldt for them to win this match as the Kings XI will only need 136 in 20 overs to claim their fourth victory.

CAPE COBRAS: RE Levi, HM Amla, OA Ramela, S van Zyl, DJ Vilas (capt & wk), SA Engelbrecht, JM Kemp, VD Philander, RJ Peterson, RK Kleinveldt, A Mgijima

KINGS XI PUNJAB: M Vohra, V Sehwag, WP Saha (wk), GJ Maxwell, DA Miller, GJ Bailey (capt), NLTC Perera, AR Patel, Karanveer Singh, Anureet Singh, P Awan.

Read more on:    clt20  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which of the two SA sides in the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 will progress furthest in the tournament?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.