PSL Team of the Week

2014-09-15 08:55
PSL logo (File)

Cape Town - Kaizer Chiefs made it six consecutive wins while Chippa United shocked Moroka Swallows. See who Sport24 chose in the PSL Team of the Week!


Reneilwe Letsholonyane scored a brace for Amakhosi as The Glamour Boys recorded their best start to the league since 1996 after a 2-1 win over University of Pretoria. Gordon Igesund could not have asked for a better start to his SuperSport United tenure after Bradley Grobler grabbed a double as Matsatsantsa cruised to a 3-1 victory over Platinum Stars.

Ajax Cape Town fought hard to keep their unbeaten record with a 2-1 win over Free State Stars while Chippa United added more pressure on Zeca Marques as Moroka Swallows were a handed a 2-0 defeat courtesy of the Chilli Boys.

The league is intensifying at the top with teams playing catch up to Stuart Baxter’s men as Amakhosi is the only team that hasn't dropped any points in the PSL.

See the latest PSL log HERE!

The PSL Team of the Week

1. Senzo Meyiwa (Orlando Pirates)

2. Siyanda Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

3. Chris Komane (Chippa United)

4. Siyabonga Sangweni (Orlando Pirates)

5. Tsepo Masilela (Kaizer Chiefs)

6. Reneilewe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs)

7. Mpho Mvelase (Chippa United)

8. Teko Modise (Mamelodi Sundowns)

9. Oupa Manyisa (Orlando Pirates)

10. Thabiso Nkoana (Ajax Cape Town)

11. Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United)

Notable mentions: Patrick Tignyemb, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Sameehg Doutie, Tashreeq Morris, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Kees Kwakman, Tefu Mashamaite.

Read more on:    psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

25 October 2016
Chippa United v Bloemfontein Celtic, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
26 October 2016
Ajax Cape Town v Wits, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
28 October 2016
Maritzburg United v Golden Arrows, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Chippa United v Platinum Stars, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

When all is said and done in the 2015/16 Absa Premiership season, who will be crowned champions of South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.