Champions League T20

Bomb scare delays Cobras clash

2009-10-17 13:48
JP Duminy (file)
Cape Town - The League B Champions League match between the Cobras and Victoria at the Chinnaswamy Stadium on Saturday will start an hour and a half late due to a bomb scare.

The match at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore will start at 14h00 South African time, instead of the originally scheduled 12h30. The toss will take place just after 13h00.

According to Cricinfo, an under-22 cricketer staying at the Karnataka State Cricket Association complex in the stadium was arrested by the Bangalore police in connection with a suspected presence of explosives at the venue.

The ground is being searched. The teams have been advised to stay back at their hotel until further notice.

If and when the match gets under way, it assumes added significance for the Royal Challangers Bangalore, who lost to Victoria on Thursday.

If the Cobras win, they will knock Bangalore out of the tournament. If the Cape Town-based franchise loses, Victoria will advance to the semifinals.

The match between the Delhi Daredevils and the final league game between the Cobras and Delhi will than decide who will join Victoria in the semifinals from the other League B teams.

The Victoria-team, spearheaded by the Australian national fast bowler Peter Siddle and Shane Harwood, who has represented the Baggy Greens in one-day internationals, poses a real bowling threat.

The all-rounder Andrew McDonald is the leading wicket-taker in the Champions League with eight wickets at an economy rate of 5.50.
JP Duminy and Andrew Puttick have made it into the All-Star X1 selected provisionally, thanks to superb match-winning batting performances in the group stages.


Nashua Cape Cobras: Andrew Puttick (capt), Herschelle Gibbs, Henry Davids, JP Duminy, Justin Ontong, Ryan Canning (wk), Vernon Philander, Rory Kleinveldt, Claude Henderson, Monde Zondeki, Charl Langeveldt, Stiaan van Zyl.

Victoria: Cameron White (capt), Aiden Blizzard, Aaron Finch, Shane Harwood, JW Hastings, Brad Hodge, Jon Holland, David Hussey, Andrew McDonald, Bryce McGain, Clint McKay, Rob Quiney, Peter Siddle, Matthew Wade (wk), Damien Wright


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which of the two SA sides in the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 will progress furthest in the tournament?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.