CSA names 2015/16 umpire panel

2015-06-10 14:33

Two of the world's most exciting players take the challenge to hit the biggest six, who will prevail?

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Wednesday announced the umpires’ and match referees’ panels for the 2015/16 season.

Two umpires - Stephen Harris and Clifford Isaacs - have been promoted from the amateur panel to the national first-class panel.

In addition, there are four newcomers to the amateur panel in Gladman Gaseba, Kevin Lawrence, Hassen Dawood and Bongani Ntshebe who have shown promise at the various select CSA tournaments.

At the top end of the spectrum Marais Erasmus serves on the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires while Johan Cloete, Shaun George and Adrian Holdstock are all members of the ICC International Panel of Umpires.

The national match referees panel is unchanged.

“Congratulations to all our umpires on their deserved appointments for next season,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat. “Umpires are central to the game of cricket and we are fortunate to have an extremely competent group of match officials.

“We will continue to create opportunities for them to develop through our exchange programmes with Australia, India and New Zealand.

“I would like to single out Brian Jerling, ‘The General’, as he is affectionately known. He has decided to call time after serving South African cricket for the past 27 years with distinction. As the then convener of selectors I recall his being one of the standing officials during the famous 438 One-Day International in 2006. That must have been one of his many personal highlights.

“We are sad to lose the services of Lourens Engelbrecht, who is standing down because of ill-health, and we thank him for his contribution to the game.”

The respective panels for the forthcoming season are:

CSA National First Class Panel

Murray Brown

Johan Cloete - ICC International Umpire

Marais Erasmus - ICC Elite Panel Umpire

Babalo Gcuma

Shaun George - ICC International Umpire

Stephen Harris - Promoted from Amateur Panel

Adrian Holdstock - ICC International TV Umpire

Clifford Isaacs - Promoted from Amateur Panel

Bongani Jele

Allahudien Paleker

Gerrie Pienaar

Dennis Smith

Brad White

CSA Amateur Panel

Rudi Birkenstock

Hassen Dawood - New

Gladman Gaseba - New

Ryan Hendricks

Earl Hendrikse

Marlon Jansen

Kevin Lawrence - New

Lester Leendertz

Bryan Mantle

Jack Morton

Bongani Ntshebe - New

Stephen Rex

Jurie Sadler

Faizel Samsoodien

Abdoellah Steenkamp

Irvin Van Kerwel

Phillip Vosloo

Laurance Willemse 

Jeff Wolhuter

National Match Referees Panel

Tiefie Barnes

Devdas Govindjee

Barry Lambson

Shahid Wadvalla

Read more on:    csa  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.