Champions League T20

Bangalore snatch victory

2011-10-05 21:00
Chris Gayle (File)
Bangalore - Royal Challengers Bangalore snatched victory off the final delivery against the South Australia Redbacks here on Wednesday, winning by two wickets to progress to the semi-finals of the CLT20.

In a rollercoaster match, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Chris Gayle gave the hosts the best possible start, adding 65 runs off the first 6.1 overs before Gayle fell to Daniel Christian, but the steepler caused Redbacks captain Michael Klinger and Tom Cooper to collide even though Klinger held on to the catch.

Klinger had to leave the field with an injured leg after the incident and Callum Ferguson took over the captaincy.

Dilshan continued the chase with Virat Kohli, the pair pummeling the Redbacks' attack to all corners of the park for a 100-run partnership within nine overs before Kohli became Shaun Tait's first victim, falling for 70.

Kohli faced 36 balls and hit four boundaries and six maximums.

Dilshan continued on the quest, but the wickets kept tumbling around him as Shaun Tait found his radar, and dismissed Saurabh Tiwary, followed by the in-form Dilshan (74) with 15 runs still needed off 11 balls.

Tait was not finished, and he also got rid of Daniel Vettori and Raju Bhatkal in the 19th over to finish with 5/32 and give the South Australian team hope to still salvage a victory.

However, Sreenath Aravind made up for his woeful bowling by scooping a four over the wicketkeeper and running a bye. Arun Karthik then hit the winning six off the final ball to send the Redbacks crashing out of the competition.

Earlier, Daniel Harris blazed the second century of this year's Champions League T20 to lift the Redbacks to 214 for two after opting to bat first.

Harris and Ferguson demolished the Bangalore attack, posting 114 runs for the second wicket in just over 12 overs, but Ferguson fell to the slower one when he had 70, which took him just 43 deliveries.

Harris finished unbeaten on 108, having hit 17 boundaries and two sixes off 61 balls, and he was especially severe on Aravind who conceded 69 runs off his four overs.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: TM Dilshan, CH Gayle, MA Agarwal, V Kohli, SS Tiwary, KB Arun Karthik (wk), DL Vettori (capt), RR Bhatkal, J Syed Mohammad, DP Nannes, S Aravind

South Australia Redbacks: M Klinger (capt), DJ Harris, TLW Cooper, CJ Ferguson, CJ Borgas, DT Christian, TP Ludeman (wk), AW O'Brien, NM Lyon, KW Richardson, SW Tait

Read more on:    champions league t20  |  chris gayle

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which of the two SA sides in the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 will progress furthest in the tournament?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.