Tournament News

Japan wants vuvuzela banned

2009-11-17 09:07
Email | Print

Tokyo - Japan's soccer chief has joined in the chorus of protestors wanting the noisy vuvuzela trumpet to be banned from next year's Soccer World Cup in South Africa.

FIFA had previously rejected calls for a ban on the plastic instrument but Japan have now appealed to South African officials after playing a friendly against the World Cup hosts at the weekend.

"We have requested that the South African FA cut that noise out," Japan Football Association (JFA) president Motoaki Inukai was quoted as saying in Tuesday's edition of the Sankei Sports newspaper.

"You can't hear yourself speak. I will be bringing it up (with FIFA president Sepp Blatter)," Inukai added after Japan's 0-0 draw with South Africa in Port Elizabeth.

Japan defender Tulio said: "You can't hear what your team-mates are saying from two metres away. You have to go up to them to give instructions."

The vuvuzela is synonymous with South African football fans but the incessant noise from the air horns triggered complaints from players, coaches and broadcasters during this year's Confederations Cup.

Television networks complained that the sound drowned out their commentary, while top players including Spain's Xabi Alonso called for the trumpet to be banned.

Asked for his thoughts on the subject after Saturday's stalemate, Japan coach Takeshi Okada responded dryly: "Perhaps if they play good football (the fans) will be quiet and watch."

Your Comments

Ahro6/17/2010 2:47 PM
We have been through a lot as a people and as a country. Hosted a rugby world cup and won uniting the country even more. When they wanted to do away with the springbok we wouldn't let them. black, white, Indian (me) and colored rugby supporters stood by the green and gold. Now we going to let the world divide us over a vuvzela.
solidcreations6/14/2010 1:40 PM
Hi IQ: The Japanese are from a developed country which means they are more advanced (intelligent) than our soccer fans,so please listen to them. A comment says a lot of a person low esteem, ponder on that one before you comment next time.
Cosmsos6/8/2010 11:23 AM
It should be banned. It is senseless. I am a South African but this vuvuzela has a piercing sound into our ears. Given that it is now proven that it can cause permanent damage to sense of hearing, FIFA do away with this. Those who say it is part of African culture dont know what is African culture. But I am not surprised because it came with Township people like SADAM MAAKE whow know nothing abouth African tradition. All these teams participating in this world cup should boycot it. They must come together and say no we cant play if fans bring this nonsense to the game.
The Isipingo Beach Boys Bugle and Brass Band5/31/2010 11:15 AM
Sounds like a multitude of Idi Amin's farting in unison after a big feast ...barbaric and uncouth sound...embarrassing to the African culture...people with natural gifts of singing should be singing stirring African songs like Shosholoza...much more like SA culture and beautiful at that...are the Africans degrading themselves like the rest of hooligans at football matches...and God forbid it has now raided rugby matches...ompah..ompah stick it up your joomper.
Bruce Copley4/13/2010 7:40 PM
Dr Bruce Copley has made an exciting discovery enabling all vuvuzela players to create sweet music with the instruments without any modifications.....Google RAINBOW VUVUZELA to see and hear this exciting discovery
Zee11/19/2009 9:35 AM
I am PRO JAPAN no questions aked no questions answered! I say ban it because its a joke. Its noisy and its fricken irritating! Voetsek to the VUVUCRAP! I say ban it! BAN IT!
DANNY D11/19/2009 7:05 AM
I THINK THEY HAVE TO BAN THEIR FONKONG CLOTHES FIRST, VUVUZELA IS HERE TO STAY, THEY NEED EAR BUDS THOSE JAPANESE
ban it at www.banvuvuzela.com11/18/2009 6:12 PM
23000 votes so far to ban it. we everyone to vote and they won't ignore it. visit banvuvuzela dot com ! Now !
ABONGILE11/18/2009 5:05 PM
next thing you know an electronic(with an added feature of mute) fufuzela will be produced and no prizes for guesing ,which country it will be made from!!!!!!
maria11/18/2009 2:50 PM
please ask mr malema he is the one who is going to give us the solution of vuvusela.
maria11/18/2009 2:49 PM
please ask mr malema he is the one who is going to give us the solution of vuvusela.
Thembalabantubonke11/18/2009 2:42 PM
Sayonara!!!
Mercy11/18/2009 1:45 PM
It is noisy but it is what identifies us as a unique country, it's part of South AQfrica. We won't stop the Vuvuzela, what are you gonna do during the world cup... arrest us? To hell with the Japanees!
AJ11/18/2009 10:41 AM
think about it, Japan is the same place where people can't jump or scream during concerts, they sit and clap when there team scores a goal, of coursethey're not going to like the vuvusela.
Ma_loving11/18/2009 10:07 AM
I don't understand y ppl r so annoying when their creative thinking is dead...Africans are creative & like to do things with style.So other monkeys should just accept that VUVUZELA is here to stay...Just imagine Teko with the ball aproaching 18 area and we are just quite dead as a mule...so whereis fun in there?Sport is supposed to be fun!!!!
Rhamaphee11/18/2009 10:06 AM
NOW ... Yes the VuVuzela was not around 10/15 yrs ago, and YES it is very loud, Yes sometimes a bit irritating ... So is the drums that the Nigerians, Ghanaians and the Senegalese ... ooh DNT forget the hooligans from Englang ... Yes their coming with their violent acts ... as usual not to sound racist or anything ... BUT Fcuk it ... Y'all WHITE people dnt like the vuvuzela which was made famous by one of your own who jacked the idea from black dude (Yes thats VERY TRUE) ... and is making lots of money ... BUT end of the day its has become part of our football supporting cultyre whether its its a few years old ... And to good football ... Voetsek ... Wats next stop shouting ... Wats soccer game without noise over and out
Mzabalazo11/18/2009 9:57 AM
SAFA and FIFA should provide leadership on the vuvuzela issue. If its irritating to some of our guests why then do we want to keep it. We want to make the event memorable to everyone, why not then accommodate the concerns of those who don't like it. We'll continue vuvuzeling in our PSL games.
Tinyiko11/18/2009 9:16 AM
To bun vuvuzela is not an issue. We are on our own, international countries cannot over rule us because of their lack of creativity.
lungisa11/18/2009 9:07 AM
@Gert van der Merwe, man u such an idiot dont u know that the vuvuzela originates here? maybe u will then c see it everywhere after the world cup....anyway most brazillian fans have brought home after confiderations cup maybe u need to go there and investigate and give us proper feedback stop been dumb its not funny anymore.
Lerato Malatsi11/18/2009 8:38 AM
Our Vuvuzela is here to stay , this is an African World Cup . We are going to gooi some african flavour to it and thats the vuvuzela ....I have one and i`m going to buy another one
From Brazilia11/18/2009 8:31 AM
Come on guys...let's keep our cool here.ok? Why are we getting so excited everytime someone throws a complaint at us? Black people, just relax...and white folks, come on cool down.ok? This is one country, but you guys (black and white) act like you are at war, always trying to put the other side down. so, here is the problem: On one side, black people (who actually go to the stadium) enjoy the vuvuzela and want to keep it for the world cup... On the other side, white people (who are even annoyed to watch south african soccer games on Tv, so actually do not watch it), somehow know it's annoying and agree it should be banned as others are complaining (not them, they never stick around to suffer that noise...just saying) Now, the vuvuzela might be noisy, as more and more people seem to agree, but it's been here for more than ten years, so you will not convince someone, no matter how badly you insult them to get rid of any habit (being good or bad) just like that. Try asking someone to stop smoking, or drinking ar anything you think is bad for him but that he enjoys, it won't matter if he's black ot white, habits do not just go away like that... So, what do we do? To blacks, the whole world is not against you...if you are making noise, assume it... It is too late now to get you another instrument or toys making less noise, so I guess, we, the rest of the world, who is tired to see you fighting against each other by the way, will have to do with it, because we love our soccer and we will be behind our teams (brazil). Actually i am sure we will bring more noise than your little toys, brazilian style...lol. (it din't bother us at the confederation cup if you remember and it won't bothe us at the world cup).... And to white people, come on now, I hardly see you into the stadiums, but there are always hundreds of you complaining about the noise, try getting your feet wet before wetting your bed, as my grandma would say, you might just enjoy it... Do not fear what you do not know... And good luck to my team, Brazil... The real Champions.
AJ @ Shocked!!!11/18/2009 6:21 AM
I read 'shocking' post then I read yours. Clearly there is only one idiot amongst the 2 of you. PS - it's not him...
VUVZELA11/18/2009 1:13 AM
DO NOT BAN THE VUVUZELA!!! EVERYONE IN SA SHOULD BUY ONE & BLOW IT NON STOP FOR THE DURATION OF THE WORLD CUP!!! I HAVE ONE I BLOW IT WITH JOY!!! IF SA IS NOT REMEMBERED FOR THE PERFORMANCE OF THE BAFANA IT MUST NEVER BE FORGOTTEN AS THE LOUDEST NOISIEST & MOST FESTIVE SOCCER WORLD CUP EVER!!! NOW GO AND BUY YOURSELVES A VUVUZELA AND BLOW THE HELL OUT OF IT!!! :-)
RD11/18/2009 12:44 AM
Why is it that everybody find sumthing wrong bout SA (oops i forgot we are in Africa) and to all those abroad don wan things to go right in Africa...why should it go right, wer would they get commodities from ------first it was the crime ---- duh during the votes for the olympic games, wasn there also a big concern about crime in Madrid? Now the vuvuzela ----- do you hear any South African saying they should ban this and that if THIS/THAT would be a success-------------- it was decided that the World cup comes here period. Im in West Africa and I can see and hear and experience what the western/eastern wateva this bloody ppl think bout Africa, nothing is too damn good bout Africa, ges wat-----------u got a vuvuzela coming ---ayoba
Please!11/17/2009 7:17 PM
Please ban the vuvuzela!Why do the supporters need to be doing it while they can watch top international footballers?!Worst part is they continue to blow it in peoples ears outside the stadium, who/what are they supporting there?!
khotsi a muofhe11/17/2009 6:35 PM
japanes now..........why are you crying about vuvuzelas cause you are the one who make them with the indians.....you must tell your brothers in SA not to sell them to us......stop making noise cause you wont stop us to play our vuvuzelas.......if you dont want vuvuzela pls stay @ home eating your dog meat and spiders and also snakes as is what you enjoy.........we are proud of vuvuzelas in the stadiums and we are going to play them.........nndaa
Shorts11/17/2009 6:12 PM
If it really worries you Japanese guys, please stay at home. You can then always watch all the other games with your TV in mute mode. South Africa happily caters for all - just choose your preferred option & be content.
Tebza11/17/2009 5:24 PM
All asian & europeans makes noise during soccer game so Im asking myself what the hell are they talking about.
Ras11/17/2009 5:07 PM
replace it with the penny whistle!!
Tebza11/17/2009 5:05 PM
When Fifa Pres Blatter announced that South Africa will host 2010 World Cup, we saw vuvuselas in Zurich, Our ministers were there blowing the thing. Tough guys we will blow it till you leave our lovely country. Anyway we S.A citizen have plans, if you ban it then we will organize a big screens ko kasi and blow it. Then after your boring world cup all Europeans & Asians must leave with immediate effect. Bos Malema & Bos Vavi where are you? Say some. I know you have two words for them. To all who hates Vuvusela, stay home during soccer games.
legend of the game11/17/2009 4:16 PM
Ban anime, ban Dance Dance Revolution Machine that is just as noisy and when you walk in the mall near the arcade you cant hear yourself think and has crappy trance trash music!!!!all these 'developed' thats what they call them hate everything thats african...i wonder why?
