Sundowns, Pitso up for top CAF Award

2016-12-12 12:02
Pitso Mosimane (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Mamelodi Sundowns along with coach, Pitso Mosimane, have each been nominated for a CAF award, according to the official CAF website.

Mosimane has been named in the category of 'Coach of the Year' after guiding his side to CAF Champions League glory when they defeated Egyptian giants Zamalek in October.

Sundowns, who disappointingly crashed out of the Club World Cup in Japan on Sunday, are nominated for the 'Club of the Year' award.

Meanwhile, Banyana Banyana were recognised after finishing fourth in the recently concluded Africa Women's Cup of Nations (AWCON) and were nominated for the 'Women's National Team of the Year' for their efforts.

Banyana defender, Janine van Wyk, was also among the list of nominees in line for the 'CAF Women's player of the Year' award.

Last month, the finalists for the 'Based in Africa' player of the year award was announced with four Mamelodi Sundowns players making the final cut, namely Khama Billiat, Hlompho Kekana, Denis Onyango and Keagan Dolly.

The winners will be announced on Thursday, January 5 at the CAF Awards Gala in Abuja, Nigeria.

The categories and nominations list:

Women’s Player of the Year:

1. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)

2. Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)

3. Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & Rossiyanka)

4. Janine van Wyk (South Africa & JVW)

5. Raissa Feudjio Tchuanyo (Cameroon & Aland United)

Most promising Talent: 

1. Elia Meschak (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

2. Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)

3. Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

4. Oghenekaro Etebo (Nigeria & CD Feirense)

5. Ramadan Sobhi (Egypt & Stoke City)

Youth Player of the Year:

1. Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)

2. Eric Ayiah (Ghana U-17)

3. Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & Atalanta)

4. Sandra Owusu-Ansah (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)

5. Sidiki Maiga (Mali U-20)

Coach of the Yearr: 

1. Florent Ibenge (DR Congo)

2. Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic (Uganda)

3. Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

4. Nacer Sandjak (MO Bejaia)

5. Florence Omagbemi (Nigeria women’s national team)

Referee of the Year:

1. Papa Gasama, Gambia

2. Grishea Gehead, Egypt

3. Malang Diedhiou, Senegal

Club of the Year:

1. Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

2. MO Bejaia (Algeria)

3. TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

4. Zamalek (Egypt)

5. Zesco United (Zambia)

National Team of the Year:

1. DR Congo

2. Guinea Bissau

3. Nigeria U-23

4. Senegal

5. Uganda

Women’s National Team of the Year:

1. Cameroon

2. Ghana

3. Nigeria

4. South Africa

5. Zimbabwe


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Friday, 18 August 2017
Wits v Cape Town City FC, Bidvest Stadium 20:00
Saturday, 19 August 2017
AmaZulu FC v Free State Stars, King Zwelithini Stadium 15:00
SuperSport United v Mamelodi Sundowns, Lucas Moripe Stadium 15:00
Polokwane City v Baroka FC, Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:00
Orlando Pirates v Chippa United, Orlando Stadium 18:00
Ajax Cape Town v Golden Arrows, Cape Town Stadium 20:15
Sunday, 20 August 2017
Bloemfontein Celtic v Kaizer Chiefs, Free State Stadium 15:00
Platinum Stars v Maritzburg United, Royal Bafokeng Stadium 15:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Do you think SAFA made the right choice in appointing Stuart Baxter as head coach of Bafana Bafana?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.