Toure wins top African award

2011-12-23 08:12
Yaya Toure (File)

Accra - Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure was named African Footballer of the Year on Thursday.

The 28-year-old finished ahead of Mali's Seydou Keita and Ghanaian Andre 'Dede' Ayew in polling by national coaches of the 53-member associations of the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

The full tally of votes was not immediately released by CAF, African soccer's governing body.

Toure thanked his family, including brother and City team-mate Kolo, in a brief acceptance speech at the CAF awards in Ghana.

"This award is not important for me alone. It's for my country and for my club," he said.

"This is a big step in my career, I'm very thrilled. To be the winner is fantastic."

Toure, the second Ivorian to land the award after twice-winner Didier Drogba of Chelsea, enjoyed a fine year for club and country.

He scored the winning goal in Manchester City's 1-0 victory over Stoke City in the FA Cup final and this season has impressed in his club's rise to the top of the Premier League.

Toure also helped Ivory Coast finish their African Nations Cup qualifying campaign with a 100 percent record.

The midfielder joined City from Barcelona for a fee of around 24 million pounds after the 2010 Soccer World Cup in South Africa.

Toure, who had a nomadic early career in Europe, was ever present for his country in 2011.

The Ivorians were the only side to win every game in the preliminaries for the 2012 finals and are among the favourites for next month's competition in Equatorial Guinea and Gabon.

Midfielder Keita, who won the Champions League and La Liga with Barcelona, was runner-up to Toure.

Ayew, whose father Abedi Pele won three African Footballer of the Year awards from 1991-93, finished third.

The 2011 CAF award winners:

Footballer of the Year
Yaya Toure (CIV and Manchester City/ENG)

Africa-based Footballer of the Year
Oussama Darragi (TUN and Esperance)

National team of the Year

Women’s national team of the Year

Club of the Year
Esperance (TUN)

Coach of the Year
Harouna Doula (NIG)

Most promising talent of the Year
Souleymane Coulibaly (CIV and Tottenham/ENG)

Women’s footballer of the Year
Perpetua Nkwocha (NGR)

Referee of the Year
Noumandiez Doue (CIV)

Special recognition awards
Mustapha Hadji (MAR)
Austin 'Jay Jay' Okocha (NGR)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who will claim the Premier League title at the end of the 2016/17 season?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.