Gert van der Merwe11/17/2009 3:53 PM
I think South Africa was the only country in the world that has put in an order for Vuvezelas cause you dont really see it anywhere else in the world. Blaas poppie Blaas
Stevo11/17/2009 3:20 PM
I say let democracy and respect win. If 2 teams play during the worldcup and both feel they dont want it then we should respect their wishes and ban it. However, if a country likes it and their opposition doesnt, then tough cookies for them. If they play bafana they should bring their earplugs.
Shocked!!!11/17/2009 3:12 PM
@ shocking, you are an IDIOT. No wonder you never made it in bigtime soccer!!!
The Cloaked Man11/17/2009 2:56 PM
South African world cup, South African way simple.. the other supporters make big noise and it will only most probably be used when SA play, perhaps the other fans might buy some and use them as well!
jackey11/17/2009 2:48 PM
BAN the YARIS, That's some expensive piece of JAP CR@P !!!!!!!!!
gee...11/17/2009 2:28 PM
really people...what is this debate about..the vuvuzela or the things whites and blacks hate about each other.i'm puzzled.but anyway,the vuvuzela can also be compared to the drums..if that's what they call them....the koreans played at the world cup event held in their country,those instruments where just as noisy. ever watched the brazilian league...i mean the fans there make more noise than the vuvuzela can,by just chantting alone.all that is fans having fun and enjoying themsevles.this is how the south african fans celebrate their football.i personally believe it would be very unfair for f.i.fa or any individual to advocate for the ban of the vuvuzela....(to all those whose comments had nothing to do with football,can please take your racist crap somewhere,were it's appreciated,quite frankly it's sickening ..thank you in advance)
Gloria11/17/2009 2:28 PM
The Vuvuzela stays!!!!!!!We are South African and we are inviting the rest of the world in,they need to learn how do we do things here!!!
Safa-abroad11/17/2009 2:25 PM
Been in the UK for the last two years.. and when I left the 1st thing I packed in my suite case was my vuvu! I'm coming back for the WC, tickets are booked.. and my Vuvu is coming with me! White, Black, Coloured or Indian.. it's OUR country.. and it's part of OUR game. sorry for those who get irritated.. but just the thought of that noise is already giving me goosebumps.. Viva Bafana!! and Viva South Africa!!!!!
Vuvu 11/17/2009 2:05 PM
Banning Vuvu is not Ayoba!
shocking11/17/2009 2:01 PM
Mark my words, that pathetic, useless, irritating piece of cr@p instrument the vuvuzela will not be allowed at the World Cup. The powers that be, and thank goodness its FIFA and not SAFA, will buckle to good old decent common sense and ban it so that South Africa can one day say we put on a GREAT World Cup. The alternative is; do not ban the vuvuzela and allow the 'uncivil' section of soccer supporters in this country to blow their and the rest of the worlds brains out, then our World Cup will be forever known as the "Most Irritating World Cup" in history. For the record, and this is directed at the people commenting here (such as Malume) who think that all those against the vuvuzela are only white South Africans who don't watch local soccer but like rugby- I am a coloured, cape malay guy living in Cape Town who has played soccer as a teenager in the 90's for the old Cape Town Spurs psl club, I have watched local psl matches at Athlone/Greenpoint/Hartleyvale and Newlands stadium (before the vuvuzela's ever became what the ignorant people think has been a long tradition), I have done all of this with many white and black South Africans who were either team-mates, friends, acquintances or just passing strangers. I have played rugby & cricket at school level as well in the 90's with many diverse individuals as I have mentioned above who all agree that that stupid, irritating vuvuzela is a pain and should be banned. Ever since that idiotic vuvuzela started playing at psl games about a decade ago this coloured Cape Townian sticks to watching on TV and spending his money on going to watch at the stadiums on Rugby, Cricket and watching the European soccer teams when they come for the Vodacom Challenge against Pirates and Chiefs, but even this practice I want to stop because of that pain the vuvuzela. I hope the marketers and sponsors read this because I know of many, many more like me who you are losing as PSL supporters because of that vuvuzela rubbish. Why the hell can't we have drums or brass band trumpets like they have at the Eastern Cape cricket stadium instead?! Why must soccer supporters help destroy local soccer even more than the administrators and the Johannesburg bias in SAFA already is doing so successfully. Anyway, I look forward to the World Cup next year, and I hope as some people have commented here that the vuvuzela blowing type of supporter will only attend Bafana matches (my the Force be with our team if thats the case), because then I and the rest of Cape Town can watch the other nations in peace and watch Bafana on TV with the mute button on or we will have to smoke som e of what that idiot Rasta Das who BUTCHERED our beautiful National Anthem last Friday smoked to numb our irritation if we dare watch a live match with vuvuzela's present. BAN IT!
mzamo11/17/2009 1:51 PM
ban this vuvuzela thing. S.A ARE SO SENTIMENTAL .:
jonathan11/17/2009 1:44 PM
SA soccer lovers knws the fun of vuvuzela, it also makes our cellebrations vibrands ........Stop messing up our mterials.!! Japan am sowi ul have to oblidge by our irritating noise...no hard ..and pls guys for you who are making comments save politics for the politicians......VUVUZELA our GAME!!!!!
iGlen11/17/2009 1:30 PM
What a BEAUTIFUL noise! I have a vuvuzela and I blow it with great gusto in my living room when I watch sport.... I hear it echo through the valley in which I live, it's my piece of fun... Blow on is what I say!! BEAUTIFUL NOISE!
Martin Prinsloo11/17/2009 1:21 PM
Blow the rubbish when Bafoona plays and ban it when when they are not involved i.e. after round - no noise anyway. Everybody happy.
Mayibuye11/17/2009 1:18 PM
The fact that you cannot stand the sound of a vuvuzela doesn't make you smarter than the person blowing it. Get over yourselves.
Simo11/17/2009 1:18 PM
The only reason why the Japs are complaining about the Vuvus is because they did'nt win the game and now they are coming up with excuses...think about it guys! To those who dont like the sound of Vuvus no one is forcing you to watch the game...
Dino11/17/2009 1:13 PM
I bet all these people complaining about the vuvuzela don't even attend the games, if you or anyone has a problem with the vuvuzela then stay home where you don't have to hear it..........stop being so westernised that you even have to beg these europeans to come to OUR world cup. this WC is african and so is the vuvuzela if any native have a problem I say stay in you native country because the wc will be played in SOUTH AFRICA with or with SPAIN and the JAPANESE...............
Michael11/17/2009 1:08 PM
I hate the thing, but perhaps we can compromise and not allow them during play.
proud south african11/17/2009 1:03 PM
Vuvuzela is not going anywhere forget it......if it was in America it wudnt be a problem but because its Mzantsi u r complaining......well live with it,vuvuzela is our pride for our diski(soccer)....*blowing a vuvuzela*...........pooooooooooooooooooooo
petro11/17/2009 12:59 PM
nice of them to talk, how about we first start by taking banning the Fong Kongs they brought into our country, and then we will talk
Ivan11/17/2009 12:59 PM
How about banning the vuvuzela and whale hunting at the same time?
DE11/17/2009 12:59 PM
If you can't afford a ticket to the WC match just stay home and stop using the VUVUZELA as an excuse you idiots...If you wanna watch a VUVUZELA less game go to Europe or stay the Hek home...
Ivan11/17/2009 12:58 PM
We can carry on this debate on the cricket board when the Barmy Army charm us with their mindless chanting!
db11/17/2009 12:55 PM
This is not europe if you want to watch quiet soccer stay home or FUSEK go to europe you idy
Me11/17/2009 12:54 PM
This is not europe if you want to watch quiet soccer stay home or FUSEK go to europe you idy
Me11/17/2009 12:52 PM
David11/17/2009 12:37 PM
FIFA said that if ONE Vuvuzela is used as a dangerous object they will be banned. Simple, I'll throw mine at a player at the opening game at Soccer City and the will be banned for the rest of the tournament. To all the other teams participating, including Japan and Xabi Alonso, contact me via e-mail and make me an offer I can't refuse. davidr@rba.co.za
maybe restrict them?11/17/2009 12:34 PM
Maybe fifa can restrict them or make an official less noisy one? Maybe the first 100 spectators in the stadium can be allowed to have a vv thats given to them for free and everyone else should leave theirs at home? Politics aside, the VV certainly is bad for your ears....
GS11/17/2009 12:33 PM
Bwahahahahah!!! It's so noisy you cant even talk to your team mate you is 2m's from you. Maybe thats why Bafana is so crap and never win any games. Bwahahahahahahahahaha!!!! Idiots!!!!!
PATRIOT11/17/2009 12:25 PM
Sepp Blatter and Co gave us the world famous event and they like our vuvuzela if these Japanese doesn't like vuvuzela they must just stay @ home coz we can't allow them to tell us what to do here they must shut their fucken mouths and do what they are best at.
NB11/17/2009 12:14 PM
NOW I FINALLY KNOW WHY BAFANA PLAY SO BADLY.......THAT NOISE IS KILLING THE GAME.
Chop11/17/2009 12:12 PM
Ban It, please, or maybe not, going to love it when a English Hoolican give a banana banana soccer fan a good klap,couse the oke blew the thing in his ear.
Tsotsi @gusted11/17/2009 12:09 PM
You are disgusted in people vs. people being digusted with plastic toys?!
Drone11/17/2009 12:05 PM
The World Cup is a global event, not an African one. It was only awarded to SA. Like it or not, the majority of visitors who will bring in the money will find it amusing for the first 10 minutes and then will find it massively irritating. It will disturb the players, coaches as well as the fans. It's just a noise.I suspect it will cost the tournament--and therefore the country a lot of money. Most if the income will not be from the soccer--it'll be from visits to the tourist attractions where they can escape the incessant din. Nevertheless, the damn thing can't practically be banned and we will suffer the consequences.
Capetonian11/17/2009 12:03 PM
