Tournament News

Warzone security for 2010

2009-12-07 09:47
Email | Print

Johannesburg - Many nations participating in the Soccer World Cup will use private security firms including warzone specialists who operate in Iraq and Afghanistan, the Pretoria News reported on Monday.

The specialists were meant to safeguard their players and officials.

Sources in the private protection industry said high-profile football associations from Europe and South America had already hired firms that would use ex-military personnel, some of them special forces veterans, to look after players and their families.

The firms would provide round-the-clock armed bodyguards, bullet-proof vehicles, hijack prevention advice and squads that could handle kidnap situations. Kidnap insurance was also offered by some agencies, the report said.

The revelations come amid fears there could be "gaps in the coverage" provided by the organisers.

A number of football associations from around the world and senior figures in international administrative circles had concerns sparked by alleged lapses at last summer's Confederations Cup, which was effectively a small-scale test event for 2010.

Your Comments

Ag man12/9/2009 5:09 PM
BTW @Pommie. Well lets not go into your country's state of affairs. You forgot to mention about the incidents in your country like the man who died from head injuries when fighting broke out between 50 rival football fans outside Gillingham's ground one Saturday evening and West Ham's Upton Park ground during a match against Millwall where a man was stabbed during the match. Not to mention how many English football hooligans are banned from attending matches in other countries. Ag this is just to mention a few. I have not even started. So lets face it all coutries have their problems hey! Please dont think that we are naive to think that your country is strewn with rose petals.
bee12/9/2009 4:47 PM
Really really fedup with all this negativity that surrounds SA. As if we are a violent lot. We are not. My mother went to London 5 years ago and her wallet got stolen from her bag. Nothing like this has ever happened to her in SA (touch wood).
Lerato12/8/2009 11:43 AM
Well said everyone since well most of you sound so negative theirs still nothing you can about the fact that we are the host..so for those who think theirs gona be Plan B for these world Cup might just migrate to Zimbabwe and no one will bother Them there.
What is wrong with our people12/7/2009 1:52 PM
There are people in Mzansi who want the next rugby world cup to be in South Africa, but for some reason that I do not understand they want Soccer world cup to fail. We hosted the 1995 rugby world cup, cricket world cup, 20/20 world cup, tri nations tournaments, Lions tour, IPL, England is currently in South Africa for their end of the year tour and not a single reporter wrote anything about how these players should were bullet proof vest and hire private companies. But when Man U, Man City, Confed Cup and now World Cup, ALL the reporters have something to write about how bad this country is. They are all of the sudden expects when it comes to crime. Join us as we celebrate this wonderful event, it comes once in a lifetime. Please calm the ****k down and be proud citizens of this country. Where is their Plan B now?
Johan12/7/2009 1:27 PM
Rubbish. We don't live in the most dangerous country. Back in the days during the war in the Lebanon one nearly got killed around every street corner even on peace talk days. The siege of Beirut taught me some valuable lessons. We in this country must stop sleepwalking & be aware what is going on around us. That way the criminal figures will be greatly reduced.
Well done Mzantsi!!12/7/2009 1:09 PM
@ Pommie…..The draw was well organised and we had lekker jol in long street. Give credit when it is due. I was there until after midnight with no incident. It was really a great experience seeing the country united and we all celebrated as one. There were where no blacks, whites, Indians, pinks, greens, etc. To me it was the best day in the cape. And once again Mzantsi proved themselves to be more than ready to host the world cup. I do not know anything about your two jorno and I am sure you are so happy that those two jorno were robbed (if that is true) and very disappointed that they did not die so that you can prove how dangerous this country is. To you and all your friends I say keep on hating this country but soon rather that later you will be joining us in celebrations. This article proves that the media is running out of bad things to write about. Mzantsi ROCKS!!
Sammy12/7/2009 1:02 PM
Eyoh, some people's children ne? If they want to spend that much money, then let them. I think that they're security's gonna be compromised wherever they go. I mean really......... If I saw david beckham, I'd steal him. lol
@realist12/7/2009 12:59 PM
