Soccer

SA needs white soccer players

2010-07-20 17:23
Email | Print
Leslie Sedibe (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Soccer bosses want white South Africans to take more of an interest in playing soccer, saying it will make the game "more interesting and lively".

"We want to see people like Andy Karacinski and all those white football players we used to see in the 80s," SA Football Association (SAFA) chief executive Leslie Sedibe told MPs on the portfolio committee on sport and recreation on Tuesday.

"It makes it interesting. It makes it lively.

"If we are going to succeed we are going to need the support... We need to create that appetite."

Sedibe said the non-participation of traditional Model C schools and white schools in soccer was a problem for SAFA.

"Many of these schools are simply not interested," he said.

"As a united South Africa, it is important that we begin to mobilise schools and make sure they take part."

He had heard from a parent that soccer was not allowed at their child's Afrikaans school in Magaliesburg.

That was something he wanted to change.

"We can't continue on that basis."

SAFA president Kirsten Nematandani said there had been an exciting response from "the Afrikaans speaking public" after the World Cup.

"There was a very exciting response from the public, particularly the Afrikaans speaking public, which was rare in past," he said.

Your Comments

Odiri Nigeria8/16/2010 4:57 PM
Allow me dis opportunity, been 2 South Africa 4 d W/C. I luvd d country, Joburg, Cape Town, Rustenburg, Nelspruit, truly beautiful nd evryting so functional. I salute u white ppl. ure surely marvellous 2 hav built such beautiful country on dis continent while d rest of countries falter undr corruption nd mismanagmnt, dis expedition was an eye opener 2 me. 2 all ur black ppl, b tankful 4 d white ppl 4 still keepn ur beautiful country afloat, go c d rest of Africa, u shud embrace nd not dispose of dem. dis blog shows d deep rooted hatred, plz stop else ure country will become like d rest of d continent, God forbid. I salute u white ppl frm s africa, I neva knew such beautiful place exist on our continent, truly d jewel of d continent. Unite nd excel, WELL DONE!!!!
Odiri Nigeria8/16/2010 4:27 PM
Allow me dis opportunity, been 2 South Africa 4 d W/C. I luvd d country, Joburg, Cape Town, Rustenburg, Nelspruit, truly beautiful nd evryting so functional. I salute u white ppl. ure surely marvellous 2 hav built such beautiful country on dis continent while d rest of countries falter undr corruption nd mismanagmnt, dis expedition was an eye opener 2 me. 2 all ur black ppl, b tankful 4 d white ppl 4 still keepn ur beautiful country afloat, go c d rest of Africa, u shud embrace nd not dispose of dem. dis blog shows d deep rooted hatred, plz stop else ure country will become like d rest of d continent, God forbid. I salute u white ppl frm s africa, I neva knew such beautiful place exist on our continent, truly d jewel of d continent. Unite nd excel, WELL DONE!!!!
mlungisi8/16/2010 11:28 AM
Sadly some white poeple comment for the sake of commenting, they know nothing about SA football. do they always have to be this negative?give us facts as to how white poeple were chased out of football. Fact is- 1 during he aparthed era, there were 4 diferent leagues-black, white, indian and colourd leagues.erevery race groups had its own league thank to the government at time, becouse other races were inferiour to white people.when apartheid was abolished the was only one league which was the NSL-THEN WHAT HAPPEND TO WHITE PEOPLE? they isolated themselves. i'm not racist and i will never be but some white people in this country will never change.
Footballizer7/26/2010 4:26 PM
All you okes are cracking me up with your comments. All brainers indeed...
Tshaks7/26/2010 3:30 PM
Mr.Sedibe,i think this is the starting point of healing South Africa and this is a positive note which is quete interesting coming from young generation like you.I think if we start drifting away from a recial diveded to a totaly embraced nation SA will never be like Zimbabwe. This the reason why the music industry was crying when you left them because they new that they have lost a leader.well done the mases will give you the nessecary support you need.
Julie7/26/2010 2:06 PM
Nathi, grow up!! Why contribute usless racial comments on a page where people are mostly agreeing on skill and not colour!
Frustration7/25/2010 1:45 PM
EISH MAN!!! Why all this hana hana about black and white players?? Who cares about the skin color? Most important now is we need SKILLFUL players that can play, not think about the moola and chicks every time they play. SAFA and Pitso, you guys better get your act straight and forget about the skin color, we need SKILLFUL players. Learn something from REAL MADRID.
Madluphuthu alias mcondo 7/24/2010 11:08 PM
Mr Sedi"" Mad"" whites are superior they should not mix with black people they must create their own league and ask SEB BUTTER to play in Bhazil in 2014 world cup
Nathi7/24/2010 11:50 AM
Lesli must just shut up!!! Just a good example of young leaders who do not know our history. Whites were never chased away from soccer but due to their "superiority" just drifted away from a black crowded sport ( as in everything where blacks start to accumualate they leave, beaches, schools, surbubs etc.). Unfortunately the world is only this small, can not be extended just for them and blacks are mixing themselves with whoever is prepared to share their world with.Go on whites isolate yourselves who knows maybe your might end up into the sea where you belong. And we will keep breathing the same fresh air as you (unfortunately you can not excape the same fresh air we share).We have tried to accommodate them but they always keep laughing at our effort. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!!
Gerryt7/23/2010 2:21 PM
This is a good general view from Sedibe, which is anti-racial. Can you also make good anti-racial general proposals which encourage unity for the opposite race not in a derogatory way.
Ames7/23/2010 2:01 PM
Why do they want white players now - they had a white player and various coloured players to choose from for the 2010 World Cup and none were played. It looked as if it was case of only one or two coloured players on the field at any given time - off went Pienaar who is a midfielder and on comes Parker who is a striker. Soccer will remain where it is now until politics is taken out of it.
Peter7/23/2010 1:52 PM
Soccer in SA is NOT a black sport, it is played by ALL race groups,, the "big" teams employ 95% black players though & developement funds are focused only in those communities,,, go to Westbury every afternoon & you,ll see crowds of youngsters playing soccer, our black brothers (like our white brothers before them) couldn,t care less
Darin7/23/2010 10:41 AM
The establishment of the PSL back in 1982 or there abouts was the start of the death of white football in S.A. White clubs were forced to field more than 50% black players if they wanted to play in the PSL. Sponsorships dried up for white teams and the guys who personally were keeping these teams going financially found it impossible to continue doing so. In 1992 when SAFA wa formed it was their sole intention to ensure that footbal in S.A became a 100% black sport. The BEE charter was the final nail in the coffin for amateur football clubs when sponsors were forced to only make money available to clubs who had more than 70% black players. When I approached SAFA in 1996 with an academy business proposal , I was told that unless it catered for black kids they would not even look at it. " Football in South Africa is a black sport - move on " Unity in the running of South African soccer was realised in 1991 but at professional level, black and white clubs amalgamated their disparate league back in 1978, the first sport after boxing to cross the colour barrier. The white clubs were seduced by the massive crowds which their black counterparts attracted, and were quick to hitch their wagon to where the people were. But over the years the formerly whites-only teams faded away or sold their franchise ( forced to sell there franchise ), giving birth to several new identities, who remain part of the current Premier Soccer League structures. ....... and this football is 25+ years behind where the football was in the NFL. Another former superstar, Jomo Sono, who played with Pele and other galaxy of stars. Sono formed . When Jomo Sono returned home from playing for New York Cosmos and Toronto Blizzard in the early 1980s, he had enough money to buy the biggest white club of the day - Highlands Park of Johannesburg. It was a highly symbolic purchase in an era when blacks were subjugated by the Apartheid system and Sono has been a folk hero ever since, destroying a massive white institution with the flick of a cheque book. ( and destroying what was a proper football club ) I can go on and on about this forever ... but the reality is that football in this country has been dealt a cruel blow by the NPSL personel and the then SAFA regime and today we sit with what was sown by them ...... a really poor level of football .... and no whites participating in football !
Lisaman7/23/2010 8:47 AM
The sooner this country gets over quota, the better we will be. More facilities need to go into rural areas and our private schools encouraged too. That way we can just choose the best players for the job!! Our teams will be awesome in all sports!! Let kids decide who wants to play what - not politicians
FOOTBALL LOVER7/22/2010 8:00 PM
I love football so much that I don't care if the national team is white, black, pink, or blue, just as long as they are the best at that moment in time.
rodney7/22/2010 7:47 PM
I would like to adress myself to William,Race or racism has no bearing on the current status of south african football,Yes in historical times,i mean some 40yrs ago,soccer was segregated just like the population segregation by the Apartheid regime.So Whites were never chased away from football,they just didnt want to associate with the black soccer playing masses,infact young as I am whites had better facilities to play their sport,compared to the black masses in the dusty field.The point is Whites were not isolated from soccer,but they isolated themselves due to their ill perceived superiority/Grandiosity.So to hel with it,if white south africans want to play football,to hell with it,let them go play and they will be selected on their merit.This that South africa needs whites too much for our future is far from the truth,and failure of every single african govt,from Ghana to Zim,is not entirely out of africans not able to govern themselves,but by whole lot of issues which are irrelevant in this thread.I wish this race thing will stop already.
William7/22/2010 5:14 PM
Surely FIFA told you guys to transform or be left in the dark. Soccer in SA is as black as mud. Transformation and affirmative action are only to continue excluding whites. Now, with an ALL Black soccer team, you all of a sudden need Whites. Wake up you fools. A black and white pig or a zebra or cattle cannot choose what colour they want to be. However, shoot it in the white or black area, it hurts anyway. It is time you realise South Africa is black and white, and no matter where you shoot, it hurts. Wake up, tell Zuma and also Malema to start building the nation, not breaking it down. There you go again with Afrikaans schools in Magaliesburg. Do you even know that the place is so small that the schools all have to be mixed? Yet, you try to blame Afrikaans for the lack of footballers there. Blame the sytem for not selecting the Whites. If half the Springbok team has to be Black, why not transform soccer and have 50% Whites in that team? You cannot fool us, Inherently you remain racist, but after the world cup FIFA told you to change the face, or face the music. You do not even realise how much the Whites have changed in 15 years, do you? And still they keep SA on the map in all areas, even in Government departments. Without the Whites there is no SA. It will be another Zimbabwe or any of so many up in Africa. If you want to prosper, engage and embrace the Whites. They are South African and also as African as can be.
Serg7/22/2010 4:08 PM
Its about filling up our stadiums with local talent. Since the black people cannot afford to pay R500 - R800 to watch a local game , they are now eating their words. They should be punished and ALL white players must stay abroad where there is no RACISM. South Africa is a little behind with things. It took a World Cup to realize what potential our country has. Now they are running back to the white people. LOL
"G"7/22/2010 2:09 PM