To the 'culture clan': I guess you think to boo and disrupt other spectators are also 'our culture'? I guess then crime is also 'our culture'? Excuses excuses. You can't take responsibility, because you can't handle it. You're a generation of excuses and blame shifting. Next thing FIFA will be racists for daring to ask South Africans to respect the entire rest of the world's wishes. You CAN live without it for a month you know...i'm sure its medically proven. That said (and it was more being angry about the typical responces)...how many real supporters who'll buy tickets are going to go watch with a Vuvuzela in hand ANYWAY? People are coming from all over the planet to come watch the game...not make ar$es of themselves. Thats our job!
poncho11/17/2009 12:02 PM
the world cup will be a huge success without the vuvuzela, the whole world will be looking at us and the only thing they will see is noise and spittle, even when watching the games on television i have to lower my volume or mute my tv to drown out the most irritating noise in this world.i will feel extremely embarrased as a citizen in this country when they start blowing it, and i can guarantee the complaints are going to flood in after the 1st match, we will be the laughing stock of the world, ban the damn noise maker now !!!!!
Sjambok11/17/2009 12:00 PM
Look at the bright side critics! Use this marvelous tool to annoy the French next time they come to play here instead of crashing it. Imagine blowing it during their national anthem as somebody has already suggested..............
SNOT Kierrie11/17/2009 11:58 AM
Man you should see my girl friend blow my VUVUZELA at the games. Last time the people in front of me thought it was saliva but eish the mamba was blowing everything from Tjotjoloza to Do mit to me just one more time. The vuvuzela blow is good man whats wrong with you people. Am I speaking about the same thing here?
oi!11/17/2009 11:57 AM
It never ceases to amaze me how ridiculous some people can be… international countries have complained about a noisy instrument used only by South Africans – and what do we do? Fall back on the old faithful excuse of Racism – the Japanese and Spaniards couldn’t give a toss about your historical struggle and how you believe you have been hard done by… they are saying you make a noise and want you to shut up! So grow a pair and come up with a valid reason why you want your VuVu saved… oh and cultural is a rubbish excuse, cause even the old kudu horn (vuvu ancestor) never made such an obnoxious noise!
nigel11/17/2009 11:56 AM
ban the useless irritating thing...it will ruin the WC....most countries hate it, even other African countries are complaining, Nigeria being the latest one. FIFA should take a vote between all qualifying nation FA's to see if they should allow it, it would be 30 against & one arrogant FA for it
DN11/17/2009 11:55 AM
Ya another one after reading Steve's comment. I couldn't agree more about South Africans, especially Blacks and the natural talent they have when they sing together. I have at very least got goosbumps and many times brought to tears when I hear the harmonizing of voices. it is simply stunning. How about that for culture or drums. I must agree that we have adopted certain things along the way and claimed them as our "culture". However, the sooner we realize the type of country we live and tolerate AND MODERATE the practice of our culture, the more we will unite and get along better. for example, As an indian, Fireworks have become an "adopted" part of our "culture". Back in the day, thousands of years ago, there was no gunpowder but the short story, its here to stay. I think the same type of logic can be applied to the VuvuZ. It IS here to stay. However, just as there is a time, place AND MODERATION in how fireworks are used, the same kind of thing applies. We have to find a solution to this. And just because someone has not watched soccer in their lives, why should one dictate that they ":should get lost" or "go drown themselves". What kind of human are you, if that is the level of mentality and reasoning you apply to a situation like this? the world cup is a spectacle for the WORLD to enjoy. Also arrogantly telling the Europeuns or Japs or whoever to stick and proclaiming "this is Africa" is also seriously showing a lack of consideration. I think they got it that the SWC is in Africa - that news has been around for a while now. However, we are all waiting to see all the nations of the WORLD, otherwise we would be just satisfied with watching the Africa Cup of Nations, now wouldnt we ??? And we all can agree that we are not just satisfied with that. And note, that the Spaniards & Japs complained AFTER experiencing the VuvuZ, not before. Do you really think they are lying or making a fiasco out of nothing? It is a problem. Dont stick your heads in the ground like an ostrich or beat your chest like an ape - we are not animals. Thought needs to applied and an alternative needs to be found. This thing makes some serious noise - the kind of noise that can lead to permanent damage to your ears. Lets not get angry about this but rather find an amicable solution. Some ideas (and granted they may not work) is having a specific section for vuvuZ's or allowing only smaller variations of them into stadiums or having alternative songs/drumbeats that all can join and ACTUALLY learn more about Africa and especially South Africa - suggest we get the words for Umshini Wami ;-) (not joking - how many of us poke fun or ridicule not really knowing or understanding that song??) Anyway, poke holes at these suggestions, but rather than cus & swear your fellow Saffers, rather put forth some ideas. anywhay ....
Tsotsi @ lungisa11/17/2009 11:55 AM
So is the sound of a loud "POEP"!
Molokowagamothemela11/17/2009 11:54 AM
You ban the damn think they you know us very well and i do not think people wanna experience that. If you do not feel comfortable with it then this is the ryt time to take a holiday then you will come back after the world come but remember that when you come back we still have bo chiefs and pirates playing and we will still blow it hard than before. If this teams do not want to participate then they can withdraw from the world cup and dance their tune somwhere where they will be heared.. Viva vuvuzela viva
AA11/17/2009 11:53 AM
@Lance: To be honest with you, I prefer the drums and that is to me more African than some Made in China plastic article. I doubt people really hate them because they exist, its more that the constant droning actually takes away the pleasure of watching the game. Its great fun for a while but some people just don't know when to stop blowing
Simple Brains11/17/2009 11:52 AM
Its amazing how the "simple brains" react when they dont agree with someone. Its all "mine", "demand" etc.. or "go back to where ever". Do you morons understand how much money they`re bringing into this country? The typical African way: make a noise, take all you can, look stupid and threaten violence. Maybe some of you idiots should actually travel overseas, you might actually like it.
Disgusted11/17/2009 11:51 AM
I have to say im disgusted by some of the comments made here , there are people going around saying they are proudly S.A, but by the look of things they are not...Yes I agree the VUVU is noisey ,but it's what makes it more exciting for the fans , and who do these other countries think they are , coming to our country , telling us what to do....I mean , I wouldn't want to go to someone elses house and expect them to change everything because i want it to be changed, all you have to do is learn to adapt , to the way they do things ...LIKE IT OR NOT THE VUVU ISN'T GOING ANYWHERE !!!!!!!! IS IS AYOBA
VAD11/17/2009 11:50 AM
Admittedly I’ve never attended a game where these vuvuzelas have been “played”, however, when watching a soccer game on TV, the constant drone of this instrument becomes so irritating that I have to change channels. With sponsors paying big money for TV rights, I think banning the vuvuzela is inevitable.
Majoba11/17/2009 11:50 AM
Vuzela's are for the supporters and users of Banana Bananas!
lungisa11/17/2009 11:49 AM
ANY decent human being, what he/she does is to listen then let the information swell into his/her head then gather his/her thoughts together also look for findings before you can form any kind of opinion. On this one I say go to the stadium first sit next to the lively bunch of fans and arrive there in the mood of going to a soccer match not going to a book shop, then listen see and then celebrate the atmosphire I am sure you will feel left out if you dont have a Vuvuzela of your own to blow, note blowing one u dont just blow it takes a special way of blowing to actually get it right. The nose is hardly annoise u if u part of it especially at the beautiful PE stadium with electrifying atmosphere.
Melt it !!11/17/2009 11:48 AM
I agree ban it...For the sake of the game and players. Have you ever watched a real football game...I mean like watched a awesome breathtaking English Premiere League game in which the sound of thousands of voices combine, pumping up your spirit and those of the team players. It’s amazing sitting there or even watching it on TV. Well you can hear the commentators and still enjoy a game of pure class. The Vuvuzela ruins all this and there is more complains then praises. Ban it so we all can enjoy these upcoming games.
@Lance11/17/2009 11:48 AM
I'm sure I'm not the only South African that wouldn't go to a soccer match because of that stupid toy.
Peter11/17/2009 11:44 AM
Tell them when they stop whaling we will think about it. Honestly this is such a stupid thing to worry about really.
Melt it !!11/17/2009 11:43 AM
I agree ban it...For the sake of the game and players. Have you ever watched a real football game...I mean like watched a awesome breathtaking English Premiere League game in which the sound of thousands of voices combine, pumping up your spirit and those of the team players. It’s amazing sitting there or even watching it on TV. Well you can hear the commentators and still enjoy a game of pure class. The Vuvuzela ruins all this and there is more complains then praises. Ban it so we all can enjoy these upcoming games.
Get rid of the health risk11/17/2009 11:41 AM
Get rid of it. It is unhealthy and I don't know why the health officials haven't raised the issue. When they shake the vuvuzela like a "knopkierie", great streaks of spit fly all over the place - I had to shield my children with an umbrella at the last match! Now we all know how many diseases are carried in saliva!!! Ban it!!!
Marian11/17/2009 11:36 AM
I totally agree, the world cup could be ruined by that dreadful noise. I think FIFA should reconsider and ban it.
Lance11/17/2009 11:35 AM