I would stick to credible companies such as Forbes my friend and not fly by night websites that are just looking to make a quick buck through sensationalism. I'll stick to Forbes, thank you.
Claire12/7/2009 12:54 PM
If you google statistics for rape or homicide, South Africa come out tops. I live in South Africa and we do live in fear with our electrified fencing, alarms and living in a security complex. You are not even safe from the police if you read this new article: http://www.news24.com/Content/SouthAfrica/News/1059/d787302ff1e34dc0bb497f59ca1ff312/24-11-2009-07-28/Cop_rape_Husband_in_court
Kaizer Chief12/7/2009 12:48 PM
We all behave at our home games. Only some toilet seats get stolen.
Thato12/7/2009 12:29 PM
There's nothing wrong with that.SAPS confirme that there were 2 bomb scares on Friday during the draw.1st from our local prison,2nd one by a journalist.I have lost all respect for journalists especially in South Africa. - They are the ones always painting a gloomy picture about SA. Things are bad, but our hope that they'll become better must not be killed.
PAR12/7/2009 12:28 PM
I hope they are bringing some competant TRAFFIC COPS as I still believe it is more likely that these poor visitors will be wiped out in a car accident than killed in a crime incident. Mr. Ndebele and his entire crew should be fired - if I heard correctly, more people will be killed on our roads than die from aids. So can we stop having Aids day and start having People Maimed or Killed in road accidents by selfish a.. holes day instead.
realist12/7/2009 12:26 PM
Sam maybe you dont Google all that well so try this address istverse.com/2008/.../top-10-most-dangerous-places-on-earth/ -let me know what you find....
tmonty12/7/2009 12:24 PM
VIVA SA VIVA! VIVA SWC2010 VIVA! VIVA SA - 2010 SWC WINNERS VIVA!
AA12/7/2009 12:15 PM
@Amos: Your regime is not getting away with this! I am South African and anti-regime/anti-ANC and I will NEVER leave! Not even death camps like "Quatro" will deter me.
LADY WHO LOVES SOCCER12/7/2009 12:12 PM
Bogota, Baranquilla, Cartagena, and Medellin....are these places in South Africa and in which province might I ask
Jonathan12/7/2009 12:06 PM
Ha ha. Have you seen how easily a football player falls down - e.g. when gently nudged by an opponent... and then how they roll around in pain and anguish...These guys need all the protection they get.
sam12/7/2009 12:02 PM
Well I've just googled "most dangerous countries". South Africa is not mentioned on anyones list. I've had a look at the forbes list of most dangerous countries and also traveltowork.net. I think that if we as citizens broadcast to the world at every chance that we get that we live in the most dangerous country in the world then after a while they will start to believe it. Yes it is dangerous...yes it is unacceptable...but please don't start comparing our beautiful country with Iraq and Afganistan. A negative perception of our country will lead to decreased tourism, which leads to decreased gdp, which leads to decreased income per capita, which leads to lower living standards and greater poverty. Greater poverty leads to more crime...I'm sure you get the picture. So lets stop this negativity and start building a great country.
dumpie12/7/2009 11:59 AM
Counter-Terrorists win!
bradley K12/7/2009 11:51 AM
Counter-terrorists win!
Poacher12/7/2009 11:50 AM
It's because this lame duck government allows every criminal and its dog to effortlessly stroll into the country and create havoc. We'' ma see what happens when the foreigner fans arrive ;)
Fizz12/7/2009 11:46 AM
Maybe its not ONLY about the crime in SA. it has happened that terrorists have targeted sporting events, 1972 Olympics in Munich and more recently the attack on the Sri Lankan cricket team come to mind. The Football world cup is the biggest sporting event of all. And given how easy it is to enter south africa (ask any Zimbabwean you know), it could be easier to perform a terror attack in SA than say england, USA, france or anywhere else for that matter. Maybe security companies are taking into account that Security is not only about crime and since our borders and passport control in this country is as good as our governments effort to deter crime, I would be more worried about Osama Bin Laden than Ananais Mathe during the world cup.
Moggymel12/7/2009 11:35 AM
doesnt matter where the SWC is being held...if anyone of the players and their families had half a peanut, they would protect themselves with bodyguards etc. I mean really...who's going to be doff enough not to? for heavens sake..we live in a wild world..and that applies to every blinking country! why be BraveFart...not gonna help you when u dead
Reader12/7/2009 11:30 AM
Quoted from www.associatedcontent.com/article/159175/top_5_most_dangerous_countries_in_the_pg2_pg2.html?cat=9 It is ranked first in rapes per capita amongst the whole world and has a notorious record for car hijacking. The problem is so severe, that women are allowed to speed through red lights to avoid being car hijacked, or worse. One of its capitals, Johannesburg, is the most dangerous, with almost all middle-class and high-class families carrying weapons merely for protection. Peter Murgatroyd, resident of Cape Town, says "As a 30 year old born in SA spending most of my life here, I have stab wounds in my back, a few times I've had a gun shoved in my face, my car and house broken several times and I purchased another 'security' product this week. Enough said." (BBC.com) South Africa averages 50 murders a day in a nation of 47 million. Bogota, Baranquilla, Cartagena, and Medellin are statistically categorized as the most dangerous cities, with Medellin holding the title of the Drug Capital and "Most Dangerous City in the World." With 11 murders a day in a city of merely 2 million, its murder rates is quintupled that of New York City. In recent years, murders rates in Colombia have dropped, but not enough to pass the title to South Africa.
Amos12/7/2009 11:29 AM
Michael Brink where do you get you statistics. veryconcerned thanks for cancelling. a plane might just land on top of your house with all your family in it.
pommie12/7/2009 11:23 AM
Well done Mzantsi.....What about the 2 overseas jornos that were robbed at the draw ?
jp12/7/2009 11:22 AM
Most dang cities in the world .1) Mogadishu, Somalia 2. Ciudad Juarez, Mexico 3. Linfen, China 4. Caracas, Venezuela 5. Detroit, U.S.A.6. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 7. Johannesburg, South Africa 8. Norilsk, Russia (in Siberia) 9. Saskatoon, Canada 10. London, U.K. Now can i ask the question do you take your own armed gards to Rio or the USA or London??
BRET12/7/2009 11:21 AM
If i was a tourist or touring team I also wouldn't have confidence in our secrurity or policing service. In South Africa a cellphone is worth more than your life..!! Citizens should also get this kind of protection.
Bagdaddy12/7/2009 11:18 AM
TRUE FACTS... Security Experts from around the world often comment that we as South AFricans live in a society where we have become desensitised about what hapens around us every day. We live in fear.. behind walls & fences.. we rubberneck against smash & grabs at the trafficlights.. we cover our actions at the auto teller and we walk around hoping to see a cop if we are out at night. The areas around the "green zones" in Iraq and Afganistan are much safer o be in than South Africa. CRIME IS OUT OF CONTROL... and the severity of the crimes is on the increase !! I dont care wether you are white , black , coloured or asian.... criminals are ruling this country... Politics and the failures of this goverment and the previous goverment has done little to stop them Crime will become more sophisticated closer to 2010 and we (SA Police etc) are in for a huge suprise. Crime in South AFrica is not a race thing... it is a lack of respect thing !! The police and the justice system have no answer for the cruelyt used in some attacks.. guns are everywhere and criminals are laughing at the system that does not put them behind bars where they belong. The time for all South Africans to stand together and report crimes is here.. STOP BICKERING ABOUT RACE>> COLOUR>>> OLD MISSHAPS AND THE SHORTCOMINGS OF EVERYONE IN CHARGE. Stand up and support the system to get better... Security companies will make money.. foreigners are scared of what they read and YES..WE DO LIVE IN A SOCIETY THAT IS MORE VIOLENT THAN SOME WAR TORN COUNTRIES.
Ruffdog12/7/2009 11:14 AM
Hey, suggested Executive Outcomes a couple years ago and was shot down by associates saying that the Government had it completely under control...ok EO might be a bit extreme but bring in a group of professionals that are not connected to Government and existing structures - maybe we can get BOPE over from Sao Paulo to deal effectively with orgainised crime, anyway too little too late - Death Sentence ?
"Go figure"12/7/2009 11:13 AM
That is good for business, is it not?
Amos12/7/2009 11:11 AM
1. This article is baseless 2. Bring your warzone security, they are no match for our criminals anyway 3. Crime happens anywhere. Dont come and tell me that tourists are not used to crime. 4. We are hosting the World Cup whether you like it or not. Leave South Africa if you think ANC turned this country bad.
Google12/7/2009 11:03 AM
Just google: most dangerous countries. See what pops up. Then decide if their actions are justified.
Houston12/7/2009 11:00 AM
I fail to see the problem here, so what if the teams want to protect themselves - cricket teams travelling to pakistan take their own security. Every tourist website in the world cuations you when travelling to SA, this is nothing new. Let the teams provide additional security, it will help everyone involved
Guy12/7/2009 10:57 AM
