Aus beat India in nailbiter

2015-01-18 13:59
Australia's Brad Haddin shakes hands with James Faulkner after their ODI victory. (Theo Karanikos, AFP)

Melbourne - Aaron Finch made 96 on Sunday to lead Australia  to a six-wicket win over India in a tri-series one-day cricket match shaped by the innings of two opening batsmen.

Rohit Sharma earlier made 138, batting for 49 overs and adding 126 with Suresh Raina, to steer India to 267-8 as they batted first at the Melbourne Cricket Ground after winning the toss.

Mitchell Starc took a career-best 6-43 to limit India.

Australia's innings developed along strikingly similar lines: Aaron Finch opened and played the anchor, sharing a 101-run third-wicket partnership with Steve Smith that carried Australia within sight of victory.

Finch and Smith were out within three balls of each other around the 40th over and Australia lost two more wickets before it reached its target with an over to spare.


India Innings

Rohit Sharma c Maxwell b Starc 138

Shikhar Dhawan c Finch b Starc 2

Ajinkya Rahane c Haddin b Sandhu 12

Virat Kohli c Bailey b Faulkner 9

Suresh Raina c Maxwell b Starc 51

M.S.Dhoni b Starc 19

Akshar Patel lbw b Starc 0

Ravi Ashwin not out 14

Bhuvneshwar Kumar b Starc 0

Mohammed Shami not out 2

Extras (1b,3lb,15w,1nb) 20

TOTAL (for 8 wickets) 267

Overs: 50. Batting time: 236 minutes.

Fall of wickets: 1-3, 2-33, 3-59, 4-185, 5-237, 6-237, 7-262, 8-262.

Did not bat: Umesh Yadav.

Bowling: Mitchell Starc 10-2-43-6 (4w), Pat Cummins 10-0-52-0 (2w), Gurinder Sandhu 10-0-58-1 (3w), James Faulkner 10-0-63-1 (3w,1nb), Shane Watson 8-0-33-0 (3w), Glenn Maxwell 2-0-14-0.

Australia Innings

Aaron Finch c Dhoni b Yadav 96

David Warner c Raina b Yadav 24

Shane Watson b Patel 41

Steve Smith c Ashwin b Shami 47

Glenn Maxwell c and b Kumar 20

George Bailey std. Dhoni b Ashwin 5

Brad Haddin not out 13

James Faulkner not out 9

Extras (3lb,11w) 14

TOTAL (for 6 wickets) 269

Overs: 49. Batting time: 211 minutes.

Fall of wickets: 1-51, 2-115, 3-216, 4-219, 5-230, 6-248.

Did not bat: Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Gurinder Sandhu.

Bowling: Bhuvneshwar Kumar 9.5-0-44-1 (3w), Umesh Yadav 10-1-55-2 (4w), Mohammed Shami 8.1-0-44-1 (1w), Akshar Patel 10-0-45-1 (1w), Ravi Ashwin 9-0-54-1, Suresh Raina 2-0-24-0 (2w).

Result: Australia won by four wickets.

Toss: won by India.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena, Sri Lanka, and John Ward, Australia.

TV Umpire: Mick Martell, Australia. Match Referee: Andy Pycroft, Zimbabwe.

Read more on:    india  |  australia  |  melbourne  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.