Who will face who in TKO?

2014-09-22 15:42
Telkom Knockout trophy (Backpagepix)

Cape Town - The Telkom Knockout draw will be held in Johannesburg on Monday, September 22 at 20:00. This is how things will unfold.  

The draw will be held at SuperSport studios in Randburg where all 16 club captains will be present.

The draw will be live on SuperSport 4 and PSL General Manager of Football, Derek Blanckensee will be the draw master.

The top eight Absa Premiership finishers from last season - Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs, Bidvest Wits, Orlando Pirates, SuperSport United, Bloemfontein Celtic, Mpumalanga Black Aces and Platinum Stars - will all be in one pot as the seeded teams.

The second pot, the unseeded clubs, will be made up of the bottom half of the table finishers - AmaZulu, Maritzburg United, University of Pretoria, Ajax Cape Town, Moroka Swallows, Free State Stars and Polokwane City. Promoted Chippa United will be the final team.

The seeded and unseeded teams will first be paired against each other, before a separate draw is held to determine home advantage confirms Ajax’s website.

Platinum Stars are the defending champions after beating Orlando Pirates 2-1 in last year's final that was played at Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit.

Read more on:    telkom knockout  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

25 October 2016
Chippa United v Bloemfontein Celtic, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
26 October 2016
Ajax Cape Town v Wits, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
28 October 2016
Maritzburg United v Golden Arrows, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Chippa United v Platinum Stars, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

When all is said and done in the 2015/16 Absa Premiership season, who will be crowned champions of South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.