What is it with South African's that CAN'T/WON'T stand up for their country?Most VuvuZella haters NEVER went to a live game!The VuvuZella was created by...an Indian Guy from South Africa and was promoted before the last SWC.Its been here for some time!It repalced drums etc.This will only force me to buy more vuvuzella's its intoxicating and great South African trademark.It's ours.Don't let 3 rotten apples spoil the whole bunch...out of a billion people watching soccer 100 000 complain, and they don't know Ronaldo from Benni! And the Japanese are NOT more cultured than what I am...pitty some of you see it this way - you are trully IGNORANT - you probably go home and can't wait to watch E News so that you can be filled with negativity as this is what you live off...you are a doos and you're stealing the much needed air - *blows vuvuzella loud!* Ayoba Yoba!!! SWC is here, we are going crazy in the stadiums...everybody please keep safe this festive, we need ya'll to blow the Vuvuzella straight into the Finals!!! Cheers all my Vuvuzella loving South Africans...blow you Vuvuzella please!
Boks4life11/17/2009 11:33 AM
Vuvuzela is here to stay, where you like it or not. just get over yourself. the only reason why you don't like it is because i cant play it. playing vuvuzela is our way of enjoying and supporting soccer. VUVUZELA IS HEAR TO STAY SO PLS GET USE OT IT.
Vince11/17/2009 11:32 AM
vuvuzela is really noise in such a way that you cannot even finish the match up to the finish, it's so bloody noise coz it doesn't matter if we think it's our SA sound of showing support to the players during the match.!!! It's so annoying to be factual.
Sjambok11/17/2009 11:32 AM
How many countries and English teams have we hosted since readmission into the world of sports? Have they ever complained about the vuvuzela? A big NO? So why now? Go get a shag! Long live vuvuzela long live! It's here to stay like it or not
tebogo11/17/2009 11:32 AM
Limit vuvuzela to Bafana matches. Let other matches be civilized. Vuvuzelas where called "piss-lelies" in apartheids SANDF now we think it's a musical instrument.
Zaq11/17/2009 11:31 AM
Ban the damn thing!
AJ @ Silence is Golden11/17/2009 11:30 AM
It still is a child's toy.
Nic11/17/2009 11:30 AM
It's a highly irritating sound but who are they to ban it. its part of sa football and fifa allowed the world cup to be here so every1's just gonna have to live with it
Jack11/17/2009 11:29 AM
Vuvuzela se koes!!!!
Oh my Greatness!!11/17/2009 11:28 AM
Jayo - You are obviously raised on the illiterate side of the line. Do you really think that Japanese only eat Sushi ? Why not ask all the fish in the ocean to die for that period? Seriously guys - The Vuvuzela has got nothing to do with any culture, unless you are part of a culture that is out to make a friggen noise and cannot be part of anything else. Again making you a DOM!! Look on the brightside and stay positive - Start investing in hearing aid shares. You won’t hear anything but you will have some spare cash :-) - AND TO ALL OF YOU OUT THERE - This is an international event with international standards and not a local derby!
Hambani11/17/2009 11:27 AM
Hey boeties, PLEASE DO NOT BAN THE VUVU. IT IS THE ONLY THING WE ARE GOOD AT. We can't win da soccer. So eish, give us this simple pleasure because more intelectual things is just not working for us BANANA FANS. You see because empty heads with tin hats makes big noise.
naphy11/17/2009 11:27 AM
Amazing! The Japanese say ban the vuvuzela and the racist South Africans come out to play. Amazing!
Janboer11/17/2009 11:27 AM
Ban the backward bagpipe. It is a barbaric instrument. Just good for africans. It's all they can do, make a noise, cause havoc & break things.
Ban-it11/17/2009 11:26 AM
The world-cup is an international event, so accommodate the wishes of international teams and supporters by banning the vuvuzela during the world-cup. Rather sing the Shosholoza and unite the people and the players, and see what difference it makes to Bafana's performance.
South African Surgeon11/17/2009 11:24 AM
As a specialist neuro surgeon I can confirm the results of my thesis research: The use of a vuvuzela relates directly to the the persons IQ....and the more noise they make, the lower the IQ. They burst blood vessels in the brain and there is a downward cycle. We thus have a largely retarded spectator audience who have forgotten why they are at the game and cant recall when Bafana Bafana last won. (Most are too young anyway to remember....avarage age 23!). Primitive neandethal triggers cause the blower to continue with the noise in the hopes of locating a sane mate.
AA11/17/2009 11:23 AM
@Sukievuvuzelanie: Classic answer, I would love to see Americans be harpooned and eaten, we have lots of them. To all those telling the Japanese to voetsek/etc, wow, this explains it all, your mental abilities are not too hot, since a monotonous noise for 90 minutes actually entertains you. I don't have anything against a vuvu but some people need to blow the thing permanently to prove they are something and that irritates the hell out of me.
Julias Malema11/17/2009 11:22 AM
Stick the Vuvuzela up as far as it will go.... South Africans can't afford the tickets to attend the games anyway !!
True That!11/17/2009 11:22 AM
I want to know who the idiot is that invented this piece of crap!!
DN11/17/2009 11:22 AM
Dudes, your arrogance in being stubborn at this clearly disturbing "instrument" does not help in uniting our country, especially along the racial lines. I'm Indian (just to note as I can see from the posts how this debate is largely pingponging from black to white) Dude, I have tried again and again to watch local soccer - but simply cannot stand the noise. And the vuvuzela produces noise. I am pretty sure that I would have a blast if I was blasting it myself but in the similar way my tapping my fingers on the desk during a meeting or clicking my bic pen irritates the other person next to me - thats the effect the VuvuZ has on the other guy - except on a much larger level. It can also seriously damage your hearing in that actually leads to hearing loss. The reason why many guys support this is probably because it may not sound so loud to them anyway - primarily because of hearing loss. But I'm afraid that this reasoning will fall on "deaf ears" anyway :-) Anywhay ....
Tsotsi @ Vhanyai11/17/2009 11:21 AM
Not our culture. Go read on it "Made in CHINA" It is a plastic version of the trumpets used in the ROMAN culture. SAfricans do not have a cutlture except that what they've stolen from others...
Ken11/17/2009 11:19 AM
YES PLEASE! Maybe I can then go and watch the World Cup in my own country after all!!!
Anon11/17/2009 11:17 AM
PLEASE BAN THE VUVUZELA - Please be more cultured and sing or whatever - I cannot stand the sound of the vuvuzela - sounds like a lot of mozzies buzzing around. For goodness sake - is this going to become a huge issue as well. Simple step - BAN IT FOREVER
Tseiks man11/17/2009 11:17 AM
Just beacuse South africans dominate the Stadium during international socer matches and now u want to blame it on vuvu. then when japan is here next time for SWC maybe they must make sure that they took classes of sign language cause vuvuzela is here to stay. They must this is Africa we unique here and not submissive to european countries and i think to all african that are anti-vuvuzela please get yours self some headphones and watch ur UEFA @ home.\ ...and now lets see if the jamaicans are going to complian, 10/10 they wont.
Point Blank11/17/2009 11:17 AM
Vuvuzela part of our culture???? Don't be silly man, it's a plastic tube which has nothing to do with anyone's culture. Not African, Japanese, European in fact no single country on this planet has ever used a vuvuzela, it is a monotone plastic tube which bellows out the most awful noise, as Africans our CULTURE is one of rythm and drums.
Sjambok11/17/2009 11:16 AM
I still don't get you people, other countries play all sorts of instruments during soccer matches. Check most African countries, even Brazil adopted the vuvuzela incase you didn't realise. To all non-traditional football "lover" please leave our sport alone and stay out. Who are you to came and impose your drivel? Stay out and leave us alone. @I agree since when did you start watching football?
gcr11/17/2009 11:14 AM
The whole issue around the vuvuzela is a nonsense. Also it has been adopted by soccer in SA maybe because they are the noisiest and most uncouth group of people. An instrument like the vuvuzela was used in the late 1940's and 1950's by seine fishermen on the Cape Coast line to instruct the boats in which direction to move the boats to drop their nets, and it was fashioned out of dried seeweed (kelp). There was only one person blowing the "instrument" now you get a herd of yahoo's making an absolute din with this stick of @$i^ - They should all be destroyed. If they are allowed into the theme parks the foreigners are going to take the blowers out permanently - I hope SAPS are ready for these riots
JORELDA11/17/2009 11:12 AM
LONG LIVE THE VUVUZELA, LONG LIVE!!!!!!!
Hans11/17/2009 11:10 AM
All humbug !!! Soccer playesr have to communicate, but I guess bafana bafana run around like head less chickens,none of the afrikan clubs aver feature because of the tremendous noise. Afrikans in Europe feature well since the Europeans do not resort to such nonsene. Its childish blowing the trumpet like hooligans, lets be civilized people !! Where in the world do you get such nonsense, only in Afrika. Bafana Bafana are all deaf already and a person cannot concentrate, again try to be civilized, but I guess some people will never be civilized !
MG11/17/2009 11:09 AM
The next ar$3hole that blows a vuvuzela near me again will have to book into the ER to have it surgically removed. What's the point? Trying to deafen eachother? Ban the idiotic thing!
Neil11/17/2009 11:08 AM
Vuvuzela - I have tried watching a football game on TV --- I tuned to other channels due to that iritating sound. - How can we subject our guests to this noise
Andre11/17/2009 11:07 AM
If smoking in public places was banned because it is dangerous to peoples health, the vuvuzela must also be banned for the same reason,
drummer11/17/2009 11:07 AM
Bring on the Djembe Drums that was used at the Vodacom Challenge - way more African
Sepp Blatter11/17/2009 11:06 AM
i must say it actually sounds worse on TV. it is like listening to a constant hooting sound. At the ground itself, it si not that bad.
bones11/17/2009 11:05 AM
Brothers and sisters of Africa, we are one of the most talented musically and rhythmically gifted nation in the world, we should be displaying our true skills and talent @ the world cup, get in the marimba bands and our traditional dancers and send shivers up our guests spines, not give them a headache from this toneless drone. Why o why have we sold ourselves so short on this horrible piece of plastic ? This is not our culture, this is not 'African', lets show them what we are capable of !
Crowd Reaction vs. Monotony11/17/2009 11:04 AM
I'd rather hear the crowd reaction like *oohhh* *gasp* *boooo* *yeaaahhh* than a constant *bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz* Each nation is unique in their **VOICE** and reactions and the plastic trumpet is by no means making anyone unique...its just deconstructing everything into mere noise...very very unoriginal...
Motho11/17/2009 11:04 AM
