Australia crush Kent in tour opener

2015-06-28 18:32
Australian captain Michael Clarke. (AP)

Canterbury - Australia beat Kent by 255 runs in their Ashes tour-opener at Canterbury on Sunday.

Kent, set a target of 550 to win, were dismissed for 294 in their second innings on Sunday's fourth and final day.

Kent county's Daniel Bell-Drummond top-scored with 127 while the Australian leg-spinner Steven Smith took three wickets.

Australia have one more tour match, a four-day fixture against Essex at Chelmsford starting on Wednesday, before they begin the defence of the Ashes with the first Test against England in Cardiff on July 8.

The complete scoreboard:

Australia 1st Innings 507-8 dec (S Marsh 114, S Smith 111, C Rogers 84, M Clarke 56; M Hunn 5-99)

Kent 1st Innings 280 (R Key 87; M Johnson 4-56)

Australia 2nd innings (overnight: 322-4)

C. Rogers c sub (Weller) b Riley 45

M. Clarke c Harmison b Riley 47

S. Watson c sub (Weller) b Riley 81

M. Marsh retired out 101

B. Haddin not out 11

M. Johnson not out 27

Extras (b9, lb1) 10

Total (4 wkts dec, 62 overs) 322

Did not bat: S Marsh, S Smith, R Harris, P Siddle, F Ahmed

Fall of wickets: 1-91 (Rogers), 2-110 (Clarke), 3-263 (M Marsh), 4-290 (Watson)

Bowling: Claydon 8-2-25-0; Hunn 9-1-50-0; Thomas 15-2-64-0; Riley 19-2-114-3; Ball 5-0-39-0; Denly 6-2-20-0

Kent 2nd innings (target: 550)

D. Bell-Drummond lbw b Harris 127

J. Denly b Siddle 22

R. Key c Johnson b Ahmed 14

S. Northeast c Haddin b M Marsh 11

B. Harmison c Harris b Smith 31

S. Billings c S Marsh b Harris 3

A. Ball c Siddle b Smith 1

M. Claydon c Rogers b Ahmed 53

A. Riley c Watson b Johnson 0

M. Hunn not out 15

I. Thomas c S Marsh b Smith 0

Extras (b8, lb8, nb1) 17

Total (all out, 58.4 overs) 294

Fall of wickets: 1-55 (Denly), 2-84 (Key), 3-100 (Northeast), 4-193 (Bell-Drummond), 5-203 (Billings), 6-220 (Ball), 7-232 (Harmison), 8-233 (Riley), 9-284 (Claydon), 10-294 (Thomas)

Bowling: Harris 14-4-59-2; Johnson 12-4-29-1; Siddle 12-4-34-1; Ahmed 9-0-74-2; M Marsh 6-1-28-1 (1nb); Smith 5.4-0-54-3;

Result: Australia won by 255 runs

Toss: Kent

Umpires: Ben Debenham (ENG), Nigel Llong (ENG).


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.