Australia in SA

Proteas win toss, opt to bowl in T20 decider

2020-02-26 17:35
Quinton de Kock (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - South Africa won the toss and decided to bowl in the decisive third and final Twenty20 international against Australia at Newlands on Wednesday.

LIVE | Proteas v Australia, 3rd T20I

With the series locked at 1-1, South Africa captain Quinton de Kock said the statistics showed it was better to bat second in day-night games at the ground.

"It looks dry but tonight under lights it should be a bit better (for batting)," he said of the pitch.

"Contrary to the stats, we would have batted first," said Australian captain Aaron Finch.

"We feel this is a lot drier than we have seen in the past. Hopefully we can post a big total and then defend it as it slows down later."

Australia were unchanged for the third game in a row as Steve Smith and David Warner return to the scene of 2018's sandpaper scandal.

Smith and Warner were captain and vice-captain two years ago when team-mate Cameron Bancroft was caught on television hiding a piece of yellow sandpaper in his trousers.

Batsman Heinrich Klaasen returned after injury for the hosts in place of Reeza Hendricks, with Rassie van der Dussen moving up to open the batting in place of Hendricks.


South Africa:

Quinton de Kock (captain, wicket-keeper), Faf du Plessis, Rassie van der Dussen, Heinrich Klaasen, Pite van Biljon, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi


David Warner, Aaron Finch (captain), Steven Smith, Matt Wade, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey (wicket-keepr),  Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Kane Richardson

Read more on:    australia  |  proteas  |  cape town  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.