Mr. Sedibe said it and know it is time to practice it. The white/coloured/indian people always plays soccer in SA it is just that certain black people was not interested to select them for their clubs and for the Bafana squad. Some of the teams only have black players. If Mr. Sedibe are true than he will have my and the rest of SA's support immediately and SA soccer will florish once again. For all the other people who thinks soccer is a black sport must go and talk to someone because they have serious issues. PHAMBILI SA SOCCER PHAMBILI...I can almost feel the excitement off real soccer again as at the time of Peter Ballack, Andy "Jesus" Karachinski, Steward Lilly, Jan Molombo, Webster Lichaba, Ace Minini, Steve Wegerle, Neill Roberts,Ace Ntsoelengoe and many more.....ha lala
Chubby @ All7/22/2010 11:57 AM
Race, Race, Race. This is all SA's about. National teams are supposed to be the BEST OF THE BEST. I dont care what colour they are! For them to say whites should be included more, means they still have no idea that its about talent, not race. Clearly SA still has a looong way to go.
ken7/22/2010 10:12 AM
I am chairman of a fully intergrated amateur football club where football is king-not colour. Having said that our white players have been approached by only one club to join the academy.....Wits
ColorBlind7/22/2010 10:04 AM
SA soccer is filled with loads of politics. there are tons of 'white' players, but they dont get sighted. Soccer is not a game that should be associated with a certain race, but it should be a game associated with passion. on the other hand a lot can be said for 'coulored people fall in a similar boat as the whites guys. These are some of the reasons I rarely support SA soccer, I will rather lend my eyes and ears to La Liga or The English Premiership.
Henriette7/22/2010 9:59 AM
Is there anyone (coach) out there you are willing to train and guide a "team" of 11 year old boys who are desperate to play soccer, they even teamed up and asked the headmaster of the Afrikaans primary school (more than a year ago) to please introduce soccer as a sport in the school, no luck! I am not getting involved in this political circus I am just trying to source a place for these boys to practice and play a sport. Don't tell me not to force soccer down your throat, that is not what I am doing, unfortunately my son's school does not support soccer. I am happy to travel to a club and pay coaching fees, as long as I can source one for junior players in the northern suburbs of Pretoria, I will only need to do this for 2 more years because the Highschool he plans to attend does offer soccer as an extramurial activity. Can someone please help!!!!
Roger7/22/2010 9:52 AM
As a teacher and a rugby coach, i tried to enjoy the World Cup. It seems that everything i try to teach my boys about respect and working hard to achieve your goals is the opposite of what I saw on the field. As a teacher I would never want my son to learn that cheating is needed to win and that you can show such massive disrespect to the ref and other players. besides Bakkies of course rugby teaches our children the disciplines of life. Soccer must stay in disorganised the clubs.
slacker787/22/2010 9:49 AM
Its about time everyone is given a better chance to play sport in this country and not looked at just your colour!This is the rainbow nation and we have huge populations of Portuguese,Italian,English,German,Spanish,Dutch.These were residents of some of the best footballing nations in the world,You telling me that out of all these 'white' nationals NONE of them are good enough to play in the South African league???Its ridiculous we have the best of everything.If only all these people put in the top positions would stop involving politics in sport and just let the BEST of the BEST represent our country!!
lungisa7/22/2010 9:31 AM
It doesnt form good argument for whites to use Booth as example because he is married to a black woman n they have babies of colour.....now,....his generation will never help White's cause.....anyway Paw I love your comment we all should think like south africans not like racists...
The beautiful game7/22/2010 9:15 AM
Why cant SA be like other countries: England, Aus, NZ, all play different sports - cricket, rugby, soccer. Why discriminate and look down upon the other sport and other races? Let people choose what they want to play. Also, give everyone in this country a fair and equal chance of displaying their skills, especially in soccer. You can't tell me there's not 1 indian who is upto par when it comes to soccer. I for one would have loved to represent the SA national soccer team, and i am Indian. SAFA, pls give everyone a fair chance.
doll7/22/2010 7:00 AM
When the white boys wanted to play soccer from 1994 - you said that there needs to be "transformation" which in actual fact meant exclusion of white players. well now is too late to get the whites to support a sport where we have been excluded for the past 14years. South Africa = reverse apartheid in all aspects - jobs, sport, socially.. live with the consequences
GRassroots7/21/2010 9:14 PM
We dont need white players, we need better players.The future does not sit with ahandful of private schools, it sits with the MILLIONS of under funded schools all over SA. Sticking up football goals at Bishops and Hilton is going to get 100 soccer players. Stick up decent fields with coaches in Langa or Umlazi and you will get tens of thousands have a go. The bishops kids can always play club football, there is no kids club rugby
SA Fan7/21/2010 8:08 PM
We don't need more people playing soccer we need all SA schools to play cricket, rugby and participate in athletics. That is were our best chances of winning titles lies. Soccer is for clubs not schools - leave it there. I hereby invite everyone to play cricket - sweet:-)
Kg7/21/2010 7:53 PM
I don't have problem with white people in SA, but those who just keep on complaining and think they are Gods. There was never a quota system in football since football was the sport of the people and not a race. Rugby was and still a game for whites in this country, issues of racism have been raised many times on rugby games, but how many times have you heard of racism in football? I am a big fan of Matthew booth, unfortunately he lacks pace but good in the air because of his height. To:@KG My brother I don't have any problem with white people, but I have a problem with those who think they are all that or better than blacks. All those European Countries you watched here in SA i.e. Spain it was all white, do you want to know why? Guess so...........the majority of the people in Spain are white finish and klaar.
Nkwali7/21/2010 7:44 PM
Soccer is just as interesting as other sports if not more. I also went to a school (only for two years) where soccer was not allowed. Lots of us used to play at lunch because we loved the sport but because of the rules we could not compete. After leaving that school I could hardly play and had lost interest. Don't know what u call that but I'll call it wasting people's talent because of stupid rules. Soccer like any other sport is for everyone.
cyberboy uk7/21/2010 7:31 PM
What on earth does race have to do with sport - can't South Africans now forget about race and concentrate on achievement?
rightguard7/21/2010 7:22 PM
@Cohenfan If Larry Cohen is so good you have not seen Martin Cohen,the best midfield player locally I have ever seen.But this goes back + 35 years and therein lies the problem.What has happened to all the ex-NFL players?Have they just disapeared off the face of this earth? Martin used to play for Highlands Park if anyone care to remember. More tragically millions have been poured into the game all over the world.If whites feel discriminated against(I do not think Carlos Alberto Parreira discrimianted against Matthew Booth) the world is their oyster. Average players earn 20 000 pounds a week these days .For a rugby or cricket player that is a little fortune to lay ones hands on.
What the .??7/21/2010 7:21 PM
What game is this hypocrit playing??. Ofcourse white players want to play soccer. They won't and DONT GET SELECTED! Are questions beinging raised internationally at our toO AA soccer team - that got a lot of white support? What a pathetic excuse we dont want to mix - try another lie sir
Really?7/21/2010 6:56 PM
I played soccer in the halycon days....the 1980's...had a wonderful time & played with & against some of the best in the country...both Black & White. Post 1994, we have Airfurmative Ekshen...my son plays golf, rides horses, & plays tennis...he won't be playing soccer at all....as soon as he has finished his education he will take his talents (which are considerable) overseas....He will flourish & be happy, so will I, & so will the racist ANC no doubt...everyone wins!!!
Kraga7/21/2010 6:50 PM
World cup is over and people are at it again, a month ago it's almost like no1 had anything to argue about. article: encourage ppl:yes, quotas: no
bryan7/21/2010 6:23 PM
At private primary school, my friends son was threatened with stabbing if he continued to play soccer, so he now plays golf.
Travis7/21/2010 5:54 PM
Viva, democracy in all schools' sporting practices, viva! SAFA should create a national "name and shame" list of all schools that refuse to offer football. It should then support students, parents and interested staff with information on "how to" pressurize these reluctant schools into offering a sport that most learners and parents want, but are not offered by un-democratic, tradition-bent school managements. P.S. Mr Leslie Sedibe, through appropriate use of social media, this can be done fairly inexpensively. Let's see more action, less talk. Forward football in ALL schools, forward!
MJE7/21/2010 4:59 PM
What a bunch of idiots weve got running SAFA, you should be embarrassed and ashamed of yourselves. Now this plonker Sedibe gregarioulsy comes out and makes a statement about whites being included, your'e clearly having a laugh arent you? Everyone know's in this society that no matter how good the white ou is he isnt going to get a fair shout, thats why they all give up after club soccer at the age of 16. There are hundreds of soccer clubs throughout SA with thousands of soccer players enjoying the game, you dont have to go to the schools to implement this just give the lads who are playing club soccer a fair chance, and when I say lads i mean ALL lads.
Idiotic rambling7/21/2010 4:38 PM
The reason whites dont play is because they will never make the national team... the sooner they all realise that, the better...
Fire7/21/2010 4:32 PM
Lets build a white / coloured /indian soccer and show dem f@#$ show dem
Not a soccer fan7/21/2010 4:03 PM
This is very funny to hear and I agree that the national squad needs more white players. I say if they want to impliment a quote system for all other sports then the same must be applied to soccer. Unfortunately SAFA do not want white players or in the past they did not want any. I know of more than 10 guys that went to school with me who has all left to apply their trade overseas as they were "not good enough" according to the South African bosses. I am sure there are 100's of white players that has left our shores for greener playing fields.
LL PONN7/21/2010 3:55 PM
This is the most stupid idea i have come across. Are there white people in this country or the world ? All i see are Africans, Europeans, Asians and Coloureds. You're the kind that call GREEN grapes as white grapes.
wow!!7/21/2010 3:43 PM
wow-the report really made me smile...then i read the comments. sies,people!!!! we have made NO progress as a nation.we like each other even less than before. i am a white,afrikaans man who played soccer at 'n pretty high level untill about three years ago.played rugby as well.and wished for the day i would read this news... but the comments woke me up.we'll never move ahead if EVERYTHING has to be spat at like this news report was spat at in the angry commentary. this is so sad...i won't ever play in the psl and reading all your comments...looks like my future kids wont either...
Boesman7/21/2010 3:39 PM
White quota players for soccer..... it's about time!!!
Mpilo7/21/2010 3:04 PM
SAFA is talking crap, this has nothing to do with white or blacks, but talent... they should have more schools of excellence instead of leaving it up to the local teams or schools for that matter. It does not mean that just because a player is in the PSL that they have the ultimate advantage, the are hundreds of players that are not given the opportunity, that realise that since their talent is unrecognised they might as well venture into other things. SAFA wake up and take responsibility because you are failing the country and the millions of fans. Nx!!!
synergy@live.co.za7/21/2010 2:59 PM
What happened to Tony Croyl i think his name was. He was yum!!!
Tinytim7/21/2010 2:58 PM
Only one whitey in SWC team who got more advert time than playing time. When we did play it became quota time, so we changed our game. Now we must send our kids to play for SAFA, do u or don't you want whities to play for Bafana?
Stopa7/21/2010 2:37 PM
I think we need not to gave our selfs headaches all sports are been played at schools
christoph7/21/2010 2:32 PM
Strange how many of you people know nothing about SA football history. What created todays situation that rugby is almost only played by whites and soccer by blacks? Soccer was played 100 years ago almost exclusively by SA-Europeans. Later when some coloured elements were allowed the world acknowledged that there was racial discrimination existing in SA-soccer. Then came the ban of Fifa of SA-soccer on the international stage. What other chance did blacks have than play soccer domestically.....and whites started worshiping the game of rugby. Seems to me as if the negative vibe coming from inside SA has already come back.....and it does not come from the dark corner I believe but rather from an insecure white spot in this country.!
dc7/21/2010 2:16 PM
holy sh*&T people... sucj long crap.. Just get your kids involved in the sport...and keep them fit.. at club , school and national level. Its also up to SAFA to put their money where their mouth is and invest at all levels of the game to ensure the coloured team does come through... the soon to be majority in this country.
janette7/21/2010 1:54 PM
Xolani- thanks you for your reply, to Kapi have you ever been involved in club soccer.....................intergration happens, but it is the Powers to be that are the problem
shads7/21/2010 1:52 PM
THey should implement provincial soccer, and not just at club level. Even in the Cape coloured areas, I have taken my boys for trials they are simply not black enough. Yet when we paly at club level it is all races and their is talent regardless of clolour. We simply want theberst to represent our country, I can honestly say that was not our best. Take Lance he was sitting on the bench, yet he got a 3 year contract with a club in Germany, he is talented since the age of 9 and so are a lot of youngsters in the western cape. The admin in the soccer and the infighting needs to be stopped, the mismanagement of funds. The brazilians players comes from the slums, they scout only for the best, we have the best yet we always take the 2nd best because they play for clubs like Kaizer Chief and Orlando Pirates. South African soccer needs tranformation and the fat cats must be thrown out
DeonL7/21/2010 1:45 PM
Choose Bakkies Botha he is available for a few months and can use his head too!! Ha Ha! We need a few more brothers in the boks for the future, I hope more black schools would include rugby in the future.
KKR7/21/2010 1:39 PM
STOP EVERYONE - why are u fighting amongst yrselves on this article. Here is the reason for this: SOCCER PLAYERS OF VARIOUS COLOURS ESPECIALLY THE WHITE FOLKS WILL BRING IN REVENUE FOR THESE BIG STADIUMS. And that is the only reason. If they are going to hike up the prices then only the working class people will be able to afford it. So why not bring in some colour so we can have the rainbow nation watching the local soccer together. More white people in the stadiums the better for them and more the reason to hike up prices again.
Coach7/21/2010 1:31 PM
I played soccer all my life. Earned provincial caps for my province until the age of 17. The yearly provincial competions were run by various big organisations. SAFA never direclty were involved. When I coached, started with a group of boys from the age of 6. By the time they were 16, the team was in the SAFA league. Played against the teams of Kaizer Chiefs,pirates,Supersport,Wits.The only team to beat us was the Pirates team. Their coach was Palacois. My team was made up of players from around the neighbourhood. Then these professional teams poach the players with promises.The next year the player can't make the squad because the coach has 25 new black players from the disadvantaged area's. They are then also kicked out when not needed. These professional clubs uses the youngsters to find 1 star to sell and make money. No long term interest in a player or his future. White playerswith potential leave to go overseas at their own costs to try and get into a team. Soccer at schools will always be a 2nd rate programme. It is clubs in the neighbourhoods that need to be developed.
SP7/21/2010 1:26 PM
What about choosing GOOD players for the team in stead of white or black players?
duke7/21/2010 1:23 PM
i'v played soccer for many years..we played white,black,coloured teams and we won most of the games...we witness the SWC...the whole rainbownation was behind Bafana Bafana...when Bafana Bafana failed to go into the second round...they then appointed a new coach...which is good as he is local...why dont SAFA or PSL teams make up a rainbownation team which includes all the races in our lovely country...i'm sure Bafana Bafana would be a better team. an soccer would be supported as Bafana Bafana was supported at the SWC...if this is done i bet u the stadiums will be full...we all want to see our children grow up in rainbow nation country...it not all about Blacks and Whites...the rainbow dont only have those two colours...so pls start selecting...indian and coloured children
Qvadis7/21/2010 1:18 PM
"The proof is in the pudding"! Africa did not make it in SWC!
chop@hotmail.com7/21/2010 1:09 PM
When there were whites playing we were ranked higher then ever and even won african nations cup, many whites like myself dont get picked and go over seas and do get picked because they dont see colour
dumkofp7/21/2010 1:04 PM
Bee crap as usual. If I was still younger and play soccer I would leave the country..............Why is that smiling jam pot suggesting this after the world cup....because it's international gatkruipers........
Chadboy7/21/2010 12:57 PM
Sad as we have won plently club competions oversea and done SA proud with truly multi racial teams but their has been no futrue for white young players to step up toafter development. Thus losing them to Rugby our they drop out. I think get with it Safa we have many great player in the land get more involved at clubs around SA and give all equal opportunities and we will grow as per rugby to dominate the world and not embarase ourselves.
JODY7/21/2010 12:54 PM
YEAH, AND CRIME , CORRUPTION, WILL ALSO BE ADRESSED>
GeorGe27/21/2010 12:54 PM
Why would/must the white persons bother. Look what happeneed to M Booth in the world cup - made up the numbers and warmed the seat - it was a token gesture - just because he is married to a blackskin!! - Prove me wrong!
Buti7/21/2010 12:45 PM
how irony that the SAFA Bigwigs are calling whites to play soccer , when if fact they have kill it in the townships. Kister have hadly watch any of football greats like Gordon Ignesund, Leslie was busy with music when Bradley Carnell mesmerise us with his talend, for all white parents who are deprving their children the pleasure of playing soccer , yet the goes to pubs and bars to secretly watch soccer , shame on. Compare Nass Botha to Pele, only few in the world would know nass. sport is a univeral phenomen, it does need a press conference, For all white a world cup was an oppoturnity gone abacky, Shame
Cyril Poonen7/21/2010 12:42 PM
Ya Rip van Winkle u finally got up , yes the National football team should be of all the race groups of the country.
goal7/21/2010 12:41 PM
forget it they cant play soccer hence some playing in psl
Krotoa's child7/21/2010 12:41 PM
Why would members of the white minority be “shying away from mixing themselves with blacks?” It is not white kids that are the racists – many want to play soccer and make friends with black South-Africans but find it impossible. It takes two to tango. The attitude of black people in the country is very bad. They want to dominate everything and exclude white people with a smile because the latter is not actually welcome in Africa. I get the impression that these people with the bad attitude that are clearly not interested in nation building, are deliberately making lairs out of our esteemed and duly elected leaders. Firstly they clearly display and even revel in their hatred for white people, anger and pain that according to President Zuma were already overcome under the profound leadership of former President Mandela and secondly they are contrary to the policies of the ANC perpetuating and enforcing racial domination by black people over the white minority in all spheres of human activity in the country. President Zuma made the following self-explanatory remarks in response to the State of the Nation debate in the National Assembly on 16 February 2010: “We wish to thank speakers in yesterday’s debate who paid tribute to Madiba and drew attention to his outstanding contribution to this subject. Indeed we all came together in unity to pay tribute to this icon of our nation, who continues to inspire us in everything we do. Madiba remains a powerful symbol of the strides we have made as a nation. He led us during a difficult period of transition. He taught us to overcome anger, pain and hatred, and to move forward to build a non-racial, democratic and prosperous future nation. Thanks to Madiba, this country laid a firm foundation for development and progress. We have achieved a lot since 1994” And: “Honourable Members, this government is already responding to the challenges of tomorrow. We will work with all South Africans to build a better and brighter future. It is a non-racial democratic future, a future of unity and harmony. It is the future outlined by our icon Madiba in his statement from the dock in the Rivonia Treason Trial, on 20 April 1964. He said: • It is not true that the enfranchisement of all will result in racial domination. • Political division, based on colour, is entirely artificial and, when it disappears, so will the domination of one colour group by another. • The ANC has spent half a century fighting against racialism. • When it triumphs it will not change that policy. Let us work together for a common prosperous future.” The black people reason that soccer in SA is black because the transformation of the game has been successfully completed. What has changed since the 2010 SWC – nothing except that a certain person thinks he is clever by blaming and accusing the white community and in particular white schools that they do not want to co-operate. Sick,sick,sick. These soccer people are by their very nature not bridge builders – they are destroyers of sound inter-cultural relations and are following the instructions of the ANC?SACP combination and are serving the aims and objectives of the NDR. They only alledge that they want to see more white kids playing soccer for what specific reason? It will be silly to say “to improve the quality of the game” and by doing so implies that black players are not world class!!!!! I think they are making what they regard as the “right noises” because they only want to restore some credibility in the eyes FIFA and the world. They want to say that they asked and even begged but that the white minority rejected their hand of friendship. Sick, sick sick. Proof me wrong and unilaterally create a 50/50 quota system for the next 15 years in representative schools football.
paw7/21/2010 12:38 PM
Soccer IS played at some Model C schools although it certainly wasn't an option when my sons were at school. It was always about rugby which I have never had any interest in and neither did my late husband coming from the UK. This is a problem which should be addressed at school level regardless of whether it is a former Model C or a township school. The best children should be chosen to represent their schools and things like quotas forgotten. The schools then would compete against each other and then the winners of the regions selected to play against other regions etc. In this way the cream would rise natrually to the top instead of having to use a separator to do it which is based on race. Tope schools could offer scholarships to boys from less advantaged where real skill is detected but of course academics too would need to come into the scholarship as I think is done with American baseball or whatever. IT HAS TO START FROM YOUNG CHILDREN - integration that is. I infinitely prefer soccer to rugby, it is a fast game and require much more skill and athleticism than rugby and there are far less serious injuries incurred like paralysis and even death resulting from neck injuries. There is less thuggery as well. Children with a natural ability should be coached and encouraged from young ages, after all it is practice practice practice and experience which teaches anything, why else do children have to start school at 6 years of age by learning the basics and gradually over 12 years the cream rises to the top. Let us not put Bafana down, let us rethink the approach we all take to how to achieve a world beating team. We took some talented players and spent a small fortune on the very best coaching that could be given and their selection was based on misguided laws that are no different to apartheid laws of segregation. Cream rises naturally to the top of milk given time. Bafana played their hearts out and as South Africans we should not put them down. They did the best they could. For integration to take place we have to disregard colour and look at merit and performance so that as a country of South Africans we can stand behind OUR team regardless of what number of players of colour there are in the team. We are all a colour after all and relationships should be based on common goals not individual goals alone. If you want to excel as an individual then play tennis or squash or do gymnastics or athletics. SAFA should perhaps be focussing their time on looking out for the children at ground level who show talent at school entry level and building from there. Africa has just as many talented and driven people as any other country but we are going about this from the wrong angle. Offer incentives to good scholars and sportsmen into better schools with already built facilities to those where facilities do not exist. Maintain and upgrade through voluntary community help the soccer facilities which do exist in the township. In this way youth will have incentives and hope and communities will be more united. There will be a form of osmosis where new styles can be built - African styles, not World styles. Kids don't see colour unless it is thrust upon them. Some people do not see colour as a detemining factor. I would not move out of my house should a person of different ethnic background move in next door. Like finds like, one can have animals which are abandoned raised by an animal of a different species despite disparities in size colur etc. Why can't ebony and ivory people do this without someone forcing this upon them by law? The time for legal political redress is over. THAT is why apartheid went so wrong. And that is why 17 years down the line we are still not as united as we could be. It is because people keep generalising and missing the point. Africans must start to love themselves and we are all Africans if we are born on this continent. MY ancestry might be more recently European but originally some ancestors of mine left Africa for land or adventure so in reaity the whole world is descended from Africans. WE are South Africans, let us unite as we did for the SWC and create something that the rest of the world wants. Let us address as communities the problems we face regardless of whether our ancestors did somethings awful to each other. We have an amazing country, let's take hands and teach the world we can work in harmony as its inhabitants.
Huh?7/21/2010 12:28 PM
Another miunderstanding doing rounds here! Matthew Booth was selected, together with 22 other players. And only 11 could play at a time. Why b!tch about him not playing when 12 others didnt play either? Be real please. And I say this loving Boooooooooth very much and wishing he'd played!!!!
PAI7/21/2010 12:21 PM
The majority of school children play club football in the Western Cape.Some of them play for their school in the morning and for their lubs in the afternoon on Saturdays.Thats is why we have a power struggle in the W/C,just ask Vernon Seymour and his chronies who has split the W/C in half.I play in a league where there are thousands of white people playing every week but I dont see any SAFA officials.The Metropolitan Cup is hosted every year over easter in the W/C and that is the only time you will see them selecting the best black players in the tournament. Ask Boebie Williams why he was sacked as the national u/20 coach?
lol7/21/2010 12:20 PM
They should go and play for Australia..
WhiteSoccerFan7/21/2010 12:17 PM
I grew up south of the Umgeni in the 70s and 80s when the soccer culture among white school kids was still big. I only knew boys who played soccer. Fast forward 20 years and my teen sons school views soccer as non mainstream. Very sad for me that Rugby, Cricket and Hockey??? are given more importance. I have spent the last 40 years feeling pretty abnormal watching PSL games and hope that post WC more white women will go to matches showcasing the local league
T7/21/2010 12:17 PM
I played soccer at my former Model C school as I had no interest in rugby. This was in the early 2000's. Not once did I get any grief from the guys in the team, the coach or the guys we played against. Also a whole bunch of us in the 'suburbs' played social soccer every week (guys all ages and colours) and many still do. However as we played on school fields it is unlikely anyone would have seen us as the drive by. So yes white boys play soccer - take a look at action soccer league, school fields on the weekend, beaches during the holidays and count the numbers. I think many of the younger generation do mix - we just don't make a big show about. People need to stop trying to force things - the best way to get a young person NOT to do something is to tell them they HAVE to!
We All Love Leeds7/21/2010 12:16 PM
I COMPLETELY agree with this. I have built a club side up over 6 years now.... we are literally half black - half white... one of the only sides in the league who are like that... and we've now won about 8 titles over the past 3 seasons. You have to have a blend of black and white. Its not a race issue... its typical that most of you have made it out to be that in your comments.. there is just a difference in style. The black players generally have more natural talent. The white guys are more focused on positioning etc etc. I know it works... ive done it for 6 years
duke7/21/2010 12:12 PM
i'v played soccer for many years..we played white,black,coloured teams and we won most of the games...we witness the SWC...the whole rainbownation was behind Bafana Bafana...when Bafana Bafana failed to go into the second round...they then appointed a new coach...which is good as he is local...why dont SAFA or PSL teams make up a rainbownation team which includes all the races in our lovely country...i'm sure Bafana Bafana would be a better team. an soccer would be supported as Bafana Bafana was supported at the SWC...if this is done i bet u the stadiums will be full...we all want to see our children grow up in rainbow nation country...it not all about Blacks and Whites...the rainbow dont only have those two colours...so pls start selecting...indian and coloured children
keenan7/21/2010 12:11 PM
Politics should not have a place in our sport, Like FIFA intervened when Nigeria's President got involved in the teams affairs as well as France, so to do they need to do the same in our Soocer. Quota systems, thats Government Policy (political). Why were all these concerns not raised prior to the SWC, SAFA CEO was well aware of the players involved, why not question not having enough "white players" in the team then! My only concern is our future, with all that's happening in our country and particularly in our Sport, where do our YOUTH fit in all this? What platform will they have, in order for them to excel in any sport in this country, if its gonna be based on the colour of your skin and not your God given talent and also how hard you have worked and strived to one day represent your country. Just for them ( "SO CALLED PEOPLE IN POWER") to reject you, for reason that have and still is very political!
Cracker7/21/2010 11:51 AM
As a young caucasian male living in Cape Town I religiously support one of our "Top 4" local teams namely: Man Utd Chelsea Arsenal Liverpool As I can identify with the type of football they play and the fact that they are comprised of all races shapes and sizes... What... They arent local football clubs??? Then... Who are the locals??? Wonder why I'm not interested its got nothing to do with colour but everything to do with equal opportunity.
The Future7/21/2010 11:36 AM
"Many of these schools are simply not interested," he said... Rubbish. The schools are interested, but they are sick and tired of a lack of organisation and leadership from SAFA. They are sick and tired of empty promises. They are sick and tired of a lack of funding. Basically, Lesley, they are sick and tired of people like you who don't have a clue about school soccer and development - they are sick and tired of self promoters who put money into their own bank accounts and who have allowed youth soccer in Msanzi to die. Please submit your resignation now so we can move into the Future!
D:7/21/2010 11:25 AM
Hoekom moet ons vorseer word om sokker te speel.Snaaks hoe die racist woord altyd gebruik word.Speel maar julle sokker....julle is K A K anyway en julle sal so bly...........
Rodney7/21/2010 11:12 AM
Is it not strange how there is always a big "HANA HANA" about black and white when it comes to team sports , why dont the relevant authorities stick their little necks out when tennis , golf & swimming are involved , or has it got something to do with whites not being able to cover for incompetent others , just can't seem to get my head around it!!!!
Super D7/21/2010 11:05 AM
Hoekom moet ons vorseer word om sokker te speel......Snaaks hoe die racist woord altyd genoem word.Speel maar julle sokker en hoop maar vir die beste.Ek persoonlik dink ons suig in sokker.....maar so doen die res van ons die land!!!
coloured boy7/21/2010 11:04 AM
What i don't understand is that when i played junior level (up until U/17) we always use to beat the black teams by big margins as they could not play as a team and always tried to outshine each other on the field, but they were always the ones who represented at provincial level, one of my friends ( who managed to always make the provincial team) went to Cape Town on trials at a PSL team but was simply told to go back home because he is not what they looking for, thats why i left soccer and got my degree. So please don't come call on white players because u chased them away. Btw how many coloured players were in the WC team, Pienaar? not many and other better players were left out for useless players like Modise.
AJ @ Kapi7/21/2010 11:01 AM
The white people relocating are the ones that have sold to a black family. One of the principles of selling a house is that you vacate it for the new owners and go live elsewhere. Retard.
Laughing My A$$ Off7/21/2010 10:55 AM
Cant you see whats coming... it was because of "Apartheid" and the whites that Banana Banana could not make it to the second round....havent we heard this old and very tired tune before?....LMAO Its simple, introduce quota's ( like in all the other sports)!!!!! that would put the cat amongst the pidgeons
@Jannette from Xolani7/21/2010 10:43 AM
This is truly reverse racism at its best. As a black South African I am ashamed. I apologise on behalf of those fools.
Viking 57/21/2010 10:40 AM
Old model C schools should rather focus on soccer than hockey!! Soccer is the worlds biggest game. How many proffesional hockey leagues are there?
kgomza7/21/2010 10:35 AM
lets just pick the right players does not matter the colour please leave this black & white thing is really now becoming BORING!!!!
CohenFan7/21/2010 10:32 AM
Give Larry Cohen a chance, the kids got mad potential, previous coach didnt give him an opportunity, Cohen all the Way
forget it7/21/2010 10:31 AM
aag please now that the world cup is over, now suddenly the lack of white players are addressed, as proven with booth its useless for a white person in this country to try and excel in soccer because they wont be picked for the national team. So why dont you tell us the truth, you guys just want more white players to start playing so that the white supporters can fill your stadiums...forget it well rather spend our money on our rugby (world champions twice and ranked 2nd) and cricket(ranked 2nd) than spend it on soccer where whites will just be discriminated against. Next time give Booth at least a minute of game time in the world cup, oh but wait there wont be a next world cup for us because from now on they'll have to qualify.
why?7/21/2010 10:25 AM
whats the use, do they need white players to warm the bench? How many minutes did Booth get during the worldcup?? zero its no use going into a sport where you are discriminated against, rather go play football overseas.
Kapi7/21/2010 10:21 AM
For examble;when black people move to the suburb areas white people seem to relocate.After 1994 a number of whites playing soccer reduced drastically and they are all interested in rugby,cricket and other sporting activities.Why?? I think it is the mentality that whites SA have,shying away from mixing themselves with blacks.Not long ago there was an issue about racism at Loftus Stadium during a rugby match.Even when you go to private schools and tertiary levels,whites don't participate in soccer except other activities and when you go around suburbs you can only see a black kid playing with a soccer ball and a white one with a rugby.And black kids do participate in all sporting activities.@Proud,just give it a carefull thought because i don't think it has got anything to do with language during broadcasting and for your information if you didn't know SABC1 always do commentary with two languages,either English and Zulu(Saturdays) or English and Sotho(Sundays)...I blame the mindset and attitude of whites around sporting activities.
