Tournament News

Price hike for soccer fans

2010-07-21 08:27
Email | Print

Johannesburg - South African soccer fans will be expected to pay significantly more for their Premier Soccer League ticket this season, when attending a match at one of the country's World Cup stadiums.

Low ticket prices, as have been the norm in the past, wouldn't come close to covering the cost of maintaining the state of the art facilities, which would cost clubs in the region R500 000 a day to rent.

South African Football Association chief executive Leslie Sedibe told a parliamentary committee on sport and recreation on Tuesday that it is important for the development of the local game to raise the prices.

He said: "People need to understand ... we will have to revisit these issues around ticket prices if we are serious about development, because that is where the money is going to come from."

The South African government spent an estimated $1.3bn building and upgrading the 10 stadiums scattered around the country and are now frantically trying to find tenants to take them on.

Rugby and Cricket unions have been approached to switch their traditional home grounds for the new arenas but are reluctant to move as their current stadiums are far cheaper to maintain.

The Springboks have been scheduled to face New Zealand in a Tri-Nations encounter at Soccer City on August 21st while Durban's Moses Mabhida Stadium will play host to a Twenty20 cricket match between South Africa and India at the beginning of 2011 but similar pay-days are not expected to prove as easy to book for the more stadiums of Rustenburg and Polokwane.

Graham Mackenzie, a member of parliament, speaking at Tuesday's meeting added that it is imperative for SAFA to meet with rugby and cricket bosses immediately.

"We have magnificent stadiums and at the moment they are ranked No. 1 in the world.

"If we engaged other sports, we can ensure we don't have a legacy of 'white elephants."

Even the wealthy Orlando Pirates and rivals Kaizer Chiefs have refused to move into Soccer City although Ajax Cape Town have reportedly shown an interest in taking up occupancy in the Mother City's impressive stadium. 

Your Comments

marau babalwa8/3/2010 10:57 AM
increase the ticket price and you will be sitting alone at the stadiums. I will be forced to install DSTV because SABC itself is useless with no proper management excpet fighting f or positions to enrich themselves whilst f orgetting the poor of the poorest who pay tv licensis
Lagash8/3/2010 9:46 AM
PSL and SAFA have no shame. How many years of experience do you need to implement a minor system such as seat allocation when one buys a tciket to a Soccer game. I bought 4 tickets for the SA -Ghana games and there were no seat allocated. What is wrong with you guys? Do you think I would ever go to the Statdium again if my family and I can not sit next to each other?. Do you guys really have to be educated to get things right or what? Am really dissapointed in your Technical and Event Management teams. All you fight for in this country is position , position and positions but when it comes to delivery you are pathetic. You always complain about Rugby but to be honest, there is no way you can compare the Organisation of Rugby games to soccer, can some one tell me how much it woyuld cost just to print seat numbers on the tickets. Soccer in this country is going no where since we have higly incompetent and narrow m inded guys who only think about enriching their pockets and and nothing else in leadership positions. Worried citizen
stanana7/26/2010 3:59 PM
What developments are we talking abt coz we have psl, mvela, sab league, vodacom, tertiary league, school league and even soccer academies. wht else do we want
frans7/24/2010 8:04 AM
how can uneployed south africans buy expensive tickets while they don't have food and place to sleep?go on incease prizes then we will sit at home and watch on useles sabc.wake up fat cats people don't have money like you.
Dave7/23/2010 2:51 PM
Gregg the only reason the rugby is 'sold out' is because they only released 40 000 tickets, they held the rest back and will release those at a later date...
Gregg7/23/2010 12:19 PM
Bafana is playing on the 11th August at Soccer City and they have not sold half the tickets yet, Springboks play on the 21st August and it is sold out. The income from the bafana game when sold out will be 4 million the income from the Springbok game will be 40 million. The people who complain about the R50 rand spend more on alcohol on that day. I think if Lions rugby was doing better they would have taken Soccer city as their home ground but while they not pulling the crowds they can not.
Haroun Moolla7/22/2010 9:51 AM
what about thde R 1 billiuon expected from FIFA.that must pay for develoipment and not fill the back pockets of safa officials
mike7/22/2010 9:33 AM
lets c in 2 years.and now they want the olympics.too
Fani Nkwinika7/22/2010 9:11 AM
Local team like Sundowns are relocating back to their shack stadium in Mamelodi. If the the price hike hit the pockets of the money magnate non of the PSL teeam will stand for it unless each team have the sposor specifical for playin venues---------which is highly impossible
FIRE7/22/2010 9:08 AM
Plz stop saying the goverment spent , its our tax that is doing . Our same tax money that built the roads that they now want to charge us for - This is robbery in any langauge zulu sotho english afrikaans. Goverment is always looking for money funny how they manage to fund to buy cars lavish accomadation list goes on & on - Thieves
KG-Blue4Eva7/22/2010 5:42 AM
we can just do like Korea/Japan & breakdown some of the unused stadiums that will cost us & arm & a leg to finance & though the local soccer game has picked up, it is still far from being as attractive to many people cause of 1 simple things . . .GOALS!!!! our players r so inconsistent when it comes to that we have to get strikers from other countries to come score & we still award players for scoring only 15goals in a 30game season, how's that suppose to be inspiring, we need to start using the same administrational techniques as those used by rugby...i may not be a fan but you can see the level of work that goes in 2 making it possible & the results speak 4 themself when it comes to the matches, if we can get politics(greedy money mongers,lack of care 4 development,etc) out of football thingswould be great but sadly that's like drawing blood from a stone. . .SAFA or SUFFER as we call it is not the way forward with their mentality.
david7/22/2010 1:03 AM
I think all south Africans must get a life and go to a PSL game. We had a great world cup, and now we must support the future. Take your kids, they will love it.
Dont lie please7/21/2010 5:35 PM
eish dont lie to us, Rustenburg stadium or Bafokeng stadium to be correct, was existing long before the world cup and was not purpose built for world cup. They had less than R500 million injection from LOC just to make renovations here and there. It remains the property of bafokeng, who i must add, dont want a cent from soccer supporters to make it work, they have enough billions as it is mister. Ya maybe you can talk of Mbombelas, Peter Mokabas, Greenpoint and stadium like that, not Bafokeng stadium in the same sentence.
LBS7/21/2010 4:16 PM
Why say $ instead of R ? We are in S.A. hello! R500K to hire the stadium for a wedding? Just watch the fat cats in parliament just doing that!
@BENNI7/21/2010 3:32 PM
FYI, BOOZE is better than watching Black Leopards vs Vasco Da Gama
Melanie7/21/2010 3:12 PM
Would be nice if they could give us information on the SA vs Ghana game ticketing prices as well as when bookings open. The more fans the better the vibe and more support the teams will get - they need to make the games "family friendly", so we can take the whole family along.
Cranky7/21/2010 3:00 PM
Let's see: @Bafana - it's not R1.3 Billion, it's US DOLLAR 1.3 Billion!!!! Cape Town stadium is being rented out at the princely sum of R1 per year to the management consortium...30% of any profits to go to the province... do you think it'll make ANY profit at all? Rates and taxes have already been raised to increase revenue to fund the huge bill of building the new R5 Billion Cape Town stadium. Went up by 25% as from 1 July 2010. Since we as taxpayers have already paid for the stadiums, maybe we should get the first 3 games free of charge, at the very LEAST!!! Try that FIRST to increase attendance and stimulate interest in soccer, BEFORE you talk about raising prices. Do it the way the normal business's work - hook 'em, then fleece them. You can then set prices to half of what it currently is for the next 3 games and only then back to the current price for the next 3. Then, and only then will you be able to judge the level of interest in soccer.
hateFaTCats7/21/2010 2:57 PM
SAFA , is controlled by dictators, fat cats , who don't give a flying f..k about development , improving the football experience or football , only about the next pay out .It is a little click , including Orlando and Kaiser chiefs heads. It does not matter what we say .... if there is no change at the top the staduims will become under used and get neglected
Gosiame7/21/2010 1:05 PM
The reality is we need commitement from soccer teams in the PSL to start inversting money in building thier own stadia.What happened to Chiefs's stadium plans.This will at the end generate revanue, grow the brand and can also go a long way in the call for PSL team's investment in development.
RIBIE7/21/2010 12:44 PM
i think the only way to keep all the stadiums busy is to take all knouckout competition to those stadium. we do away with the home & away game. just like the world cup. we do a draw at the beginning of the tournament & deciede were the last 16 will be played. semi final, quater final & final never mind which team will be playing. The PSL will have to see to it that stadiums like peter Mokaba & nelspruit one are used during this knockout competition
half a brain7/21/2010 12:30 PM
I hope that Craig's tongue is firmly in his cheek - otherwise we can add another one to the JuJu braindead band . Hiring of function venues is one revenue stream that is available - and of course there will be hiring rates based on size of venue .
Cas7/21/2010 12:24 PM
These guys must really think that we are the most stupidest people on the planet. Firstly SAFA/ PSL the demand for a product determines the price. SA soccer as a product is not that attractive to be compared with Rugby or other leagues around the world. FYI Rugby Unions can charge R500 a ticket because they have a market, and NO!!! its not only whites that buy Rugby tickets. Furthermore each rugby union set they own prices for example Blue Bull supporters pays more for a game then Cheetahs. Secondly this guy talks about it cost R500 000 to rent a stadium. Now if a soccer team attracts a crowd of 50000 and charge R25 they will make R1,25 m. That a good return isn’t it?.Thirdly what’s typical in RSA is that these guys will tell you that prices will increase to for example to R100 , what normally happens is that we complain then they come back and OK R40 and then we say OK at least its not R100.We are still screwed. Does this not smell like another ESKOM.
O7/21/2010 12:10 PM
@Me ..Don't bother by trying to educate the people who jump in pouring water in whatever is being said...
Richard7/21/2010 12:02 PM
Simple economics - if the stadium costs R500,000 for the day, you put on a brilliant game and charge a fair price, you get 50,000 people to the game and that means R10 per ticket to cover the stadium cost. You put on rubbish, charge too much and only draw 5,000 people to the game that's R100 per ticket. Increase prices by all means but you'd better make the experience worthwhile so that people still come to watch...
Craig7/21/2010 11:29 AM
Oh now I understand the comment about using the new stadiums for all occasions including weddings. R500k for a wedding venue is a little expensive!
ntsako7/21/2010 11:01 AM
Loc u get paid to organise then do it,your buddies fifa has made a huge profit at our expense and they are gone.will be lucky if we even get a percent of that profit.pleasing the world with our tax money.
shutTheFuckup7/21/2010 10:59 AM
They are expecting us to pay high prices for K** football. Imagine Black Leopards and Golden Arrows my word! f*** me and call me rose
Mr R7/21/2010 10:56 AM
How about droping the prices inorder to get more people to attend. If you play a good match, more people will want to attend. No one supports a loosing team.
Ama Gents7/21/2010 10:53 AM
If you hike the price, people will not be able to afford it. These days very few people are intreseted in South African soccer. So don't allow the stadiums to become a "white elephant" and result into a squatter camp
Vincent7/21/2010 10:41 AM
It would be justified if the quality and standard of football lives up to what you supposed to pay. Football shoud take a leaf out of rugby and see how well it is being marketed and the quality received by the patrons. Large sums of money is also pumped into developing rugby starting at grass roots. Soccer with the R1 billion it is about to be receiving should be put into a trust account with very strict rules mainly for development. If the big BOYS were serious about the game they sould even take drastic drop in salaries or do service to the country gratis. I am very worried about the R1 billion rand as I fear it has already been shared out.
ProudSAcan7/21/2010 10:38 AM
Charity begins at home and its funny how many stupid people are only now complaining about Vuvuzela.But I guess only those people who arent really interested in SA soccer can talk such rubbish.Rus Dumisani continue watching your English soccer which is dominated by foreign players, the same country which always promises so much but deliver too little. There are real, passionate and patriotic SAcans who will attend the local games and do indeed make it success just like the world cup.
skillie7/21/2010 10:31 AM
The FUNNIEST part of the article whcih i think you all missed..... Even orlando pirates sand Kaizer chiefs dont want to relocate to soccer city.. THE HOME OF SOCCER!!! hahahaha and now the labelled (by Butana Kompelo) racist rugby and cricket teams are approached to take up a new home. I say SAFA needs to step up and face facts.. soccer is nowwhere integrated as rugby and cricket is. Rainbow nation with a all black soccer team... where are the coloureds, indians and whites (BOOOOTH) in the team!!
motala7/21/2010 10:29 AM
As was seen by myself during the SWC, majority of the crouds were affluent people who could afford 2 watch more than 1 game. Increase your prices to KAK PSL matches & u'll c worse croud attendance, cause majority of the PSL support comes from the poor. So much for soccer development.
Benni7/21/2010 10:28 AM
South Africans are stingy. We dont want to pay more for tickets but we spend almost R 1,400.00 a week on booze alone. Eish le stingy guys.
motala7/21/2010 10:26 AM
Increase the prices & get lower croud turnouts, as it is the only matches that have sellout crouds are from the BIG 3 & we all know who they are. This price increase are to fill the coffers of the greedy & nothing more. Hopefully it will not materialise cause the croud turnout will be negetive. As it is majority of soccer supporters are the poor & they'll never afford another price hike.
Dumisani7/21/2010 10:19 AM
Funny indeed. Better to watch English League on DSTV than to go and lose your hearing to noisy vuvuzelas and watch poor class football. Mark my words, no one will go to watch this nonsense. And please, lets not blame the white man for this. We run the soccer dont we.
Lily White7/21/2010 10:13 AM
@brownman - ROFL!!! Nice. You crack me up! Funny, but very accurate statement nonetheless. As it is, PSL games are badly attended. Raise the prices and you will probably get even less attendance. I agree with most here that SAFA/Government should have had a plan for these stadiums post world cup before embarking on building them. What's next? Air passengers will be charged more for the airports? Especially the Durban one which was not just revamped, but is a new airport? This kind of lack of foresight and total disregard(for the poor taxpayer/consumer) is what gives our government/officials a bad name. And I must say, well deserved at that.
@fakkinSedibe7/21/2010 10:13 AM
You blokes hide behind development while you become fat cats chowing the cash straight into your own pockets......disgusting.....SA has a lot of money and relatively state of teh art infrastrucure compared to many African countries, but it doesn't show because you SAFA are a bunch of lazy fat cats....
DILLIGAF7/21/2010 10:10 AM
Maybe they should look at the improving the product on offer before increasing prices. I would not pay R50.00 to watch local football in any of these awesome stadiums. Wake up SAFA, the world cup is over and now the very same stadiums you were so proud are not even able to sustain themselves, so you have to look at other sports codes. Maybe this should have been addressed before spending billions.
Bafana7/21/2010 10:08 AM
Spent R1.3bn of TAXpayers money to build & upgrading. After all is been done what do Taxpayers receive??????
Me7/21/2010 10:08 AM
Do you okes actually know how much a ticket is at the moment? A Bafana ticket before the WC was around R40. A local game can be around R25. World class stadiums or not the money coming in from gate receipts needs to be considerably higher if you want any form of development. Raising the prices is a necessary step, would suggest that proper marketing and distribution of tickets (computicket basically) would be a decent step forward as well if you want the number of people to increase. The local game is actually pretty good - when was the last time you sat down and watched a game?
Harold7/21/2010 10:07 AM
Higher ticket prices will lower the attendances and I don't see how teams would then afford the stadiums. How did they arrive at a figure R500k a day for the hire of the stadiums when some teams cannot guarentee a good crowd. Hell some stadiums like Moses Madiba do not even have a team that can use the facility.
Bazooka7/21/2010 10:02 AM
People should be ashamed of theselves calling our own soccer as k**. As a South African what are you doing to improve our soccer standard. Price should be increased reasonable not drastically.
themba7/21/2010 9:56 AM
as long as we will be be safe and well intertained at stadiums, money is not a problem, but also think for those who are the most poorest. to add --/+R10 is enough.
JD7/21/2010 9:55 AM
It is widely reported in the Cape Newspapers that the Cape Town staduim will make no money in the next 3 years best case scenario break even, but to do that they need at least 20 000 supporters per soccer game, both Ajax and Santos must make it their home staduim as well as western Province rugbe plus a few international gigs and games then they might reach break even, chances of this 0. the shortfall will have to be taken by the municipality which will pass it on to the taxpayer, this could be up to 30 million a year, makes you think...
Emohex7/21/2010 9:54 AM
@Amasocca, I disagree completely that the south african soccer public can't afford to have the prices raised a bit to attend football matches... rubbish!!. Increasing prices are a reality in the world we live in. deal with it. Those same 'dirt poor' fans can be spotted spending a lot of money at shebeens or at the local chesa nyama- the question is what is the best use of one's money? So while we accept that prices must go up, the psl must also come to the party and start producing better quality football... at the level it is now, I bet they couldn't fill the stadiums if entrance to stadiums was free..
ching7/21/2010 9:42 AM
They expect the fans to pay more yet pay themselves R10m bonuses each for doing their jobs! what nonsense!
SoccerFan7/21/2010 9:37 AM
what's the point of hiking ticket prices if there is no demand for them?
Thabo seleke7/21/2010 9:36 AM
To be honest I cant say Im suprised, when the questions were asked about building infrastructure for the World Cup and the maintance of it thereof, answers were that the SWC will help fast track infrastructure that would have taken years to build, the WC would help make it happen sooner. And now we have to pay to maintain the infrastructure, look at the roads being tolled on the new highways, why must maintaining this infrastructure come from our pockets? When the money to build them came from
CR97/21/2010 9:31 AM
I don't see the point of even going to PSL games,They are boring as f**k!The scores always end up 1 nil or a nil nil draw.I'd much rather stay home & watch the world's best in La Liga,English Premiership or Serie A.South African football is nowhere!End of story!
Greg7/21/2010 9:30 AM
Prepare to loose out to TV.
Dylan7/21/2010 9:23 AM
We need to get behind our soccer teams, the only way the soccer will get better depends on the support they have. A full stadium definitely takes the game to a new level. I live in Cape Town and i would go watch AJAX CT because they are our team. Just like Chelsea, Man U, etc. I don't know why we settle for watching the games on a TV when we could watch them right here, in our very own stadiums!
mouthpiece7/21/2010 9:21 AM
What was the LOC's plans after the World Cup. Surely they submitted something to parliament. They failed to plan and now they're r planning to fail. I'm tired of SAFA's mishaps!
Amos7/21/2010 9:13 AM
"it is important for the development of the local game to raise the prices"...correction you idiot It is important for the development of the game to raise the standard of football.
Simple Simon7/21/2010 9:13 AM
No good raising the price of tickets if you get less people attending the game. Need to make going to the game attractive to the whole family and you will not achieve this if ticket prices too high
Bonnie7/21/2010 9:11 AM
Well maybe if FIFA paid over the 62 Million Odd it could cover the small percentage that the stadiums cost to build and then ticket prices could be reasonable as it would be only paying for upkeep....Oh I forgot...Some government official would like to go on holiday or buy that ridiculous luxury lifestyle and we the suckers that we are are going to be expected to pay for everything again!!!!
@bucs faithful7/21/2010 9:09 AM
Problem is the quality of SA football is kak!!!! The paying publice just don't know it!!
brownman7/21/2010 9:06 AM
how about keeping the prices the same n you keep the new stadiums... cos we dont need them!
Maybe7/21/2010 9:04 AM
Maybe, but first tell us what you gonna do with R1 Billion and also what renting an expensive stadium has got to do with development.
Amasocca7/21/2010 9:03 AM
They must be careful not to miss the plot. The majority of soccer supporters in SA are dirt poor. Increasing the ticket prices will put the game out of their reach. I hope the clubs are not getting greedy after seeing what people was willing to pay for SWC games. If they do, they will have empty stadiums.
KAPENSCHTATEN7/21/2010 9:01 AM
Maybe the organising commitee should have thought of this before they went ahead and built SO MANY brand spanking new stadiums...Make no mistake the stadiums are exceptional and world class, but what now? I don't see the average soccer fan paying big money just to watch the same old rubbish domestic football. I really hope SAFA put that money to good use and improve the quality of club football. Starting with township facilities/developement clinics, coaching and decent equipment....not Armani suits, German luxury cars and overseas holidays! hahahaha
Fred7/21/2010 8:59 AM
It will cost SAFA R1 billion a year to fund a development program so that a Bafana team that can make it into the world top 10 national footballing teams. Results will only be seen in 6 years, and a top 10 position will only happen on 10 years or more. Does anyone really believe that SAFA will take R1 billion a year (effectively out of their own individual pockets) and put it into development? Yeah, right...
rusty7/21/2010 8:58 AM
They stole the money and they havent paid for the staduims. The next will be to tax the man on the street more, SA will be Greece no2.
Amos7/21/2010 8:53 AM
"it is important for the development of the local game to raise the prices"...correction you idiot It is important for the development of the game to raise the standard of football.
BadWes7/21/2010 8:52 AM
Did this not come to mind BEFORE building the stadiums. SAFA wont possibly touch their FIFA allocation, that has to go to their pockets, remember.Typical reactive response, waste now, bill the people later!! Break them down and sell the material as scrap, you will at least get something back. Now you want to raise ticket prices. Who attends the matches? Mostly medium and lower income people, so raise the prices, no problem, they will just strike and burn it down. HAHAHAHA........
O7/21/2010 8:49 AM
I don't mind paying...As from now on I vow to support the PSL matches. The first world class stadium is a bonus...
Bucs Faithful7/21/2010 8:40 AM
As long as us as fans are dished with extremely quality football, money is not the problem.
Alan H7/21/2010 8:33 AM
This after SAFA has just received R1 Billiion from FIFA!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Updated: Hottest SWC WAGs

Updated: Hottest SWC 2010 WAGs

Logs
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team
Vote

World Cup 2010 is over and the country is returning to normal - but have you moved on yet?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.