hahahahahahhahahahahahahahaha................. Really? over exagerating? We have highly trained criminals running into malls with high calibre automatic weapons........ Gangs that use advanced tactics to rob, assutl and kill, spiked chains and ambushes to stop armoured vehicles...... we're not in a war zone? I think we've just become so used to it that we think they're over exagerating. Yet it isn't happening in those countries......... We arn't talking about the single thief who muggs you, or the two guys who hi-jack you. We're talking about the large, well equipped, organised gangs here. Do you really think they'd pass up the opportunity to get at some of those big names?
Michael Brink12/7/2009 10:57 AM
Greg, we ARE in a war zone. More people die violent deaths every day in South Africa than those in Iraq and Afghanistan combined. You should better wake up and smell the roses before you too become a statistic! You want to survive in this place, better call up the old Police and Army, - they had a clue what they were doing.
Well done Mzantsi12/7/2009 10:55 AM
I thought today the headlines will be how SA hosted the best world cup draw ever. With no single incident happened. What a Friday in Cape Town! I am even more proud to be an African. But our media are doing it again, trying their best to discredit Mzantsi. Once again we have proved the doomsayers wrong; it is just that they don’t want to eat their humble pies. We will host the best world cup ever in 2010. Keep on hating this country…. MZANTSI ROCKS!!
veryconcerned12/7/2009 10:42 AM
well thanks i have just cancelled my whole familys tickets we are from america
Mxolisi Selby Shabangu12/7/2009 10:42 AM
David Beckham was in Cape town last week and he condcuted Sporting Clinics in Khayelitsha. I think we should ask him if this security companies are really needed or its just a money making scheme intended to make rich western security companies and discredit South Africa, South Africa is not warzone so please stop discrediting our country
Braq12/7/2009 10:40 AM
All of these articles on the expected crime during the world cup, and all of the comments that follow are really starting to become predictable, boring, and unproductive. If people put as much effort in building the country as they do in complaining about it it would be a different place. I guarantee there will now be an argument in these comments about whether or not tourists coming for the world cup will be murdered or not. Lets get some more positive articles about the world cup please.
XX12/7/2009 10:39 AM
Maybe someone knows something the general popu don't know...
THE BEAST12/7/2009 10:32 AM
Last week reports were to the effect that RSA would draw against an easy group, it didnt happen as we will be facing France, Mexico and Uraguay. Now this article surfaces. In this article, one fails to see any comments from associations of such teams. I fail to understand why is our media so hellbent on seeing the SWC 2010 fail. Baseless articles like this one also surfaced prior to the Confederations Cup, and guess what, the Confederations Cup was a success. The SWC is also gonna be a success whether our media likes it or not. Crime is a serious problem. There is a need to deal with it. We need to find solutions to it. Not worsen the sutuation by publishing articles aimed at discrediting our country. It does not help anyone but helps the selfserving interests of the medial houses to make profits through sensationalist misinformation.
chez12/7/2009 10:31 AM
Private security companies can see all the money they could make from these silly people and are going to make the problems in this country sound so much worse. This is their opportunity and they will seize it with both hands. If the participating countries are too stupid to see that then so be it. I know people in that industry and they are laughing all the way to the bank.
Christine12/7/2009 10:31 AM
Good thinking for all these footballer prima donnas. It means it will leave the SA police to look after the normal citizens. We will never feel so safe as we will do when the world cup is on. Lets hope the experience gained during that time will continue well after the games are finished because once they come face to face with what true football hooliganism is all about it will scare even the SA police. Go safe and enjoy the games
Filmho12/7/2009 10:29 AM
The fact that we've become so desensitized to the high levels of crime within our borders doesn't take away from the fact that we have a serious problem as seen from an outside perspective. The reality is that stats reveal safety & security in SA is comparable to nations in the midst of internal and external conflicts.
Gerhard 12/7/2009 10:28 AM
Tsula my dear friend, have you ever been too the West or for that matter to Japan in the far east?? The governments of these countries have not failed the people and can therefore provide sufficient security for players, officials and supporters. You can't blame them for taking measures to secure their own safety. What you should really be doing is to look at your own government and blame them for their shortcomings and not blame innocent people who want visit the country and pump money into the economy. Then again, if all Africans had these views, Africa would be a better continent, but it isn't. Please comprehend.......
Loopy12/7/2009 10:27 AM
Great, so all the non-South Africans have protection... what about us people who LIVE in South Africa? If its that bad then WHY are we living in SA? Please catch a wake up and realise the crime happens to each other, by each other....
Karen12/7/2009 10:26 AM
They carry on like it is a 'war zone' because we have crime stats that are equal to that of a war zone. The difference is, we South Africans know the crime, and expect it and understand it. Tourists wont know what to expect and will be easy targets. We live with it every day, while they are ignorant to it. So why not give them protection because we already have our own knowledge and experience as protection.
GC12/7/2009 10:22 AM
Sad but true, today according to statistics 50 of our citizens will die violently(20k per year), much more than in Afganistan which is a warzone. Wake up and smell the anc
Steve12/7/2009 10:19 AM
Why all the fuss? South Africa is such a safe place to live in. Virtually no crime to talk of, and what an efficient police and defence force. I think it's as a result of the Apartheid Regime, that ousiders have this impression of our beloved country. Let's convince them otherwise. Convince them to stroll around at night with their cameras slung over their shoulders, and see if anything happens.
Gerhard 12/7/2009 10:18 AM
Tsula my dear friend, have you ever been too the West or for that matter to Japan in the far east?? The governments of these countries have not failed the people and can therefore provide sufficient security for players, officials and supporters. You can't blame them for taking measures to secure their own safety. What you should really be doing is to look at your own government and blame them for their shortcomings and not blame innocent people who want visit the country and pump money into the economy. Then again, if all Africans had these views, Africa would be a better continent, but it isn't. Please comprehend.......
Dizz12/7/2009 10:12 AM
There you have it. This is how the world see SA.
Dave12/7/2009 10:11 AM
It is so sad that it has to come to this , everyone should feel safe when they come to SA . its an embarresment to us, but the criminals dont give a damn ,
had enough12/7/2009 10:11 AM
And this is how the world sees South Africa. Thank you ANC for turning a beautiful country into another African disgrace
GT12/7/2009 10:11 AM
There is no question that the security industry are driving the fears. As always, just follow the money. They are the only ones who get to gain from this nonsense. Crime is a reality, but who is going to protect the stupid tourist caught in a township knife fight at 1am after hours in the shebeen soaking up local culture. If tourists stick to the sensible locations and don't flash their bling, they have nothing to worry about
Larry12/7/2009 10:10 AM
It appears that the world is not taken in by the spin and Bull***t put out be our fearless (Bodyguard protected) Leaders.
LADY WHO LOVES SOCCER12/7/2009 10:05 AM
Haibo....is South Africa so bad that they need to bring in personnel from Iraq and Afghanistan
thusla12/7/2009 10:02 AM
The west will do anything discredit anything that is done by non westerners. Look what they did to China in the olympics? Yes we have a seriuos crime problem,but protecting them as they are in a war zone? i dont think is necessary
Glen12/7/2009 10:00 AM
This is pathetic, it really is.
Discworld...12/7/2009 9:59 AM
Bheki Cele your big mouth and Gucci shoes obviously didnt impress these people. Substance vs style, check your job description and work out the difference, if you need help ask anyone not connected to the ANC.
Citizen12/7/2009 9:57 AM
We are too often being told lately about extra security for 2010 visitors. Why are ordinary citizens not being given this extra security with immediate effect? It is us that has to face crime on a daily basis. Why must we wait until June 2010? Why not give us the extra security with immediate effect? Please consider our own citizens also.
Greg12/7/2009 9:56 AM
Thats pulling the ring out of it totally, they carry on like we are in a main war zone... Knobs
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Updated: Hottest SWC WAGs

Updated: Hottest SWC 2010 WAGs

Logs
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team
Vote

World Cup 2010 is over and the country is returning to normal - but have you moved on yet?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.