janette7/21/2010 10:07 AM
In the 1997, my son was selected to represent KZN in Soccer as part of the Chappies Team ( he was 14) He finshed in the Top 3 of players selected. We were then advised later by the Selection committee that they were sorry to advise that even though he had been selected ,he would not be able to represent KZN, as he was white and only Black players would be able to be selected. This was after spending 4 days at selections ( taking time off work, school) , we never sent any kids to selections again and the rules imposed by the NSL caused major problems resulting in parents taking their kids to other sporting facilities like Hockey , Rugby, as a result our once thriving soccer club , which was established in 1934 died, as WHITE & INDIAN parents got tried of always having to pay for the black kids, boots, transport etc Therefore it was not through lack of trying but due to lack of leadership and fairness by the NSL, And now all of a sudden they want the White kids back.MY son eventually gave up playing soccer and achieved his KZN colours in Rugby, Biathlon , swiiming , athletics and Lifesaving and the sad thing that he would have chosen Soccer above everything.Even in the Model C schools, soccer is played, my son did play for the School team, but selection was once again only for the black kids , as the coach stated that it was a Black Sport.My son just happened to be a talented Soccer player, so was selected, but even he found it difficult to part of the team as the black kids kept on telling him Soccer was for blacks only. So who has the problem.
KAPENSCHTATEN7/21/2010 10:05 AM
What an incredibly RASIST statement. And this guy is in leadership???? What a joke, clearly SAFA is going no where fast. How about just sticking to developing FOOTBALL in this country? Or nurturing and looking after our greatest SA asset.....that thing called TALENT?
M7/21/2010 9:53 AM
There are plenty of white kids playing soccer in primary school. The problem is that they give up because they don't see any future for themselves in the sport. My daughters boyfriend is an incredibly talented soccer player but realises he will get no where in this country although it is his dream to play for his country. At the end of August he leaves for England where he will be recognised and appreciated.
Ryan 7/21/2010 9:52 AM
Has it taken a comedic performance and the setting of a new low benchmark in terms of a host nation not making it past the group stages for the first time in SWC history for the powers that be to finally wake up and smell the coffee and see that AA and BEE and PDI and SAFA do not work if you want to win trophies ?
Wilna7/21/2010 9:51 AM
I can relate to the point of this article. I was in an Afrikaans school and there were so many guys who would have loved to play football but our school was not remotely interested in offering it as a sport. Some of these guys had to pay money to belong to an external club if they wanted to play. It was all just Rugby rugby rugby. Not all young shcool boys prefer rugby, I think that is an assumption.
ODB7/21/2010 9:51 AM
blah blah blah...all we ever hear in these articles is black and white( did someone change the colour of a rainbow...lol) what about recognising and supporting the colourd and indian communities....i know many brilliant football players from these societies who have been turned away from wanting to try out at certain PSL teams, because they were not of the "DISADVANTAGED" communities.... bunch of clowns are SAFA!! tlak is cheap, lets SEE some ACTUAL developement!!
Zami7/21/2010 9:49 AM
it is amazing that some dump people who have no idea about soccer goes on and on about why Booth was not played in the world cup. Booth was played in the CONFED Cup but since then he has been a bench warmer at his team Sundowns because he was off - form so surely that has nothing to do with his skin colour but the tactics of the coach.
santapola7/21/2010 9:47 AM
This is a good initiative indeed and just wondering why people still have critisim...Ok its fine if u feel like soccer is for black then that is ok and believe me if we also hijack rugby and springbok we can do that without white doing nothing coz that will be influenced by the politics....hoer jy?
Nick7/21/2010 9:40 AM
It will never happen! Sooner or later our rugby and cricket team will be the same as Bafana Bafana. It's just how things work in this country.
Voice of Reason7/21/2010 9:36 AM
@Gavin and all those questioning why Booth was on the bench. Please stop displaying your ignorance of the (SA) football. When Booth was on form he played (at one stage he even capatained the team!). As for the non-existence of white players in the team, you need to look at the demographic make up teams in the local league and your answer will be right there. There has been white players in this team recently and have been dropped (not by black coaches) for various reasons such as not playing regularly in their teams etc.At one stage black players were a minority in the Bafana set-up and that did not bother us two bits. I mention players such as Carnell and Fernandez, but of course since ,I suspect you have not been following local soccer, yoy won`t know this. So you see, the comparison with rugby cannot hold because black players are available in the rugby league. The argument can therefore be the quality of those players which is a totally different debate altogether.
Sfiso7/21/2010 9:30 AM
Make no mistake white brothers, this is only a strategy to grow the support base (your money) in order to sustain the stadiums.
Remo7/21/2010 9:28 AM
Does it really matter......even if there are whites on the team, they are just gonna be bench warmers, and a Qouta system wouldn't work because if it isn't to benefit blacks then the powers-that-be don't put energy into it.....like their twisted quota obsession in Rugby fueled by more energy than they put into hosting the SWC......... Don't choose players of race, choose players of merit. I don't care if my Rugby/soccer etc teams are filled with only blacks or only whites or only albinos, if they are the best in the world then I have no complaint.
Bad to the bone7/21/2010 9:22 AM
Read football needs more white spectators, spending more money buying more stuff to line the pockets of the fatcats at the top...its quite disgusting and so transparent....They saw how wealthy FIFA boys became and want some off that pie...its a joke and I want to vomit reading it.
Hardtail7/21/2010 9:18 AM
Interesting bit of hindsight by safa here... my own conclusion is simple... booth was included, to appease the white supporters, and make the team "multi-cloured". He could not be allowed to play, just in case bafana actually managed to make it somewhere - because then everyone would have said that it was because of booth. Now bafana failed. Booth did not play, but was benched the entire cup. then there are all these lekka racist comments... sjoe but you lot sound like such a bunch of whiners...but the main point is visible... in cricket, rugby, athletics name the sport, a "quota" system has been enforced, sometimes to the exclusion of genuinely talented people. even down to school level, this has been enforced.... and accepted and implemented by the whites, even with grumbles...and pains...and all these sports are better of for it...but not is soccer. soccer is the holy cow of the african, and hell no - we don't want whiteys....we had to include one, to shut them up for the world cup, but safa would be damned if he was going to play...so safa, now that it is all over, now you are talking transformation? please, talk is cheap, prove it. prove that your sport can be colour blind. prove that you are prepared to select on the basis of merit, and not colour. until then, you will always be left behind by rugby, cricket in fact all other sports.
Remo7/21/2010 9:12 AM
Does it really matter......even if there are whites on the team, they are just gonna be bench warmers, and a Qouta system wouldn't work because if it isn't to benefit blacks then the powers-that-be don't put energy into it.....like their twisted quota obsession in Rugby fueled by more energy than they put into hosting the SWC......... Don't choose players of race, choose players of merit. I don't care if my Rugby/soccer etc teams are filled with only blacks or only whites or only albinos, if they are the best in the world then I have no complaint.
@Michael Bowery7/21/2010 9:03 AM
Now you understand what it felt like for people that are not white during apartheid I guess.Pity so much noise wasn't heard then.Sad hey?
Richard7/21/2010 8:57 AM
Most Afrikaans Schools in my area doens't play soccer or have soccer pitches, dunno who's responsiblity is it to change it?? I would have loved had the chance to play soccer when i was younger, seeing what the pros earn, i could have atleast tried!
Willie7/21/2010 8:53 AM
I am an white afrikaner and love football. But there was no football in my High School. The closest thing was hockey. Ensuring there is football in all schools will give children a choice other than rugby and spark some appetite for the game !
FUBAR7/21/2010 8:46 AM
What do you call a white guy sitting on a bench? Matthew Booth !!! (Bet you all answered Andries Bekker...)
Scaramouche7/21/2010 8:46 AM
Having soccer available at school level (for boys and girls) is a necessity. It is a sport that anyone can participate in. Even if it does not lead to a career as a "footballer", it would grow apprecaition for the game and more demand for it to be accesible.
Mr. My Voice7/21/2010 8:46 AM
Listen hear my fellow brothers and sisters in South Africa, I personally agree with this in so many ways that even the way my heart is pounding now it comprehend the truth in this. YES, YES and YES we do need white players and we all should remember that sport is an instrument for every living person on this planet and does not have any race or skin color barriers and should not. Sport is in my opinion the only apparatus that can unite humans as they should be united. I read something that said: “God is most happy when His children play sports” and I agree on this as well. Unite and beat racism which is by far a tool of the devil and his followers. I believe that every living person on this planet has the ability to compete in a sport echelon.
JdV7/21/2010 8:42 AM
That's the only way SA will ever WIN a major competition. Only thing is, they'll need at least 10 white players in the team. In a country of approx 40 million BLACKS, SAFA was not able to find 11 that could play football! It must be remembered that FOOTBALL is totally different to the SOCCER played in SA because football is played with the INSIDE of the head.....
JT7/21/2010 8:40 AM
@Kg: Your a racist pig and if you hadn't noticed, we haven't faired so well with the black players we have. It might be time to look further than the coach??????????????
Unity Vilakazi7/21/2010 8:33 AM
You are RACISTS FIFA!!!! Why was Booth sitting on the side-lines during the 2010 FWC? Is sport not supposed to be so that the best person plays?
M7/21/2010 8:30 AM
NONSENSE!!!! Practice what you preach!!! Why did Mathwew Booth then not play in the world cup!!!!
James17/21/2010 8:28 AM
Well, there used to be plenty of whites in soccer in SA before 1994 and in the early days of the ANC government. But...SAFA in all their wisdom did nothing to nurture the love of soccer amongst whites or promote soccer in so called white schools. Now all of a sudden, after 16 years of their mismanagement they decide they want us again..... If you want whites to play then you need to make soccer venues safe for white visitors. Sure during the world cup only a thousand people got robbed around the stadiums. (official stats.) and that was with all the visible policing. If thieves know that whites will come to soccer venues on a regular basis with their cars etc what do you think will happen. Make the venues SAFE for all.
roy fenton7/21/2010 8:23 AM
"There are white football players but many of them with talent and ambition head to Europe or elsewhere where they wont be discriminated against. Due to apartheid design soccer is not played at high school although it should be . But glaringly in this country there is just alot of competitition in this arena and most whiteys cant compete.
koena samuel seretlo7/21/2010 8:19 AM
I don't have problem to have white players in soccer so we need to unite so that we will be a winning nation.
Proud7/21/2010 8:08 AM
Imagine you are a little white boy. Your school does offer soccer and you do play and you love it. When you switch on the tv what do you see? The channels that offer soccer with commentary in English only show FA Cup and UEFA League. No local soccer is shown on tv with commentary in English that I know of. If it is then it is on Supersport and contrary to popular belief not all whites can afford that. So as a young boy you become attached to international teams because you can understand the commentary which plays a huge role. You and your friends constantly talk about your favourite team, comparing and arguing. Is it any wonder that your dream is to play in these leagues? Locally you don't know what's what and who is who. I am yet to see (besides the world cup) SABC 1 broadcast a local soccer match with commentary in English. If you want to reach the whites you need to reach them on the levels they understand. How about more local soccer matches in English and Afrikaans? From a young age boys (and girls) are bombarded with images of local teams which are mostly black, commentary that's not done in English and a national side that hasn't played well in years. No wonder they leave and take their talent elsewhere, or change to cricket or rugby? Just an observation. If commentary is done is English I ask for forgiveness but everytime I switch to SABC 1 when there is soccer on the commentary is in a language I don't understand, so I switch to another station. How many young boys do the same?
Steve7/21/2010 7:59 AM
This is so wrong. It's not the skin colour that counts. What SA soccer needs is a coach with brains, players with IQ's greater than that of a dead ant, and administrators who know what they are doing. Unfortunately we have none of these, so SA soccer is doomed to failure
@Leslie Sedibe 7/21/2010 7:58 AM
Good Decision, this is a great oppurtunity to bring South Africans closer together as a nation. Forget the racist comments, we all have the same colour blood, Black or White, and lets concentrate on succeding as a great nation lets make Madiba's dream of one nation come true...
@KG7/21/2010 7:55 AM
Hey Kg...without the Whites, this world cup was not possible. Just remember it's THEIR tax money we used to build all this white elephants. Go and look at the reward ceremonies, just all lilly white...that include the help of Europe! Look at the teams that performed...all lilly white bru. I'm black and proud of it..but ashamed of brothers like you! We simply cannot go without the helpof the whiteys in our country and if they can start playing soccer...what a day...it will be great and I think will do a lot for the stuckup boere. After all guys like you get their farms, their lifehood and money for free from our goverment. Thnigs you did not have a share in and they worked hard!
Roberto Rodriguez7/21/2010 7:54 AM
Once again the racial debate if you look at the class of 96 it was image of a united team, Bafana consist out of good players with different racial backgrounds and cultures. When they played on the field you did not see that you see a nation of players as one. Regardless your skin color or religion when you are in an elite condition to get SA colours not in soccer but on all fields of sport you deserve a shot. So all you guys who are predigest, screw you.
Gavin7/21/2010 7:53 AM
I really dont understand what SAFA are on about ? Explain why Matthew Booth sat on the bench for the world cup games?? Politics is ruining sport in this beautiful country. Time the politicians got the hell out of sport and let those that deserve to play be chosen to play for their country.
Michael7/21/2010 7:47 AM
There are thousands of white soccer players in Junior and Senior leves throughout SA. I see white soccer players in club level on Saturday mornings at our local club plus see soccer played by my grandson at school. Maybe the trick for SSA is to allow these whites youth with talent at youth level to be part of provincial sides.
none7/21/2010 7:46 AM
its about time that these clown woke up and bring some white players in.
Joe Soap7/21/2010 7:42 AM
Some one finally realised that our achievements in the SWC was not heroic.
Steve7/21/2010 7:41 AM
white guys don't play soccer anymore because the selection process is totally racist. Why waste your time if you are not going to be selected on your ability??
jef7/21/2010 7:38 AM
Players should be picked on skill and not colour. Rugby, cricket and soccer.
JP7/21/2010 7:35 AM
Why suddenly get whites. Parreira and SAFA picked one white in their sqad of 23 and he didn't even get 10 seconds to show his worth.
Jakes7/21/2010 7:30 AM
Make it a choice, if you want to play soccer, then create the opportunity to do so, FOR EVERYBODY. Our soccer in SA is in private hands, all the money goes to a few rich individuals, no investment at grassroots level, SAFA is only "window dressing", they have no say. Get your house in order, then the rest will follow. Earn your big salary Mr. Leslie Sedibe.
JT7/21/2010 7:30 AM
NO!!!!!!!! Keep it the same at least I can laugh for the circus.
Whitey7/21/2010 7:21 AM
Please people, leave politics out of sport and chose players on merit. If there is white player/s good enough, play them, but not because they are white. I heard from a teacher friend that brilliant white rugby player/s lost interest in the game because they could not be chosen for Craven week due to the quota system. This is totally unfair towards the player, and a loss to the game. If the vica versa exists, I will also have a problem if a white kid gets chosen due to colour. What example does the management set for our black and white kids?
Soccermom7/21/2010 7:19 AM
Yes please!! My son is 10yrs old and plays League Soccer but unfortuantely will have to drop it as they don't play soccer in the Model C high school he is going to. It would be awesome if they are able to bring it to the Model C High Schools. This has nothing to do with colour but for the love of the sport - and yes I am white. Oh I am a huge Rugby fan not much of a soccer fan but my son loves it!!
Soccermom7/21/2010 7:14 AM
Yes please!! My son is 10yrs old and plays League Soccer but unfortuantely will have to drop it as they don't play soccer in the Model C high school he is going to. It would be awesome if they are able to bring it to the Model C High Schools. This has nothing to do with colour but for the love of the sport - and yes I am white. Oh I am a huge Rugby fan not much of a soccer fan but my son loves it!!
Zc7/21/2010 7:14 AM
I am a perant of 3 sons in these school in Magaliesburg, and it is true that soccer is not allowed at school. My son wants to be involved in some sort of sport , but as in rugby they are a bit on the smallish side to play rugby as all the boys are alot bigger then them. So they do not make the team witch is understandably but now instead of doing something they do nothing. I have spoken to the school about other sports they can be involved with but was told that they do not have enough staff to do all of these sports , like soccer. I feel it is wrong , teachers , perants should make sure that they do not turn there backs on those kids that wants to be part of a team sport and that every opertunity should be given to those kids to do a team sport so that they can feel part of something good. And yes offcourse one will do the development that is reqeured and will find the future stars in those programs as well. And for those persons that say this is a rugby school, they are wrong, it should rather be seen as a school of learning to teach our kids on the academic and sport field how to excile in live. That is taking kids forward ..........
JaRight7/21/2010 7:05 AM
Will NOT happen. The black politicians are way too INSECURE to include whites. Why? -cos if we start winning/improving, the indications will be be that the "wet-okes" have improved things. MY WORD! Can you imagine?
manny 7/21/2010 7:00 AM
I am trying to revive a football club in Randfontein as the Afrikaans schools do not allow soccer as a school sport. As a youngster my school did not have soccer as a sport as well so we played club soccer at muncipals in pretoria. I feel forcing the schools to have soccer as sport at this stage is premature and could do more harm to the game if we have a rugby coach coaching soccer. There also wont be enough players in each school to make teams in the begining, so I believe club soccer is the way forward especially in smaller towns that can get players from 2 or 3 schools.
mark7/21/2010 6:58 AM
I remember back in 1996 when my rugbly loving (white) family sat down to watch the African Cup on nations.....Did not care of the colour but how successful the team was as the team made the final and eventually won! My point is if you south african and you good enough, who cares what colour you are.......SUCCESSFULL TEAM UNITES A COUNTRY NOT A HALF BLACK HALF WHITE HALF COLOURED TEAM!
pete7/21/2010 6:53 AM
Why didn't Michael Booth played in the world cup matches, although he was selected....?
sipho7/21/2010 6:53 AM
Colour shouldn't be a issue - pick your best team. A winning team unites a country. A team picked on colour causes hatred. I remember as little guy watching Chester side-step his way towards the try-line and flicking the channel and watching a full FNB stadium watching Bafana Bafana win the african nation cup.......
Kingsley Africa7/21/2010 6:43 AM
What a joke. Do you remember when Trot (vrot) Moloto was the national footbal coach? SAFA stepped in and screamed that there were too many coloured players. The likes of Mark Williams , Duncan Crowie, Andre Arendse, Shaun Bartlett, Zane Moosa. They then introduced the AA system. I think White and coloured players must form a Federation league.
Reddevil7/21/2010 6:31 AM
Come and watch some amatuer club football. There are plenty of white players there. Boksburg FC for instance have some players in the Colts side who according to me could easily be in Bafana within the next few years (with some top level training)..
Big Cheese7/21/2010 5:55 AM
Why would the majority want the minority to come and play ? According to the government's law on demographics only one White would make it into the team anyway .Keep your soccer and your bull wrestling and your vuvuzelas - there can be no normal sport in an abnormal dysfunctional society .
Sporty7/21/2010 3:53 AM
Cheap trick to get more financial support!!
Pedro Depacas7/21/2010 3:36 AM
Played football for many years from the age of about 8 , we were playing against the pikeniens from the local township massive events back then hard football on sand and stone pitches , the township boys were as hard as nails , i look back with such nostalgia cos they knew where we were from and visa versa , and yes i was definitely considered a poor white we could however afford boots , they could'nt so there was a compromise we played in black Pf takkies that cost abot R5.00 in those days and they played barefoot some in takkies , my point here is that there was never ever any bullshit about race hatred and everything else that comes with it just pure respect and a total love for the beautiful game we honestly had magical moments , both sides , in later years i bumped into players like styx and kk at stadiums like Prince George park the wits ground , Bonero Park all kitted out boots and all , still no nonsense just big smiles and mutual respect . As soon as dirty politics get thrown into the mix you get idiotic comments posted , give the coach a fair go and see what materialises , if it does not work then you start chirping , after all this is sport we are talking about .Choose players on merrit irrespective of colour as the saying goes and everything should fall into place .
Joe7/21/2010 3:08 AM
It's not is soccer where SA needs whites...
zulu7/21/2010 2:52 AM
whites in tbhis nation are racists really. just read all the comments by the white pple then u will know. why dont u all just leave our country? why r u here in the first place??
Boer7/21/2010 1:28 AM
Luister hier! Ek worry nie of hulle geel, swart, wit of bruin is nie, ons kort net goeie spelers. Tipies iets wat n poiltikus se kwyt raak. Mense worry nie oor kleur nie. Of dit nou vir die Bokke is of vir Bafana, dis n man goed is moet hy in en klaar.
dan the man7/21/2010 12:44 AM
how many white schools has BB visited before the WC? How many soccerballs has Black empowerment companies left at these schools? How many hours and fundraisers have the black soccer supporters organised to get the so called rugby playing schools hooked on soccer? Be clever.....Leave the rugby bussiness machine and just collect the taxes of their succses. Then plow that into soccer. When they start to win ,the supporters will follow. Dont kill the goose that lays the golden egg. in the end we will all be loseing and then it will run dry. Think ahead Please!
Jon7/20/2010 11:49 PM
Very few BLACK schools offer soccer as an extra-mural activity -- or any other sport for that matter. Most black (and white) soccer players come through the clubs, not the schools. Want more white boys to play soccer? Do more at club level to lure them.
jenny7/20/2010 11:29 PM
What a laugh, with the other sports they want more transformation, not enough darkies and now with footies they want more whities, I think it is because the whities in the SWC showed them how to play footies, well some of them did, not the `french, `english or italians and some others!n Unfortunately, I am an iti fan, but the Dutch, Germans, Spanish and North Korea and others showed them!
Notbee7/20/2010 10:39 PM
I can't understand some of you. A good idea is put forward and all you can do is turn it into a racial debate! At least this guy is trying to unify the sport. Have to start somewhere. If you're not happy, GET OUT!! Oh and I'm white and just as pissed off with what's really wrong in SA but some of your comments are child like and do not belong here.
Who cares7/20/2010 10:27 PM
What South Africa need is SKILLED players, not colourful or Rainbow players. Not even sure if Mr Pitso can create a skillful BB for 2014 from this bunch of so called HEROES. Anyway good luck to him.
Sinudeity7/20/2010 10:18 PM
Keep politics out of sport!
Kg7/20/2010 10:05 PM
Sometimes l feel like all this racist could just go and leave us. Then we will battle but one day we will get it right. I work for a company thjt is full of uneducated unskilled white people who uses black people and then claim the glory. We dont need white people in soccer.
Greg7/20/2010 10:03 PM
@Helen: There has been more than enough time to for all PDI people to take part in the economy. The opportunities have been laid bare. Take responsibility for your own destiny, don't have the attitude that someone is excluding you or anyone else from the economy. Your future is your responsibility don't play the hand out game. We are in a new economy, everyone is taking strain regardless if you are a PDI or not. A lot of hard work will move you into the position you want.
Marius7/20/2010 9:58 PM
HA HA HA "window-dressing and politics again" ... Stop wasting your time and energy and focus on better things in life. Don't b*llshi* us ... again
Carlos7/20/2010 9:51 PM
Every now and then someone comes up with a good idea, then you get the Helens of this world with their dinosaurlike racist points of view. Such people are the real original sin that condemns us to quota systems and the like... Admit it! We will never get nowhere in soccer! Look what racial behaviour did to the French! Didn't help them a lot coming here masquerading as an African team...Karma for fakes...
Ivory coast7/20/2010 9:51 PM
SHAME!SHAME!!SHAME!!! YOU GUYS CALLED YOUR SELF BLACKS IN FOOTBALL BUT NOT BLACKS IN AFRICA THAT IS WHY YOU CHASE YOUR AFRICAN BROTHERS AND SISTER AWAY FROM YOUR COUNTRY. INFACT YOU ARE THE MOST UNGRATEFUL BLACK COUNTRY ON EARTH. JUST ALLOW WHITES TO BE PART OF YOUR BAFANA SMALL BOYS BOYS TEAM. SHAME
letusbeonpoint7/20/2010 9:47 PM
let us face the truth, all South African were united during the world cup. let us encourage boys to choose their own sporting code. you cant say Booth was discriminated cause he is atruly South African in multi-racial relationship
Staalburgher7/20/2010 9:42 PM
@rugbyhater, you are a *** muppet. What is it with some people that think because the majority do it it has to be the better choice? In fact, majority decision are followed not because they make better decisions on average, but because you want to avoid civil strife. Get a history education. A minority of people go to Varsity yet it is a fact on average university students earn better than non-university students. Should we force everyone to forego tertiary education because the majority do? Get common sense.
Staalburgher7/20/2010 9:38 PM
@Neil, on that note what is wrong with having only white players in the rugby team? Can't black kids idolise white players?
unproud SA7/20/2010 9:33 PM
Booth wasnt let on coz hes white,yet all other sport MUST BY LAW have blacks... This includes unqualified blacks getting a job a highly qualified,inteligent, white person wasnt allowed.yes,i speak from experience. Deal with it - soccer is black and SA blacks are more rasist than anyone,they are just allowed to show it.
david7/20/2010 9:28 PM
Why would I encourage my child to take up a sport knowing that there will be discriminated against the colour of his skin? White people will see through this - give us more credit for IQ. When you need us we are good enough. Does not work like that. You have to find discipline, drive, perseverance, ambition and strive for excellance elsewhere.
Other Mike7/20/2010 9:28 PM
This is not about being black white purple or blue, it is about the skill and contribution each player will bring. It is true that as learners in "township" school have no idea how the ruby is played so are learners in most former Model C schools and 90% of Afrikaans only schools. It is ab out town the ministry of sports nationaly and provincially prioritising national sports and interfering in SAFA as they are doing in SARU. Skill development at early age is important. Colour has no part in sports, look at France. Which colour is prominent is their football team? It makes you drink, doesnt it?
Johan7/20/2010 9:27 PM
Just keep the filthy politics out of ALL sports, add good management and SA sports will become healthy and world class. Political interference causes artificial sport and poor results. Unless the polititions want what's best for SA they should stay out of sport. Get the best tool to do the job i.e. The best player for the country, as simple as that. I think the long road to freedom is much much longer than initially anticipated and a lot still need to be done to get everybody on the same page. It seems racism is inverted now, Even 15 years later! It is shocking and disappointing that some have not progressed beyond the petty race issues, especially in SA sports!!! Bon voyage! Johan - Dubai
Bill Thong7/20/2010 9:14 PM
I remember back in 1990 I tried to get a football team together at my Afrikaans high school. The headmaster went out of his way to ensure that this would not happen, even though we had 30+ lads interested in playing. Apparently he was afraid of losing rugby talent to football. Ironically I understand this school has now had the benefit of major investment in their facilities, after hosting one of the World cup teams during the tournament!! Give pupils a choice!
Indiran7/20/2010 9:08 PM
All for merit based teams, but it would be wonderful to see a Bafana Bafana reflecting all the ppl of SA.
Sylvester7/20/2010 8:56 PM
South Africa, for crying out loud, PLEASE wake up!!!! It's not about Blacks, Whites or Coloureds. To compete at World class level requires having your very best players on the field working together like a well oiled machine. Just take a look at the Spanish & Germans. Eishhhhhh
Helen7/20/2010 8:53 PM
Hell no we do not need them. They can play their rugby for all we care. There4 are millions and millions of blacks who can play and are genuine soccer lovers. Stop this business of trying to appease whites. They do not try to include us in the economy and all that is deemed to be superior!!
Thapz7/20/2010 8:37 PM
what does being white ave to do with everything? i mean just get the best possible players on the field, if we want to go forward as a coutry we gona hae to start forgetting about skin colour, we are all south african black, white, indian or coloured. Yes it would be nice to get ALL races supporting the sports, but forget the color and play the game!!!!
Mike7/20/2010 8:33 PM
most white high schools have always played rugby instead of soccer, even back in 70's and 80's. in fact one english primary school played rugby and not soccer as when kids got to high school they had to play rugby so these kids already could play. Isn't it amazing 14 0r m15 years into socalled "rainbow nation" and "race does not matter" we still talk about black and white!!!
BAS7/20/2010 8:22 PM
good article and it would definitely help to drive football in all schools and try have a truely multi racial team but at the end of the day we must put our best team on the field and our boys did us proud in the world cup, all i want is for our team to transform into a top quality football side where we can play against any team and stand a chance of winning, our country is blessed with awesome sporting talent and it's only a matter of time until we get to that level and i'm sure with a big drive to promote football in all schools it will go a long way to us finding the most talented footballers in our country.
Hmm...7/20/2010 8:04 PM
Interesting and they realise this now. Model C schools not interested? I doubt that. Maybe if SAFA did more promotional work and try to at least get 'white' kids interested in soccer it could work. SAFA has made no effort in promoting the sport amongst model C schools (a.k.a traditional white schools) - who by the way is the most multi-racial schools now. They need to capitalize on the positive WC-vibe.
Kobus7/20/2010 7:58 PM
Bring sosialisme en kommunisme in as regeringsmodel en als sal werk soos julle dit wil hê sonder om die mense te betrek. Dwing dit op hulle af!!!!! en nie wanneer nie, sommer nou!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PHINEAS 7/20/2010 7:56 PM
great thinking i have heard in years good plan for implementing the rainbow nation policy
WH7/20/2010 7:55 PM
Very ironic - now that WC is over (and not one white player ever on the field) they suddenly want to have whites play soccer!? What a joke. I think they only want the white people's money at the gates. Never gonna happen if they keep on bringin politics into it!
Joop7/20/2010 7:51 PM
Nou dat ons die potensiaal sien van wat dit vir sokker en die land kan beteken wil ons sokker in skole bemark. Goeie bliksem, as dit nie hindsite is nie, wat is dan hindsite!
André7/20/2010 7:47 PM
Kan die manne dit nog nie regkry nie. Dit gaan nie oor kwotas soos in rugby of krieket of tennis en al die SA sporte nie, dit gaan om oor die beste spelers, individue en wie kan blend te kies. Dit gaan nie oor of wittes of swartes die beste is of om hulle te kies vir die span nie, kies die beste individue en kombinasies en ons is een nasie. Moenie ons verdeel met politiek nie.!!!!!!!!!!!!
Joe7/20/2010 7:46 PM
I could not care less about the colour of our national sportspeople across all sporting codes. Get rid of useless, fat cat administrators who care more for their pocket than the sport, create opportunity for equal participation, promote talent and compete with determiniation and courage. With our resources we should be the top African soccer team and ranked somewhere in the top 20 FIFA rankings. Fix that by using the best players.
Jon7/20/2010 7:36 PM
This is really good news. Though it's a bit too late for the World Cup that has just passed. But you never know this could mean putting more black players in the rugby squad. Not against this but you never know. Also I think high schools should make soccer as big as rugby and hockey. I went to a private high school and I wished they had soccer for all -- I believe this applies to many other schools as well.
sam7/20/2010 7:35 PM
stop politics please guys.
sam7/20/2010 7:28 PM
stop politics in the soccer field we are not going any were if we stil using politics.
Geronimo8977/20/2010 7:25 PM
I have coached soccer/football for the last 30 years of my life, at a reasonable level too. I started coaching when I was 18, and moved from under 10 level to full Provincial level. I was even invited by SAFA to move on to National level. Until the infighting and politics are sorted out, until those at the top stop thinking about themselves and not the players, I personally have no interest in returning to the organised game. I get far more fulfillment coaching High School kids these days.
The Man7/20/2010 7:16 PM
One of the requirements for the "united" South Africa claimed by Sedibe is a policy of not distinguishing between individuals on the basis of skin colour. Unfortuntely, Sedibe & SAFA perpetuate the racial profiling that South Africa has spent 20 years trying to eliminate by enthusiatically chanting for the inclusion of WHITES. Cricket no longer has a racial policy because discrimination has been stamped out of the sport by, for example, SACA chiefs not distinguishing between players on the basis of race only ability. Rugby too is on the way to eliminating discrimination. Ironically, Soccer is unfortunately a long long way off due in large part to discriminatory remarks like those made in this article by SAFA CEO Sedibe.
alan Ingram (ex NFL player)7/20/2010 7:14 PM
I PLAYED SOCCER ALL MY LIFE. THERE ARE PLENTY WHITE AND COLORED FOOTBALLERS MUCH BETTER THAN THE BAFANA TEAM THAT EMBARRASSED SA AT THE WORLD CUP. I HAVE BEEN SHOUTING "BRING IN WHITE AND COLORED FOOTBALLERS IF YOU WANT BAFANA TO WIN A GAME" FOR 10 YEARS AND ALL I GOT WAS BEING CALLED A RACIST SEEING IS BELIEVING!!
clint7/20/2010 7:10 PM
To be honest, I guess I would have to watch if my son wanted to play soccer but the game, the falling down and the general Blue Collar status of it keeps me well away. I also can't see how a 'white' kid from the suburbs is going to handle the completely different culture when it comes to soccer. Soccer worldwide is played by the masses and rugby, except NZ, by the educated. That is why, in general, white kids don't play.
