England win toss and bat

2013-07-10 11:46
Alastair Cook (Gallo)
Trent Bridge - England captain Alastair Cook won the toss and elected to bat in the first Ashes Test despite overcast conditions at Trent Bridge on Wednesday as Australia sprang a major surprise by giving a debut to teenage spinner Ashton Agar.

The 19-year-old left-armer wasn't included in Australia's original squad and was only brought to England as a "development player" for the first two Tests in a bid to gain experience.

But Agar, who has taken 31 wickets in 10 first-class matches for Western Australia, forced his way in ahead of off-spinner Nathan Lyon as the tourists specialist slow bowler.

Also in Australia's side was batsman Steven Smith, again not included in the original tour party, having been drafted in as cover because of concerns over captain Michael Clarke's back injury.

Ed Cowan, who this season has played county cricket at Trent Bridge for Nottinghamshire, was picked as Australia's No 3 having lost his opening spot after new coach Darren Lehmann went with Shane Watson and Chris Rogers as his first wicket pair.

There was no place in the side for batsman David Warner banned by Australia until this match after his Birmingham bar room attack on England's Joe Root last month.

England left out seamers Tim Bresnan and Graham Onions from their 13-man squad with fast bowler Steven Finn included in their XI.

Yorkshire batsman Root was opening in a Test for the first time having previously played as a middle-order batsman.

Ashes-holders England are bidding for their third straight series win over Australia -- something they last achieved in the 1950s.


England - Alastair Cook (captain), Joe Root, Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Jonny Bairstow, Matt Prior (wicketkeeper), Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Steven Finn, James Anderson

Australia - Shane Watson, Chris Rogers, Ed Cowan, Michael Clarke (captain), Phil Hughes, Steve Smith, Brad Haddin (wicketkeeper), Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, James Pattinson, Ashton Agar

Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan), Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

Read more on:    england  |  ashes  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the 2019 edition of the Ashes?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.