CSA names exchange umpires

2014-01-06 12:37
Dennis Smith (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Monday named the three umpires who will benefit from the reciprocal exchange programme with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), Cricket Australia (CA) and Cricket New Zealand (CNZ).

Dennis Smith will officiate in a Ranji Trophy quarter-final and semi-final match in India, starting next week, while Allahudien Paleker will officiate in two Sheffield Shield matches in Australia in February as will Patrick Jele in two Plunket Shield matches in New Zealand.

“The trio rank among our most promising umpires,” commented Corrie van Zyl, CSA's general manager of cricket.

“It is interesting to note that nearly all our top umpires over the years have benefited from these reciprocal arrangements. That includes the three umpires - Marais Erasmus, Shaun George and Johan Cloete - who will be officiating in the ICC World Cup qualifier tournament in New Zealand shortly.

“One of our top match referees, Devdas Govindjee, will also be officiating in this latter tournament. It confirms that our programmes are working well to develop international-class match officials.

“Our exchange programme with New Zealand has been running for 15 years which makes it the longest running programme of this type in the history of the game at first-class level.

“The programmes with India and Australia have also been running for a substantial length of time.”

Mike Gajjar, CSA's Manager of cricket operations, commented: “These exchanges have proven to be beneficial to all the countries involved in preparing umpires to officiate in different conditions and cultures that will assist them in the long term.”

In terms of the agreement one umpire each from India, Australia and New Zealand will stand in two rounds of the Sunfoil Series four-day competition between February 13 and 23.

The three South African umpires travelling abroad will be officiating in the following fixtures as listed below:

Dennis Smith   

Ranji Trophy quarter-final, 08 - 12 January 2014, Mumbai v Maharashtra (Televised)
Ranji Trophy semi-final, 18 - 22 January 2014, Indore

Allahudien Paleker  

Sheffield Shield, 12 - 15 February 2014, New South Wales v Victoria, Sydney
Sheffield Shield, 20 - 23 February 2014, Tasmania v Queensland, Hobart

Patrick Jele

New Zealand:

Plunket Shield, 16 - 19 February 2014, Canterbury v Central Districts, Christchurch
Plunket Shield, 23 - 26 February 2014,  Otago v Northern Districts, Dunedin

Read more on:    csa  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.