Australian Open seeds named

2012-01-09 10:22
Novak Djokovic (AFP)

Melbourne - Australian Open organisers have stuck with convention and kept the seedings for the season's first major in line with WTA and ATP rankings, meaning Caroline Wozniacki will be top seed in the women's draw even if she loses top spot to Petra Kvitova at the Sydney International this week.

Defending champion Novak Djokovic is seeded No 1 in the men's draw, followed by Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer. Of the top 32 men, only Robin Soderling and Marin Cilic are absent.

Kvitova can move from No 2 to No 1 in the rankings by winning the Sydney International - where nine of the top 10 women are playing, including Wozniacki - but too late to affect Australian Open seedings list. All the top 32 women have entered the Melbourne draw.

Seedings for the Australian Open which gets under way in Melbourne on January 16.


1. Novak Djokovic (SRB)
2. Rafael Nadal (ESP)
3. Roger Federer (SUI)
4. Andy Murray (GBR)
5. David Ferrer (ESP)
6. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)
7. Tomas Berdych (CZE)
8. Mardy Fish (USA)
9. Janko Tipsarevic (SRB)
10. Nicolas Almagro (ESP)
11. Juan Martin Del Potro (ARG)
12. Gilles Simon (FRA)
13. Alexandr Dolgopolov (UKR)
14. Gael Monfils (FRA)
15. Andy Roddick (USA)
16. John Isner (USA)
17. Richard Gasquet (FRA)
18. Feliciano Lopez (ESP)
19. Viktor Troicki (SRB)
20. Florian Mayer (GER)
21. Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI)
22. Fernando Verdasco (ESP)
23. Milos Raonic (CAN)
24. Kei Nishikori (JPN)
25. Juan Monaco (ARG)
26. Marcel Granollers (ESP)
27. Juan Ignacio Chela (ARG)
28. Ivan Ljubicic (CRO)
29. Radek Stepanek (CZE)
30. Kevin Anderson (RSA)
31. Jurgen Melzer (AUT)
32. Alex Bogomolov Jr. (RUS).


1. Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
2. Petra Kvitova (CZE)
3. Victoria Azarenka (BLR)
4. Maria Sharapova (RUS)
5. Li Na (CHN)
6. Samantha Stosur (AUS)
7. Vera Zvonareva (RUS)
8. Agnieszka Radwanska (POL)
9. Marion Bartoli (FRA)
10. Andrea Petkovic (GER)
11. Francesca Schiavone (ITA)
12. Kim Clijsters (BEL)
13. Serena Williams (USA)
14. Jelena Jankovic (SRB)
15. Sabine Lisicki (GER)
16. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (RUS)
17. Peng Shuai (CHN)
18. Dominika Cibulkova (SVK)
19. Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS)
20. Flavia Pennetta (ITA)
21. Daniela Hantuchova (SVK)
22. Ana Ivanovic (SRB)
23. Julia Goerges (GER)
24. Roberta Vinci (ITA)
25. Lucie Safarova (CZE)
26. Kaia Kanepi (EST)
27. Anabel Medina Garrigues (ESP)
28. Maria Kirilenko (RUS)
29. Yanina Wickmayer (BEL)
30. Nadia Petrova (RUS)
31. Angelique Kerber (GER)
32. Monica Niculescu (ROM)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Which is your favourite Grand Slam of the year?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.