Its no like we play vuvusela's through out the game. Most of the noise comes in if there is something amazing like goal, shibobo, good save etc.No banning of vuvusela, ga se mo staitsi mo. Julle Fong Kong.
Dev11/17/2009 10:58 AM
PLEASE BAN THE VUVUZELA! I hate that thing and it serves no purpose. Why dont we just blow a horn throughout the game, it will make the same amount of noise and waste less oxygen?? It is distracting and I believe it makes us perform poorly. The players can't communicate (crucial)!!!! They cant hear the whistle (crucial)!!! Why is it neccesarry??? Why??? Its called a "World Cup" for a reason and the reason is that the whole World participates... we should respect them.
Ascendo Tuum11/17/2009 10:58 AM
Ban it.. what a racket. Its a disgusting noise. I think a colleague summed it up. "Bring that thing here, I will fold it in half and shove it up your a**" I sure as hell am not proudly SA when it comes to that thing.
Andre11/17/2009 10:56 AM
Ban the damn thing. Execute the flippen fool who ivented it and also execute those producing it.
zolani11/17/2009 10:56 AM
At a live match it is cool, but watching on TV it is a pain in the @ss
Bok4life!11/17/2009 10:54 AM
I agree 100% I am proudly South African but the Vuvuzela is a load of rubbish! All it does is make noise useless noise!! @ "i agree!" i concurr - Anyone that says its part of our "culture" is talking the biggest load BS! @ Cuba - NICELY SAID!!
Unbiased11/17/2009 10:51 AM
Hi - the Vuvuzela is clearly a South African tradition that many people might not always agree to. We need to carefully consider its effects before any decision can be made. Do we really want to leave an impression like the one left by Ras Dumisani in France. Please ppl lets learn from our mistakes and stop thinking about ourselves in order to become a better nation.
coetze11/17/2009 10:50 AM
when our local teams play, we do not get issues to do wth the vuvuzela. why? now the world cup is here, we hear calls for its banning. all u oaks calling for its bannishment are not true football fans. mafikizoloz. This is our game. u cant tell us what to do. if yu dont like it stay at home. Anyway yu have never been to a football match, soweto or durban derby for that matter. peace
@thabang11/17/2009 10:50 AM
No, you moron, it's actually the morons who are staying behind. Imagine how stupid you must be being entertained by a monotonous (that means something playing one note, like your brain cell) little plastic trumpet made in China. Not even my three year old found it entertaining for very long. We'll leave you with pleasure, you can sit around the ruins of this country, blowing your vuvuzelas and patting yourselves on the back.
Pe11/17/2009 10:50 AM
Okay it's fine,how about we tell them to ban whale hunting...we cant swim on the beach it's red!
terence11/17/2009 10:49 AM
I wish all the FIFA affiliates will stand together and put pressure on Mr Blatter to reconsider his condoning of this most irritating instrument. I cannot stand watching any local televised football at least not with the volume on my tv being on mute. It does not lend itself to anything constructive. How can i be expected to go watch live soccer matches with all that horrible noise. I therefor chose to vote with my wallet until such time as the vuvuzela is banned. In the meanwhile i will continue to support the more successful cricket and rugby fraternity where my space is respected.
Anon11/17/2009 10:49 AM
BAN IT! Go Japan! But hey, I'm still miffed at you Japan, you didn't beat Bafana. How else are we going to get rid of that useless Benni and that backstabbing Parreira.
Vhanyai11/17/2009 10:48 AM
We played the Vuvuzela during the 1996 African Cup of Nations, and none of the African countries complained because we respect each other. Now, how can we allow the Europeans change our culture? They must just get used to it! Its our culture and we our proud of it. Africans we rock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
chuck11/17/2009 10:47 AM
What utter nonsense. Half the people making comment have never been to a football match in SA let alone anywhere else in world. Many countries have different types of "musical" irritation - singing included ! For those who just watched the U17 World Cup in Nigeria the noise from the claxons and trumpets was equally as loud to anything we have in SA. Stop trying to make everything conform to 'western" expectation. This is Africa we do things differently (rightly or wrongly) - LIVE WITH IT!
WE NEED TO BE PROFESSIONAL11/17/2009 10:46 AM
WATCHING THE CONFEDS WAS LIKE WATCHING A LOCAL GAME WITH THE PATHETIC COMMENTARY & NOISE OF THE VUVUZELA'S!
VuvuLover11/17/2009 10:46 AM
Wouldnt it be nice if we could introduce the Vuvu to Cricket and Rugby! Just a suggestion maybe you guys might love it like we do.
WE NEED TO BE PROFESSIONAL WITH GOOD COMMENTARY ALSO11/17/2009 10:45 AM
WATCHING THE CONFEDS WAS LIKE WATCHING A LOCAL GAME WITH THE PATHETIC COMMENTARY & NOISE OF THE VUVUZELA'S!
ASh11/17/2009 10:45 AM
Anybody that knows Sa soccer knows that the VuVUzela is SA's tradition so yeah u people dont like i say leave this country we are way better of without u so BYE BYE VIVA AFRIKA VIVA
I agree11/17/2009 10:45 AM
my last comment on this issue: Does any1 remember the Beijing Olympics? lots of folks keep saying things like 'they do not change, why should we?'...Well, for the Olympics, the Chinese made some changes to make the experience better for visitors. The cut down traffic, to minimize pollution, they encouraged the population not to spit or clean their noses in the street (which apparently is not frowned apon in China). they made the effort for visitors, why cant we?
GeePMB11/17/2009 10:45 AM
Our country, our culture, our rules, Sep has already said it's fine, they must live with it. They are damn irritating "instruments" but they are part of our football culture.
Love It11/17/2009 10:44 AM
The Vuvuzela is what makes the World Cup ours! This should be an Africa experience, and not a westernised version of SA. I will be disappointed if there are no vuvuzela's. This is our country and our tradition.
Hi IQ11/17/2009 10:44 AM
The Japanese are from a developed country which means they are more advanced(intelligent) than our soccer fans,so please listen to them.
D de Freitas11/17/2009 10:43 AM
I also hate the vuvuzela but it will not be a problem during the World Cup because the majority of the spectators at each match will not be "black" South Africans as they will not be able to afford the tickets. The majority will be overseas spectators who will not have vuvuzelas.
vuvuzela aside..11/17/2009 10:42 AM
i love it how so many people think that the SWC is a SA event, and if other people are not happy with what we do than they must just not come.
robin11/17/2009 10:42 AM
Real football fans do not blow the vuvuzela. They concentrate on the beautiful game. How can one truly enjoy the game when you are continuously using all that effort to blow the horn. You will either be looking up or down. A true fan will have his eyes on the game all the time. No wonder there are still so many BAFANA supporters they don't actually watch the game because if they did they wouldn't have anything to celebrate. Keep the vuvu's for local matches and don't embarass the rest of the country on the world stage.
Elias 11/17/2009 10:41 AM
If they decide to ban the vuvusela they must give us a clear and doable procedure for us to retrive the money that we South Aficans paid (already) for the tickets, because we do have the plasmas, lcd's, led's and big TV in our homes. We will not go to watch live games without Vuvusela, shud they ban it we want our money back, we will watch the games on tv. THATS IT
sod off11/17/2009 10:40 AM
lets make a compromise we ban vuvu if japan bans whale hunting vuvu only makes noise whale hunting is extincting a species which is better vuvu u chose ....
CraigMac11/17/2009 10:38 AM
I absolutely 100% agree! Ban these awful things! A vuvuzela could actually be classed as noise pollution! Ban them now!
AJ11/17/2009 10:36 AM
Vuvuzela is equal people singing 'ole ole ole ole' at rugby matches - absolutely no creativity, Just makes you look unoriginal. I hate them both.
mpho11/17/2009 10:35 AM
as a soccer fan, idont agree with japan,bt if the world wants us to stop vuvuzeling then we should consider their concerns, anyway we (sa) wont go and watch japan and other countries play,we will take our vuvu'z when bafana bafana is playing,simply as that,happy now?
K711/17/2009 10:34 AM
I don't like the vuvuzela therefore i don't watch the soccer simple. Why would you wanna watch our national side anyway. They ranked in the 70's in the world rankings. Can anyone here even name 70 countries! so our team is worse than a country no one has ever heard of. To all the people hating on the rugby and cricket fans it's just pure jealousy. The thing I find so funny is that people on here make it sound like it's a burden being a rugby fan ( so bad being world champions ). Thats like saying keep your steak ill rather eat sand because I hate you so much?! I say wallow in your hate and cut your nose off to spite your face.
no vuvu11/17/2009 10:34 AM
When we won the African Cup of Nations there were no vuvuzelas. Since the vuvuzela, our team plays really bad. I only watch overseas football. cannot stand SA football, the teams are overated. Don't tell me the vuvuzela is SAfrican. I am SAfrican, and hate the damn thing.
selebi11/17/2009 10:32 AM
Those who blow vuvuzelas are not intellectual people.Ban them now!!!
citizen11/17/2009 10:32 AM
The head and staff of the embassy should shoulder the blame. Where is their integrity? Resposibility? Accountability? Interest? Duty? Pitiful and shameful disgrace!! To think that they (the embassy and staff) represent RSA!!!?
JSC11/17/2009 10:32 AM
We hear the call for the Japanese to rather stay at home. This is really such a boring phrase. Chase everybody away.What if the other countries do the same then? We will have no soccer and just the irritating noise of this piece of plastic. Lots of people will also suffer major damage to their hearing. Africa wants to host a world class event. Then Africa has to become world class as well.
AJ @ And we call the Aussies arrogant11/17/2009 10:31 AM
Any country saying they support the vuvuzela is being polite, and no more. What we are doing (effectively) is inviting the world over for dinner and making them eat fish and brussel sprouts even though most of them dont like it (because it is our culture). What arrogant rubbish.
Anom11/17/2009 10:31 AM
I agree the thing just makes noise, it MUST be banned, I support Japan's request.
vuvu fan11/17/2009 10:31 AM
This is AFRICA!!! I love the damn things!!! Better than going to Loftus and hearing absolut crap afrikaans music played over and over again!!
Sukievuvuzelanie11/17/2009 10:30 AM
