Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!

FIFA ignore Robben comments

2014-06-30 19:02
Arjen Robben (Supplied)

Rio de Janerio - Dutch star Arjen Robben will not face any disciplinary action after admitting to diving during his team's last 16 victory with Mexico, FIFA have confirmed on Monday.

Robben, who won a match-winning injury-time penalty to secure a 2-1 win for the Netherlands, admitted later he had dived in a failed attempt to win a spot-kick earlier in the match.

However FIFA spokeswoman Delia Fischer ruled out any possibility of retrospective actions when asked about Robben's comments at a briefing on Monday.

Fischer said sanctioning after the fact only applied to "serious infringements of foul play which have escaped the notice of the match officials."

The Dutch Football Association (KNVB) have said earlier on Monday that Robben's post-match comments had been misinterpreted.

"Media have interpreted statements from Robben in a Dutch post match interview completely wrong," the KNVB said.

More In This Category

Alejandro Sabella, who steered Argentina to the SWC final, has decided to quit as coach, Argentine has media reported.
The Japanese referee whose decisions in the opening match of the SWC triggered a storm of controversy has hit back at critics.
Brazilian superstar Neymar's brain activity while dancing past opponents is less than 10 percent the level of amateur players.
England's dismal SWC campaign in Brazil was doubly disappointing for Britain's pub operators, prompting soccer fans to stay at home.
Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk