Nedbank Cup draw explained

2015-01-14 07:16
Nedbank Cup trophy (Supplied)

Cape Town - The 2014/15 Nedbank Cup last 32 draw will be conducted on Thursday night, 15 January 2015 in Johannesburg.

Read: Six SAFA clubs confirmed

The Nedbank Cup round of 32 is made of 16 Premiership clubs who earn automatic qualification, eight National First Division clubs and eight clubs from the South Africa Football Association structures.

The eight NFD clubs are: African Warriors, Black Leopards, Golden Arrows, Jomo Cosmos, FC Cape Town, Maluti FET College, Thanda Royal Zulu and Vasco da Gama.

Draw Procedure:

Details: Draw Master (Derek Blanckensee). Draw Assistants: Brand de Villiers (PSL CEO) and Thulani Sibeko (Nedbank Representative).

- All 32 clubs will be placed in one pot

- There will be no seeding

- Brand de Villiers will be responsible for drawing home clubs

- Thulani Sibeko will draw the away clubs

- In each sequence, the first ball to the drawn will be the home club and the second ball will be their opponent, the away club

- This process will be repeated until all fixtures are finalised

Read more on:    nedbank cup  |  psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

25 October 2016
Chippa United v Bloemfontein Celtic, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
26 October 2016
Ajax Cape Town v Wits, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
28 October 2016
Maritzburg United v Golden Arrows, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Chippa United v Platinum Stars, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

When all is said and done in the 2015/16 Absa Premiership season, who will be crowned champions of South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.