Australia in SA

Proteas lose toss and bowl

2014-03-01 10:03
Michael Clarke (AP Photo)
Cape Town - Australia have won the toss and elected to bat in the series-deciding third Test against South Africa at Newlands on Saturday.

LIVE UPDATES: SA v Australia

South Africa captain Graeme Smith admitted he would have batted first as well on a wicket that is likely to get lower and slower as the game progresses.

Both sides have made two changes for a Test both captain's have claimed was among the biggest of their career.

South Africa have restored Alviro Peterson to their lineup after he missed the second Test through illness. He comes in for Quinton de Kock, who debuted in Port Elizabeth.

Fast bowler Kyle Abbott wins a second Test cap as a replacement for injured all-rounder Wayne Parnell, who misses out with a groin strain.

The 26-year-old Abbott made his Test debut against Pakistan in Pretoria last February, taking nine wickets for 68 runs in the match, but when the Proteas returned to the test arena in October, was not selected.

Abbott is the leading wicket-taker in the domestic four-day competition with 22 in five matches at an average of 13.

For Australia, Shane Watson has passed a fitness Test and makes his first appearance of the series after shaking off a calf injury, coming in for Shaun Marsh after the left-hander collected a pair of ducks in Port Elizabeth.

Paceman James Pattinson replaces Peter Siddle, having not played Test cricket since the Ashes series in England in July last year.


South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Alviro Peterson, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, JP Duminy, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Kyle Abbott.

Australia: Chris Rogers, David Warner, Alex Doolan, Michael Clarke (captain), Steve Smith, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, James Pattinson, Ryan Harris, Nathan Lyon

Read more on:    proteas  |  ozinsa  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Graeme Smith's shock decision to retire is...

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.