We will stop blowing the $#@%$#% things if and only if Japan stops whaling. Seriously folks stop killing the whales. Japan has largely stayed out of trouble since the "good old USA" used their WOMD on them. Instead of harpooning the whales harpoon the fat Americans. Less Americans = less taxes = less weapon's of mass destruction and more whales.
Pieter11/17/2009 10:30 AM
.......Go away leave us alone. Dude it is a WORLD CUP.
Soccer lover11/17/2009 10:29 AM
VOETSEK - Japan is our guest therefore they can't make demands. vuvuzela stays
Vuvuzela11/17/2009 10:28 AM
Instead of banning vuvuzela, why not get a certain group of fans to practice blowing the horn properly to get a good melody and only allow them to blow the damn thing
Malume11/17/2009 10:28 AM
iIF YOU CAN'T STAND THE VUVZELA NOISE THEN STAY AWAY FROM THE SOCCER STADIUM.WILL THE BILTONG AND BEER ALSO BE BANNED AT RUGBY STADIUMS AS WELL PLEASE!!
citizen11/17/2009 10:27 AM
As much as the plastic trumpet is probably an icon for many, it is, like any other continuous noise, an interference and a danger to anyones hearing. It definitely does not enhance my experience at a match. Singing and cheering at intervals is more spontaneous, fun and has more substance than a mindless noise. Sorry, but that is fact. My vote is to ban it at all international events.
Belgium11/17/2009 10:27 AM
I have family living in Belgium. After the confederation cup the only thing they were talking about were the unbearable sounds of the Vuvuzela. If they do not ban the Vuvuzela, Europe, Asia and the rest of the world will not remember 2010 as a brilliant World Cup in a beautiful country, but as a bunch of amateurs playing their plastic trumps..... We need to grow up. Ban that plastic toy.....
The Architect11/17/2009 10:26 AM
I really think that the comment, "Perhaps if they play good football (the fans) will be quiet and watch." is nothing but the truth.And yet we all laugh at it....We really living in a messed up country,where another race insults us and we laugh...,we make excuses for to not ban the vuvuzela by saying its our culture...i really feel for SA as a whole.Shame on us.
shocking11/17/2009 10:26 AM
I am South African...BUT for the sake of a good World Cup, FIFA will you please BAN and BURN every bloody vuvuzela piece of rubbish ever made! Only South African soccer supporters will choose something so crap and irritating to use as "entertainment" or what ever the hell its supposed to be used for! I've been to a handfull of Santos and Ajax Cape Town games at Newlands & Athlone Stadium and to the Chiefs vs Manchester United game in 2007 at Newlands and I have not been back to watch a live PSL match ever again because of that rubbish Vuvuzela! and when a PSL game is on TV I watch (if I can bear the lack of quality) the bloody game with mute on just to avoid the damn vuvuzela's. FIFA if you do not want half-empty stadiums at next years world cup please do yourselves a favour and ban the stupid vuvuzela....i beg you! By the way that comment by the Japanese coach....Spot on, I could not have said it any better:)
AW11/17/2009 10:25 AM
If these things are not banned, this will be the last soccer world cup we will ever host in South Africa. As usual our idiotic 'brothers' don't have the ability to think long term. Do you have any idee of how good the financial impact of the WC is for the country and how many jobs it greated for you? Now you want to throw this noise into the rest of the worlds face who is paying for all of this? Sinking South Africa into the ground, slowly, but surely.
Silence is Golden11/17/2009 10:25 AM
Africans don't realise that this sort of thing (ie the vuvuzela) is just perpetuating their world reputation as mindless idiots. Does anyone remember that the vuvuzela started off as a child's toy?
M-LOL11/17/2009 10:24 AM
yes...thats right...tell them to go if they dont wana hear the damn noise...and in 650yrs time if we get the hosting rights again...NO TOURIST will want to come...whats the point of a world cup if we have unhappy tourists?
Anonymous11/17/2009 10:23 AM
What a BLOODY IRRITATING NOISE IT MAKES!!!!!!! I eventually stop watching the game!!!!!!!
nonono!11/17/2009 10:23 AM
they want to make a fong kong vuvuzela so they dont want competion.if they dont want ivuvuzela they must stay home as they say when u are in rome do as Romans do!
African lady 11/17/2009 10:21 AM
i say ban the Vuvuzela, i cant watch soccer because of that horrible irritating noise they make. BAN THEM
Dopey11/17/2009 10:21 AM
Vuvuzela is South African...It adds so much vibe on our stadiums.It changes the whole mood of the game.I agree lets ban the sushi and see what they will enjoy when they are here.Just like white people enjoying dropping their pants to rugby matches..Who complains..From a black man
T11/17/2009 10:19 AM
WE'LL STOP USING THE VUVUZELA WHEN YOU STOP HUNTING WHALES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Niel11/17/2009 10:18 AM
I kinda like that the vuvuzela is such a cultural icon in south afica and south african soccer. But i do find it very noisy and annoying...so i do hope they ban it. Sorry
Clive11/17/2009 10:17 AM
A National blight.......And i thought we were supposed to be a musical nation
VLS11/17/2009 10:17 AM
BAN IT! I've watched local soccer since 1983 and the vuvuzela only came about about 5 or 6 years ago. It is a cheap, plastic invention from China and has made it unbearable for me to attend games. The guys who play these things are inconsiderate and blow in your ear and they spit out of the thing. Vuvuzela's can go to hell. There is nothign South African about them.
Nick11/17/2009 10:14 AM
Thabang, you spell like me 1 year old daughter!
TheVoice11/17/2009 10:13 AM
I agree, the vuvuzela should not be blown during the 2010 SWC. If the supporters could behave and only blow it when a goal is scored, it would be fine, but this is clearly not the case! It is pointless noise. For those of you who say that everyone else must shut up about the issue because this is Africa.... remember, we are the hosts. And to be good hosts, we MUST respect our guests. Without our guests, there will be no event! There will also be no good quality football to enjoy. Lets face it... Bafana Bafana (as much as I wish they would do well), will not rise to the quality of our South American and European counterparts. So blow as much as you want for PSL games, but leave it out of Internationals. Lets leave a good impression on all our visitors, so that they may return and help our economy and country grow.
manib dert11/17/2009 10:13 AM
Next thing we hear is that it is in our culture to be murderous thugs, rapists and hijackers ... It is simple: if SA event organizers cannot respect the wishes of the rest of the world's 2010 Cup participants, FIFA should take the event to Germany or Australia. Stop having an island mentality ... to all those who are unwilling to compromise.
Hmm11/17/2009 10:12 AM
Me thinks that the Vuvuzela is going to explode in FIFA's face.. And to all the commentators going on about its Africa and Africa's turn. To host succesfull world cup you will need the coloniast whiteys to come and watch... if the majority of people involved wants it banned, i say BAN IT!!! PS: Love the coaches comment at end of article
Gurshwin11/17/2009 10:11 AM
Will anyone ever tell the english to stop singing there crappy songs during a game because the players cant hear each other? Come on guys the world cup is in south africa. This is the way we do things around here. Dont try and turn this into a european event. Its a international event which should highlight the differences of all continents and countries. Yes the vuvuzela is noisy but its african and its part of our culture. I cant wait for the first game and hear those vuvuzela's go off.
Concern11/17/2009 10:10 AM
Just look at their names Craig,Sparky,Judge Dread,Steve,Cruz,Ollie,Amon,Maria,Annes&Floyd u sick guys.Go watch your Rugby and Cricket..I realised by your names that u are anti-african.go to europe /asia, do your things there..leave us African alone..Come on Africa let's unite for this Africa world cup
king11/17/2009 10:10 AM
For all who cry loud and never been to a football match, would you just go and watch tennis it will do you good Who are you to tell a nation to stop it practices, maybe we should say to Japan and the rest of you VUVUSELA is purely Arican thus you have a problem of hearing but if it was a fonkon designed by the west and Japan it would be good for business Bring your earmuffs Viva VUVUSELA Viva!
@Lucky MTL11/17/2009 10:10 AM
"Go away leave us alone." so if any team that complains about vuvzelas must just stay away, how much of a world cup will it be??
RIAN SAYS WAIT A MINUTE11/17/2009 10:09 AM
Yes it is noisy BUT, New Zealand played Aus in JApan (RUGBY) and the Japanese instructed the NZ Players to cover up their tattoos when they practice in the swimming pool - they had to honnor the request cause they were in JAPAN, NOW you are in South Africa and yes its irretating but its part of our soccer culture sooooooo...... suck it up. But on the other hand Darren, this might be the reason why Bafana is so k@k cause they cant hear one another nor the coach
Tsokotla!11/17/2009 10:09 AM
A lot of South African who agree with banning the VuVuzela only started watching soccer during the Confed cup. A lot of instruments which preceded the Vuvuzela were used in the past in soccer matches and I'm talking about 20 to 25 years ago. We love the noise and will continue making the noise. if you don't like it tough luck. maybe go and watch a fishing match or go hunting.
Jojo11/17/2009 10:08 AM
These guys can not tell us what to do with our vuvuzela because we never tried to stop them from eating dogs.
Tebza11/17/2009 10:06 AM
But really what's African about the vuvuzela. Truth be told its an annoyance and it does help being arrogant about it. I've long disliked the thing even before the announcement of hosting the swc. SAFA and PSL should have long dealt with the issue.
Ban it11/17/2009 10:05 AM
Since when have the vuvuzela become a South African soccer tradition, so much so that its up there with singing the anthem or eating pap and braaivleis and drinking beer??? If it influence the wonderful game played on the pitch and the soccer stars can’t hear each other, then it should be banned. At the end of the day it’s the soccer that’s important not the damn vuvuzelas or any other gizmo….
Vuvu- lover11/17/2009 10:05 AM
Truth is when one is at the stadium, the noise is not as loud as it is on TV. I think the vuvu rocks!!!! It is here to stay and those who think otherwise can go drown themselves elsewhere. The Confed games were cool and most of the commentators on TV just loved the sound from the vuvus.
Jack11/17/2009 10:05 AM
To both Arty-G and Jayo...you are both Childish fools...if you cant discuss anything constructivly, dont coem on to this forum
sido11/17/2009 10:04 AM
MAYBE THEY SHOULD BAN THE JAPANESE FROM PLAYING IN THE SWC 2010
Football fan11/17/2009 10:01 AM