Niek7/20/2010 6:55 PM
Nou het hulle die wittes nodig, maar voorheen was dit taboe. Neil Tovy en al daai ander het 'n verskil gemaak en van voor af gelei, nou is daar niemand nie. So kom ons roep die toewnaar!
"Devils Advocate"7/20/2010 6:51 PM
First get Gov.& politics out of sport! Then in 6month of training u can have a South African soccer team to take on the world!
reenz7/20/2010 6:50 PM
4 BLACKS, 3 WHITES, 2 COLOUREDS, 2 INDIANS ! Quota enough?? Keep politics out of sports. We want hard-core talent... Hee,hee, Otherwize we get hard-core comedy:)
@White Boy7/20/2010 6:49 PM
What we need are good players WHITE or any other colour. But is definately not needed are white idiots like you.
Kevin7/20/2010 6:43 PM
Great idea , there must be tens of great players out there pushing for European Premier League talent that would love a stepping stone until they are able earn some real money ? Get real if you have talent where would you play even if you were " given a chance" sport is a profession not a political platform to show off ?
WAKA WAKA7/20/2010 6:42 PM
Well Well Well !!!!! Its taken them long enough to relalize this- The white boys are playing overseas due to no confidence in our so call soccer academies, have a few friendds who plying there trade at Aus/NZL Academies to one day play for Aus.Plus the kids at school never get a chance to show there skills as it is a black thing . Look at Rugby Cricket Top 3 in the world Soccer Well We can only dream and dreams it will only be, Have the right mix in soccer and the white kids will come, Under current regime this will never happen !! SAFA / GOV wake up , SAFA needs to have a complete shake they have a bad track record 18 coaches in as many years.
JOKER7/20/2010 6:36 PM
THis is the biggets joke I have heard in a long time! Are you serious!?! Can you imagine more than one white player in the SOuth African soccer team! Dream on!!!!!!!!
Shorts7/20/2010 6:29 PM
Why bother? The only white player in the Bafana Bafana squad for the recent SWC tournament, held right here in Soiuth Africa, didn't get even one single opportunity to step foot once onto the pitch during any of the games. Who are you trying to fool? When it comes to soccer, whites don't feature! When it comes to other South African teams participating in any international team sport, there is always a quota sytem requiring the inclusion of a specified minimum number of non-white players, even if they are actually not good enough.
Spider7/20/2010 6:25 PM
Well done now at least they can shut up about race thing. Look forward for Whole nation play for PSL :)
rugbyhater7/20/2010 6:19 PM
Stop all rugby in schools. Introduce soccer instead, maybe then we can get this lot to start playing the game the majority of the country plays.
JAF7/20/2010 6:17 PM
Bafana Bafana doesn't need more white players, it needs more good players. I will support the team now (i.e. never really enjoyed soccer before the SWC), no matter the ethnics of the team. International soccer is not about skin colour, it is about scoring goals. In the same way, I will support a Bok and Proteas player if he is selected on merit. In international sport you are quickly found out.
Sack7/20/2010 6:16 PM
Wasn't Mathew Booth part of the team, so they had one but didn't use him. No wonder we don't have any, they're out earning big bucks somewhere they're appreciated.
CubanGorilla7/20/2010 6:13 PM
Coz that's where the money is - White supporters - SAFA, get fooked!
Justin7/20/2010 6:12 PM
I am available to play. Lets talk about pay!! If i am the entertainment I want the big share of the pay.. As in all things these days if they coming to watch me then I deserve the lion's share of the gate takings!! So white brothers start going to your local clubs and showing how interesting you are. Next reality show. The next white player!!
SoccerFan7/20/2010 6:10 PM
Brilliant, I think it's a fantastic plan. A large part of SA's population loves football/soccer so introduce it to the schools. Cracking idea Mr Sedibe. It's the only way to lift our lowly world ranking (as opposed to changing coaches every three days)
Chris7/20/2010 6:09 PM
Soccer needs to be introduced urgently at the former Model C Schools to accommodate those children who do not wish to get involved with a contact sport such as rugby. Soocer does not enjoy snob value unlike rugby which is regarded as an upper class sport and treated as such at private schools and former Model C schools and universities. Cudos to Tukkies for making great strides in this regard. I hope this is not just talk but that SAFA will take the bull by the horns and introduce workshops at schoos to promote the game.
Neil7/20/2010 6:09 PM
What's wrong with a Bafana Bafana side that's entirely made up of black and coloured players? Is there some reason why white kids can't idolise black players, or vice versa? Is there a reason why schools that have spent decades building up a tradition of excellence in rugby should switch to soccer just to promote a cosmetic change in the national side?
pothole7/20/2010 6:08 PM
Wasted the opportunity to not let Booth play in one of the Bafana WC games. The message whites got was clear. Soccer is a black affair. What do you expect now. A charge of white wannabees. Everything starts with some thinking.
White Boy7/20/2010 6:07 PM
The last time a South African soccer side won anything it had many white players including a white captain. Goodness has it only know dawned on SAFA that it needs the whites Same for everything else in this country
gm7/20/2010 6:06 PM
Why not have players that deserve to play in teams, regardless of colour, based purely on performance and team cohesion. I am sure you will find a mix of races in all sports and sport won't have to be plagued by politics. It should be based on good sportsmanship.
BoB7/20/2010 6:06 PM
South Africa needs good soccer players then the game will become lively. People care far less what colour the players are as the sport burocrats seem to think. Push the best.
Bob7/20/2010 6:04 PM
NO SH7T WE NEED THEM! There have always been good white soccer players in SA. They simply were pushed out of the national team.
Wanda7/20/2010 6:03 PM
Sports should not be played because somebody is a certain colour. The people who make our national teams should make it because they are good - not because they fit a political agenda. The best players should be chosen because the stronger our players - the more trophies we bring home. Colour be damned.
hiedie7/20/2010 6:01 PM
"get interested in playing soccer" ? To keep the bence warm ? It is so obvious you want to keep the game black as long as possible.One thing for sure.Keep the team "black" and you are destined for failure.This rugby and criket realised if the team is kept white. South African soccer are doomed for failure should you persist with your "All Black " team.Pick a national team of colour and we will fill the stadiums in all provinces.
gin7/20/2010 6:00 PM
Why don't we just leave race out of it and pick the best and most competent people for the position? frankly I dont care if my soccer, rugby or any sport team have freaking martians playing. Just as long as they are the best.
GRAHAM7/20/2010 5:58 PM
It would be great to see this happen but without inteference from politics where 'quota' players are put into a rugby side. I believe players should be chosen on merit not colour. Schools should also not be forced to play soccer simply to fulfill Sedibe's wish. Let the students vote. Start small and build from there. It would be great to see a South Africa with more tolerance of each others culture. BEE is another issue that should also be banned. Thios only creates animosty. Let the best candidate win; not what his / her colour is.
Tru South Africa7/20/2010 5:58 PM
There have ALWAYS been White SA soccer players. Ask Garry Bailey why in the past, all the WHITE SA players that went to the soccer academy NEVER GOT A GAME or scholarships???? They were so disillusioned they all left!!! Soccer has always been played at Primary schools, even today. All that fantastic talent LOST once they entered high school and this is for black and white kids boys and girls. I am so happy someone has woken up to the fact that to get to world cup standard, its TALENT and the BEST players. Not the colour of your skin!!!!
matthew7/20/2010 5:56 PM
speaking as a 23 year old white male i can say that afrikaans schools in the western cape do not participate in soccer at all even though i wanted to play soccer at school. I think goverment must force schools to have soccer as a choice of sports or sadly the face of soccer in south africa will remain black.
Michael Bowery7/20/2010 5:56 PM
Unfortunately our experience of the quota system in almost every other sport in South Africa has made it seem that soccer in this country is a black sport and there is no room for whites. 14% white players regardless of merit has never been considered by soccer administrators. In fairness, black soccer spectators might riot if it happened. Equally, and resulting in a white young exodus, it does'nt stop at soccer. We have well qualified white youngsters looking for jobs like their black counterpart and being told straight out - wrong colour. It's a problem, so I am glad to be a very retired ex soccer player and not a young man looking for work. Nothing racist about it just a very wide ranging problem and even includes the rumoured Xenophobia against foreigners. This so far and fortunately locally, seems more criminal than xenophobic but hasn't stopped an exodus of those who feel threatened. Anyone got a solution??????
Jamie7/20/2010 5:55 PM
Why now , because of the World Cup ? Where there questions asked as to why there are NO white players. There are many football clubs where white players train every week. And many of them are very good since they start so young. Just because 1 school does not offer football as a sport does not mean anything. What are the chances of a white player making it into the National Team ?
Fint7/20/2010 5:55 PM
WE shall see
Marc Horace7/20/2010 5:51 PM
Won't happen in my lifetime!? If there are any good players, they will do a "Kevin Pietersen"
Sedibeiscrazy7/20/2010 5:51 PM
Well, Are black schools mobilising and getting black guys into Rugby?
rightguard7/20/2010 5:51 PM
It is about time that this problem should be addressed at the highest level. When millions have been poured into soccer over the years thousands of white children have been abandoning the code.Weird.
HS7/20/2010 5:49 PM
Oh for Pete's sake! Does EVERYTHING have to be about race? Why can't people just be selected on the basis of ability?
Andrew7/20/2010 5:49 PM
As `n wit afrikaner steun ek hierdie berig :-)
YouMustBeJoking7/20/2010 5:47 PM
Yes more whites in soccer so that you can use the AA policy on them
John7/20/2010 5:47 PM
Great Idea!!! Now put your words into action, and remember the quota system! Minimum 3 white must be in the national soccer side. Give the schools a starter kit with the money SAFA got from FIFA, don't leave the responsibility soley on the schools and give up if they moan. Keep pushing for it and supporting it. We need another sport other than hockey, if you are not into rugby or were injured from playing it. Soccer is my favorite sport and if my school or area supported it had it I would have played.
Mark7/20/2010 5:45 PM
Why? BEE ensures that a white will not play for SA again. The black man is racist and will always be.
Boothie Boy7/20/2010 5:42 PM
Mmmmmm.....lets see now - if I change my name from Booth, would I really become a Bafana boy?? No, I' d just be a lively boy. Or maybe I could be a support boy. Thats really something to aim for. Please Mr Sedibe, white boys would like to play soccer at national level too - not just play cos they're "interesting". At least have some quota boys
Gavin 7/20/2010 5:42 PM
HEROES OVER NIGHT! True Rainbow Nation.
jaright7/20/2010 5:38 PM
as an ex footballer and someone who loves the game,i can honestly advise whites to stick to rugby.The old days of jomo,ngubane,tovey,moosa are gone..diski has taken over unfortunately and ruined our once proud heritage.when barker coached we were ranked 16 in the world and one the african cup.lets hope pitso sticks to what he knows and coaches supersport utd style..old style proven results..not diski no results..good luck pitso you are going to need it with all the idiots in safa!!
Staalburgher7/20/2010 5:34 PM
Nice olive leaf but soccer sucks compared to cricket or rugby.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Screw Letterdash 9/3/2010 11:13:55 AM

The Bryan Issue 9/3/2010 10:23:47 AM

Jakob Lensiesop 9/3/2010 10:05:06 AM

Vote

Which football league around the world is your favourite?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.