Australia in SA

Dupavillon debuts as Proteas bowl first in Potch dead-rubber

2020-03-07 09:36
Quinton de Kock
Quinton de Kock (Gallo Images)

Proteas captain Quinton de Kock on Saturday won the toss and decided to bowl first in the final ODI against Australia at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom.

LIVE | Proteas v Australia, 3rd ODI

Both teams showed changes from the second match which South Africa won by six wickets in Bloemfontein on Wednesday to clinch the series.

South Africa included a new cap in fast bowler Daryn Dupavillon as well as Lutho Sipamla in place of Lungi Ngidi, who was rested, and left-arm spinner Tabraiz Shamsi, whose wife has given birth to the couple's first child.

Dupavillon, 25, from the Durban-based Dolphins franchise, was added to the squad because fellow fast bowler Beuran Hendricks was ill.

Australia made three changes to their bowling line-up with Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson and Josh Hazlewood replacing Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Ashton Agar.

Starc was released so that he could support his wife, Alyssa Healy, who is playing in the Women's T20 World Cup final against India in Melbourne on Sunday.

South African captain Quinton de Kock said he expected some help for the fast bowlers early on. 

"It looks a fresh wicket so there might be a bit of life this morning."

Australian captain Aaron Finch said he also would have bowled. 

"But I'm not too disappointed. There might be a bit of seam movement with the new ball but once we get through that we can post a good total," he said.

South Africa won the first match of the series by 74 runs in Paarl.


South Africa

Quinton de Kock (captain, wicketkeeper), Janneman Malan, Jon-Jon Smuts, Kyle Verreynne, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Daryn Dupavillon, Lutho Sipamla


Aaron Finch (captain), David Warner, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), D'Arcy Short, Kane Richardson, Jhye Richardson, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazelwood


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.