Tournament News

Six more teams arrive in SA

2010-06-06 18:49

Johannesburg - Six more soccer teams have arrived in South Africa on Sunday for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, the National Organising Committee (OC) said.

Chief executive officer, Dr Danny Jordaan welcomed Greece, Japan, Netherlands, Portugal, Chile and New Zealand in the country.

"With the football stars now arriving in the country, we are really starting to feel the excitement. The World Cup has well and truly landed," he said in a statement..

Greece will play its opening game against Korea Republic in Nelson Mandela Bay on June 12 while Portugal is expected to play against Cote d'Ivoire on June 15 at the same venue.

Japan will play on June 14 against the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon in Mangaung and Netherlands will play against Denmark in Johannesburg on the same day.

New Zealand will open its tournament against Slovakia in Rustenburg on June 15 while Chile challenges Honduras on June 16 in Nelspruit.

Read more on:    new zealand  |  greece  |  japan  |  netherlands  |  chile  |  portugal


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Updated: Hottest SWC WAGs

Updated: Hottest SWC 2010 WAGs


World Cup 2010 is over and the country is returning to normal - but have you moved on yet?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.