Australia ask India to bat 1st

2015-01-26 06:47
Virat Kohli (AFP)

Sydney - Australia won the toss and elected to bowl in their tri-series one-day international against India at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Monday.

The start was delayed by persistent rain in Sydney, but no overs were docked from the length of the match.

George Bailey returned from a one-match suspension to lead a revamped Australian team, with Mitchell Marsh, Xavier Doherty, Josh Hazlewood and David Warner also into the side.

Missing from the side that beat England on Tuesday were Gurinder Sandhu, Cameron White, Moises Henriques and Pat Cummins.

India again were unable to consider Rohit Sharma due to injury and rested Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umesh Yadav, but recalled Ishant Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja.


Australia - George Bailey (capt), Aaron Finch, David Warner, Steve Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, James Faulkner, Brad Haddin, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Xavier Doherty.

India - Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Ambati Rayudu, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Stuart Binny, Akshar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami.

Umpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA), Paul Wilson (AUS)

TV umpire: Mick Martell (AUS)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    george bailey  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.