Australia in SA

SA celebrate winning a toss

2009-03-27 18:26
Robin Peterson (File)
Johannesburg - South Africa were figuratively popping open the champagne bottles after finally winning a toss against Australia, with captain Johan Botha deciding to chase in the first Standard Bank Pro20 international at the Wanderers.

Australia, who have rested middle-order batsmen Marcus North and Callum Ferguson, as well as their most successful limited-overs bowler, Nathan Bracken, willl bat first in perfect conditions and a capacity crowd at the Wanderers is expected to see the runs flowing.

Roelof van der Merwe and Yusuf Abdullah will have to wait for their first tastes of international action and will be carrying the drinks for South Africa along with Justin Ontong and Johann Louw.

South Africa will get their first look at Australian pacemen Brett Geeves and Shane Harwood.


South Africa - Herschelle Gibbs, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Mark Boucher, Albie Morkel, Robin Peterson, Johan Botha, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn.

Australia - David Warner, Brad Haddin, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, David Hussey, James Hopes, Cameron White, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Geeves, Shane Harwood.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Graeme Smith's shock decision to retire is...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.