I want to see football and enjoy the match, not be engulfed in with that noise. Remember the old saying "Empty vessels make the most noise"
Des11/17/2009 10:00 AM
Mark my words, the vuvuzela will ruin the world cup for most if not all international visitors......FIFA you have been warned !
GT11/17/2009 10:00 AM
Horrible bloody toy that Vuvuzela is! Ban it, along with whaling and dophin slaughter
Junsau11/17/2009 10:00 AM
"Perhaps if they play good football (the fans) will be quiet and watch." Quote of the day. Man! That just made my day. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!
Jayo11/17/2009 9:56 AM
I think the radiation left over from the nuclear bombs the Americans dropped on them is affecting their brains.
bollinger11/17/2009 9:55 AM
Ban the vuvuzela banned, i agreed that its noisy also caused others people ear damages maybe became deaf quickly. Vuvuela is UNHEALTHY, no matter whats anywhere in the world people against our cultures and artist but, but only vuvuelas must be ban. thank you for supports
Jayo11/17/2009 9:54 AM
South Africa want sushi Banned! How do you like that?
Dr Fil agrees with PJE11/17/2009 9:51 AM
Stuff the Japs and any other country that wants OUR Vuvuzela banned. I attended the Pirates v Chiefs game at Nelson Mandela Stadium when they set the Guiness world record and the Bafana v Japan match and the vuvuzelas bring great atmosphere to the game. they are basically bugles and good players change the pitch. I can. I have 2 vuvuzelas. At European games they whistle (PSG supporters) which is worse as the stadium uses microphones and speakers to amplify the sound. Everyone to their own and this is South Africa's World Cup and we will make it unique. Go to a game and experience it before criticising what you do not know
Daemonologism11/17/2009 9:51 AM
Ban them, they add nothing to the game except noise...while we're at it can we ban christmas decorations before december...lets just ban christmas actually, useless holiday.
Shark Jaws11/17/2009 9:51 AM
What should we do the dragon dance during the game, oh hell no. VUVUZELA is without doubt AYOBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jayo11/17/2009 9:49 AM
Mr. Miyagi say "wax on, wax off." We say "shut up & get out!"
Ollie11/17/2009 9:46 AM
I agree - I agree with you. As for the remark maybe they would be quiet if they played good football - this is so true!!!!!
REALITY11/17/2009 9:46 AM
Guys, mark my words "IT WILL BE BANNED"....FIFA has warned the LOC 2010 that if one vuvuzela is used as a missile in any of the games then it will not be allowed in any future game. So all it takes is one vuvuzela to be thrown onto the pitch....and that will definitely happen...be it a chinaman. jap, german, englishman...just to stop the noise
Harold11/17/2009 9:45 AM
That's a bit rich coming from people who cull whales into near extinction. The Spanish have a barbaric practice called "the running of the bulls". We do not tell them how to run their events. If they don't like our vuvuzelas they can stay at home. This World Cup is in Africa, not in Europe or Asia.
cruz11/17/2009 9:45 AM
Let's hope FIFA stop thinking money and worry about the quality of the experience. These trumpets an unbearable irritation when watching on TV, I can just imagine what it must be like live!!!! Let common sense prevail please!! Ban these things!!
seamus ganyo11/17/2009 9:45 AM
its our African way , just like beating drums of keeping the sprit of our players so high. The so called European teams must ban it in Europe. Please give us a break.
MikeyMike11/17/2009 9:45 AM
"Perhaps if they play good football (the fans) will be quiet and watch." BWHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAH
Steve11/17/2009 9:45 AM
100% agree, please ban the vuvuzela! At Saturdays game vs Japan the noise was almost unbearable.. Towards the end of the second half, the crowd started sining Shosholoza. I could hardly hear it but I still got goose bumps.. If you've ever been to an African wedding, funeral or any other gathering of crowds you'll know that South Africans are unbelievably good at singing in a crowd. Why the hek do we resort to a mono-toned honk when we are able to create what could be the best atmossphere in the entire world using our God-given voice!! Come South Africa, throw your trumpets away and use your voices to blow the opposition away!!!!!!
Craig11/17/2009 9:44 AM
BAN IT BAN IT BAN IT BAN IT PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEASE!!!????? How can people say its part of our culture when the noisy piece of plastic has only been around for a year or so? Come on people, that thing has NO connection to culture and is a serious pain in the freaking head!!
Phil11/17/2009 9:42 AM
Surely the call must be to respect the practices and traditions of a host football nation, so long as they don't disrupt actual play, and the enjoyment of the majority. A single vuvuzela would never make enough noise to disrupt an entire game, but hundreds? To have even 50 people blowing a vuvuzela in close proximity to players would disrupt team communication - and negatively affect play. This is the world's biggest sport contest - the world's biggest. It;s time to put aside what will amount to a negative reflection on our country, and play the game.
Sparky11/17/2009 9:42 AM
YES PLEASE BAN THE THING! Maybe if they ban it, then I will start watching SA soccer again. But at the moment I am put off from watching, unless I turn the volume down, and that is just not the way to watch. So yeah, majority rules.. BAN!
Judge Dread11/17/2009 9:40 AM
YES! Ban it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...and @ Lance, the Japanese are way more cultured than you. At least they are respectful decent okes........
thabang11/17/2009 9:39 AM
to all of you morons who wants vuvuzelas to be banned why dont you go japan or australia dats wer all the morons migrate rite? leave us with our vuvuzela go n watch cricket or golf ok ok
Anti-vuzela11/17/2009 9:38 AM
Japan u rock, thank you for making a stand!!!!!
Lucky MTL11/17/2009 9:37 AM
What's going on here, The world cup is in Africa. The so called european countries and whosever (Xavi Alonso/Japan coach!!! I don't care,they are telling us what to do¬ to do,.This is Africa turn..They must accept that.We will blow the Vuvuzela's in the morning till the next morning..Go away leave us alone. Viva Africa world cup Viva!!! Aluta continua.
Draadsitter11/17/2009 9:37 AM
Appareny Vuvuzela translates as: illiterate noise.
Lucky MTL11/17/2009 9:37 AM
What's going on here, The world cup is in Africa. The so called european countries and whosever (Xavi Alonso/Japan coach!!! I don't care,they are telling us what to do¬ to do,.This is Africa turn..They must accept that.We will blow the Vuvuzela's in the morning till the next morning..Go away leave us alone. Viva Africa world cup Viva!!! Aluta continua.
PJE11/17/2009 9:32 AM
I was at the game, and can honestly say that the noise wasnt that bad. The noise of the crowd actually drowns out the noise of the vuvuzela's, and it really isnt as bad as I thought it would be. It does however sound a lot louder on tv, and I guess it is because you dont get the crowd atmosphere with it, only the noise of the vuvuzela. As a vuvuzela hater in the past, I am now converted (I was actually cross with myself for not getting one), thanks to my first ever soccer match attendance.
jay11/17/2009 9:30 AM
maybe thats why we play such bad football, we can't hear our team mates or our own thoughts. Maybe SAFA should find a way to balance things out, eg, use/allow the Vuvuzela at intervals and prematch and postmatch parties etc but respect the actual discipline that the players need to focus on their game by providing peace? There must be a way to work this out. We don't want our WC hosting to be remembered for the noise.
Anon11/17/2009 9:29 AM
Trying to watch the Confed Cup this year was impossible without eventually getting a headache from the constant annoying drone the vuvuzela makes, I can only imagine what its like in the stadium. Ban It.
Mario11/17/2009 9:27 AM
The whole world is asking to ban this irritating and annoying noise…why don’t you listen to them. Don’t get me wrong I love football and I love our culture but I can’t remember the vuvuzela being part of it all of my football life. I’m 33 years old and I think it’s only been with us for the last 10 – 15 years. It is not part of our culture… when can we really say or when does something become part of who we are as a nation because of a percentage of people calling it that and I’m not being racist here – I’m talking about how may people in SA really calls it an SA tradition making it part of who we are? Ban teh damn thing and lets move on...
finally!11/17/2009 9:24 AM
haha finally someone stands up and says it.. "Perhaps if they play good football (the fans) will be quiet and watch." u pay more to watch and listen to a noise rather than the football
Anne S11/17/2009 9:23 AM
AMEN!!!!! I FULLY SUPPORT THIS!!!! I've been looking at this MTN Adverts and it really drives me CRAZY to listen to all these Africans blowing this tuneless trumpet whilst dancing like a lot of substance abusers. It seems to me the lower a person's IQ is the harder that IDIOT blows his instrument. BAN THIS VUVUCR*P PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Floyd11/17/2009 9:23 AM
I do not attend any games "live" simply because of the vuvuzela. I will not be attending any world cup games unless these things are banned !!
jackey11/17/2009 9:22 AM
Please Japan, Rather stick to Martial Arts and sword making and leave the vuvu alone, This is a South African world cup and the vuvu will remain....
Lance11/17/2009 9:21 AM
WTF - what's with these doose who come here and tell us what we can and cannot do?It's our way of supporting and enjoying soccer.We don't go to Japan and tell them to stop eating dog's and snakes-they're stupid.In England the noise the fans make is so loud you see players running up to each other ALL the time to communicate - players love the noise as it encourages them as the fans love it. Japan is only good at producing drifters and reliable, ugly cars...stick to that you stooges! I'll blow my vuvuzella proudly!
cuba11/17/2009 9:18 AM
good, ban that plastic piece of crap
Hein11/17/2009 9:17 AM
Ban the vuvuzela .The soccer world cup is more important than the vuvuzela.The vuvuzela overwelm the game.
Arly-G11/17/2009 9:15 AM
Voetsek Japan, Jou fonkong.
I agree11/17/2009 9:13 AM
I agree...it's bloody noisy!!! If they say it's part of the culture, they are BS-ing, as the thing wasnt around 10/15 yrs ago.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Updated: Hottest SWC WAGs

Updated: Hottest SWC 2010 WAGs

Logs
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team
Vote

World Cup 2010 is over and the country is returning to normal - but have you moved on yet?

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide